Oklahoma Tenant Landlord Laws Overview
Good tenant-landlord laws promote a healthy relationship between both the parties. They create a win-win situation for both the parties, thereby promoting peace and harmony in the neighborhood. Oklahoma tenant landlord laws appear to achieve this purpose.
Whether you are a tenant or a landlord, you should be able to deal with many legal questions and problems without a lawyer, once you understand the basics of the law. It is not difficult to grasp the basics of Oklahoma landlord tenant statutes.
State of Oklahoma
According to the Oklahoma tenant-landlord laws, the landlord is the owner of the property, who leases it to another person (the tenant). He/she allows the tenant to occupy and use the property in exchange for a monetary (usually monthly) payment. This payment is called rent.
A tenant is a person who has the right to occupy and use the rental property leased from the landlord. He/she is responsible for regular payment of rent. The tenant is also responsible for any damage caused to the rental property either by him/her or by anyone related to him/her.
Do you own property in Oklahoma?
The landlord and the tenant usually sign a rental agreement. The rights and responsibilities of the tenant are clearly specified in the agreement. The agreement permits the tenant to occupy and use the property for a specific period of time. The rental agreement is usually in writing. Any stipulation in the rental agreement which conflicts with the law is not enforceable.
Oklahoma Landlord Tenant Law Security Deposit
The law permits the landlord to collect a security deposit from the tenant, as a monetary protection against possible damages to the rental property. The amount has to be deposited in a federally insured account in the state of Oklahoma. The tenant may recover the deposit by sending a request letter to the landlord within six months after the lease has ended. On receiving the written request, the landlord should return the deposit within 30 days. Any deductions require written explanation.
As per the Oklahoma tenant-landlord laws, the tenant must keep the property clean and safe. The owner can enter the tenant's home for purposes like inspection. However he/she has to give one day's notice to the tenant. He need not give any notice in case of emergencies.
Oklahoma Landlord Tenant Laws Eviction
If the tenant fails to evict the property after the expiration of the rental contract, the landowner may sue for his/her eviction. The law also permits the landowner to sue for any losses incurred due to the breach of contract. The landlord may also evict the tenant before the expiration date if the tenant fails to pay the rent.
If the tenant fails to pay the rent within five days of receiving the written notice, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement. The rental agreement may also be terminated by either of the parties by giving 30 days written notice.
Even though understanding the basics of the landlord-tenant laws in Oklahoma helps you to deal with legal questions and problems without the help of a lawyer, if at any time you feel that situation is going out of your control, seek assistance of a lawyer.