- Education and Science»
- History & Archaeology
The Fascinating History Of The Erie Canal Village, The Wars Fought Here, The Tours And Events Today
The main house
Erie Canal Waterway Passage
The Erie Canal is an imitation of a waterway that links the Hudson River to Lake Erie. This remarkable historic canal which construction was finished in the year 1825 and was acknowledged for being one of the most essential projects in the growth and breakthrough of New York and the United States. The Governor DeWitt Clinton had an eminent perception to create a man-made route connecting Albany to Buffalo which would enable raw goods from the west to be deporting economically to the populated eastern coastline region. His brainstorm met with severe criticism and his resistance poked fun at calling it Clinton’s Ditch or another name Clinton’s Folly meaning foolishness. But he never gave up and forged ahead. On the Fourth of July 1817, the beginning of Clinton’s Ditch emerged in Rome with consist of a long level portion to be excavated. The Erie Canal village was concluded from the Albany, New York to Buffalo, New York in the autumn months of 1825 and was an instant breakthrough, it accomplished to make New York the Empire State.
Even to this day the Erie Canal still performs the boating township in contributing protected access to upstate New York and further. The canal in the past has been expanded and aligned numerous times and the latest account extends 338 miles from Waterford located on the Hudson River to the stunning Lake Erie, a short distance from Buffalo, New York. The canal was initially constructed as a method for commercial ships, boats, cruisers and barges, but it was reconstructed into a sight becoming a boater’s dream. The Erie Canal is bordered with many of canal quaint municipalities providing all the services that any boater staying for a short time would require.
Today’s canal has 34 distinct locks and is at least 120 feet in width and has a depth of 12 feet. It consists of an upright clearance of a height of 21 feet halfway to Waterford and Three Rivers (Oswego canal intersection), and several feet between the Three Rivers and the breathtaking Lake Erie. The locks are prominently larger than what was there nearly 175 years ago. Back then the locks measured 328 feet in length and 45 feet in width which at the time was capacious enough for nearly all recreational yachts or motorboats including the larger commercial vessels to move across the waterways. The canal allows for barges as broad as 300 feet in length and far-reaching width of 43.5 feet.
To visit the Erie Canal Village today you would view a spacious intriguing outdoor living history museum. It has been renovated 19th century colonization on the location where on that historic day on July 4, 1817, the first shovel broke ground was turned for the construction of the primitive Erie Canal. The village is home to three outstanding fascinating museums. The Erie Canal museum which describes the legend of the Erie Canal from the undertaking for an improved passage to the West through the prominence of the Barge Canal System which came about in 1918, the Harden museum where impressive exhibits are displayed one of an array of masterpieces, horse drawn vehicles from the past that range from essential functional farm equipment to an upper class Laundaulet. To be able to show a clearer observation of life in the 19th century ways of travel, the preserved vehicles are positioned on pieces of three distinct kinds of roads, dirt, plank and a small round stone road known as cobblestone. This remarkable New York State museum of cheese dwelling in the past was home to the Merry and Weeks cheese establishment not far from Verona, New York. This museum investigates the history of the process of making cheese and its connection to the influence of the Erie Canal in New York State throughout the time period of the 19th century.
Besides these three outstanding museums, other commonplace buildings are explored during the 19th century which can also be observed and visited, the blacksmith shop, railroad station, ice house, wood creek school, Shull Victorian House to mention a few. To enhance your visit there is also a 15-minute introductory video which translate the series of past events of the structure of the Erie Canal.
The Day Peckinpaugh, up and running historic canal, an engine powered ship which is retained by the NYS museum, is being converted into a commuting display on water and classroom interaction and instruction. The vessel, the momentous motor ship came back to her homeport of Waterford on September 30th, 2009. A celebration of water cannons, tugs and band along with the vast numbers of community residents welcoming home the New York State launching museum.
One local haunted area is the Erie Canal Village. This notable location is a common village detected adjacent to the banks of the Erie Canal. There are countless documented hauntings on the site of Erie Canal Village. A few accounts are based from the area being where the Fort Bull gruesome massacre was by the French-Canadians. There has been sightings reported of the sounds of footsteps and full bodied ghostly images of people at the barn which was converted into a carriage museum. There also have been details of abnormal noises in the train station including the tavern. So certain questions come to mind as you visit and stroll the grounds what is haunted? Maybe the land is haunted, possibly the spirits from the bloody tragic happenings at Fort Bull still linger? But it seems like nearly every person who walks through the village has an eerie feeling of someone watching them.