jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (7 posts)

Do page hits reflect good writing or are comments a far better indicator?

1. PaulStaley1 profile image78
    PaulStaley1posted 6 years ago

Do page hits reflect good writing or are comments a far better indicator?

I get a lot of hits but I can't tell if people are really reading because feedback is low---how can I encourage comments without being pushy? And when does the hubpage duration tool kick in?

2. Wesman Todd Shaw profile image98
    Wesman Todd Shawposted 6 years ago

Neither is reflective.  It depends on where your traffic is coming from.  If you are getting a lot of hubpages traffic but your comments are low - then you possibly don't comment your reader's hubs, would be my guess.

I've never heard of a "Hubpages duration tool."

3. Jesus was a hippy profile image61
    Jesus was a hippyposted 6 years ago

Hello. Im fairly new to this but I can only imagine that page hits would indicate a capturing title while comments indicate that people have actually read the hub.

I think if you're looking for indications that you wrote a good hub, it is better to check the votes to see what people thought.

4. PaulStaley1 profile image78
    PaulStaley1posted 6 years ago

the duration tool under the "hub metrics" hasn't seemed to kick on for any of my hubs---they all say "not yet measured"

5. duffsmom profile image61
    duffsmomposted 6 years ago

I've had personal messages complimenting my hubs, but they did not leave a comment or vote.  I don't think either is indicitve of good writing.

I've read some Hubs that, seriously, should not even be here--barely readable, poor grammar, poor spelling--and yet there they are--and some with good comments.

I'd like to see people save comments for Hubs that are genuinely a good pieces of writing.

6. KevinTimothy profile image81
    KevinTimothyposted 6 years ago