Sure. Both can be done.... send a mail to staff...but here is the official version
How do I close or delete my account?
If you would like to close your HubPages account, please sign in to the account that you would like to close, unpublish all of your Hubs, and send us an email request with the subject "close my account" and the username of the account you would like to close in the body of your message (for verification). Note that:
Account closure is permanent and unrecoverable
The username of a closed account will not be made available again
If you are in the process of applying for Google AdSense through HubPages, we recommend completing that process before closing your account. If you close your account, your application is unlikely to be approved and it may significantly complicate a future application.
If you close your account, your HubPages Ad Program balance is subject to forfeiture. Please review your balance amount and the payment timing guidelines, and do not close your account if you do not want to forfeit your current balance
If you would like to close a different account, something other than HubPages, you've come to the wrong place. We are not affiliated with any other Website or company and we can not help you.
check the faq section for further help ...