ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Education and Science»
  • History & Archaeology»
  • History of the Americas»
  • American History

American War of Independence

Updated on February 27, 2018

The American Revolutionary War

The American Revolutionary War (1775-1783) is a revolution that took place in the thirteen British colonies in North America that were part of the British Empire during the 18th century and were settled by immigrants on the eastern coast of North America who saw their right to secede from the Kingdom Great Britain and running their own affairs.

The war began on April 19, 1775, when the British collided with the American revolutionaries in the cities of Lexington and Concord, Mass., And lasted for eight years and ended on September 3, 1783, when signing the Paris Treaty between Britain and the United States, in which Britain recognized the independence of the United States.

War of Independence

One of the causes of the war was that British influence in North America was in the forefront of the American Revolution a few years before the American Revolution. Britain won the war with the French and the Indians, and the treaty that ended the war guaranteed Britain the majority of the land that the Frenchmen of North America had from the Appalachian Mountains in the east to the Mississippi River, including a large swath of Canada. Most of the American colonists were proud to belong to the British Empire, at a time when it was considered the most powerful empire in the world.

The colonies had the right to elect their representatives to a legislative assembly that would enact laws and impose taxes, but the governor of the colony had the right to veto any such laws. Britain hoped the American colonies would serve their economic interests and the colonies generally accepted this. For example, it has refrained from making materials and goods competing for its British counterparts.

British policy changed. Britain began to change its policy after the French and Indian war, by tightening its grip on its vast colonies in America, and voted its parliament on the presence of a military stationed in North America. A law was passed obliging the colonies to secure the barracks and equipment for the army. A decision was also made to allocate land west of the Appalachian Mountains to house the Indians, to prevent whites from establishing settlements in those lands and to appoint guards to remove the settlers. The settlers were angered by the decision, saying that Britain had no right to prevent them from settling, and many of them were eager to make profits in buying land in the West.

The British Parliament then passed the Townshend Law, relative to the then Chancellor of the Exchequer, imposing one on lead, dyes, paper and tea, and the other imposing a tax office in Boston. The two decisions have triggered renewed protests that have been canceled, with the exception of taxes on tea. Demonstrations against the tax came out again, especially in Boston, where British soldiers confronted the protesters and killed five people. The Americans called this attack the Boston Massacre.

The British East India Company funded tea to the colonies, was damaged by the boycott and sought help from parliament. He decided to reduce the fees. The company was able to lower the price of tea to a level below the price of the tea smuggled, but the settlers They continued in the province, merchants refused to sell it, and a number of Bostoners disguised as Indian fashion attacked the tea-laden ships in the harbor and threw their cargo into the water. This process was known as the Boston Tarty.

Stages of Independence

  • Colonists refused to pay taxes on the grounds that they were not represented in the British parliament, a dispute of the Constitution.
    The Americans destroyed the cargo of a tea steamer which made the situation develop into an economic boycott by refusing to consume English goods.
    This led to the decline of the English government in the promotion of unfair taxes, which fell by half.

The outbreak of war

The War of Independence broke out in 1775 and the Volunteer Army led George Washington with the support of the French army led by General Lafayette and declared its independence on 4 July 1776 by representatives of the United States of America during the Third Philadelphia Conference.

Under the Treaty of Paris in 1783, the independence of the United States of America was officially proclaimed by England.

The American Revolutionary war 1

The American Revolutionary war 2

Major armed conflicts involving US forces

Time Listing
Civil war
American Revolutionary War · Russian Civil War · World War II · World War I · Kosovo War · Afghanistan War · Somali Civil War · Boxer Revolution · Banana Wars · Mexican-American War · Second Opium War · Korean War · Vietnam War · US Mission to Joseon · Spanish-American War · Philippine-American War · Libyan Civil War · Iraq War · Military Operations against the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria 2014


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.