ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Region XI or Southern Mindanao

Updated on November 6, 2009

Region XI or Southern Mindanao

Region XI or Southern Mindanao is composed of seven provinces. These are Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat and CompostelaValley.

Geographical Features

The land features of the region include vast plains, rolling hills and rugged mountains. The lowland areas are the Davao Piedmont, Compostela Basin and the areas along the shores facing the Davao Gulf.

The outstanding mountains of the region are Mt. Apo and Diwata Mountain Range. Mount Apo is the highest peak in the Philippines. It separates the provinces of North Cotabato, Davao del Norte and Davao del Sur. The Diwata Mountain Range lines the northern boundary of Surigao del Sur. Some of the major rivers in the region help in the farming industry. These are the Agusan, Hinatuan, Tubay, Sicogon and Tago rivers.


The climate in the region is generally mild. There is no marked rainy or dry season. Rainfall is evenly distributed throughout the year. The region is not affected by storms. It is outside the typhoon belt like the other Mindanao provinces.

Products and Industries

Because of its mild climate and fertile soil, the region is suitable for agriculture. Almost all known crops can be grown there. Among them are rice, coconut, abaca, sugarcane, ramie, pineapple, coffee, cacao, citrus and banana. Davao is known for its prized fruit called durian which can be made into candies and preserves. Polomolok, South Cotabato is the site of the big pineapple plantation owned by Dole Philippines.

Region XI has rich natural resources. It has thick forests that are classified as timberland. Different varieties of wood such as lauan, narra, mayapis and apitong obtained from these forests.

The region is also rich in mineral and aquatic resources. Large amount of gold, copper, silver, chromite, lead, zinc, iron and nickel are mined. Fish and other marine products abound in its waters.

The people of Region XI are mostly the migrants from Luzon and Mindanao. The Muslims constitute a small group. Cebuano is widely spoken in the region. Other dialects are Tagalog, llocano and llonggo.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • eljo profile image

      Joel Sumaban Pardillo 16 months ago from Philippines

      its good but I have few comments please;

      Region XI (as of this writing) is composed of Davao del sur, Davao del Norte, Compostela valley and Davao Oriental. there are only occidental) 4 provinces not seven provinces. South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat provinces are under Region XII. to date, Region XI has 5 provinces, added to it was Davao Occidental formerly part from Davao del Sur.

      Geographical Features

      "Some of the major rivers in the region help in the farming industry. These are the Agusan, Hinatuan, Tubay, Sicogon and Tago rivers."

      There are only three major rivers in Region XI and 42 principal rivers.

      Major rivers are 1. Davao river basin in Davao City and Davao del Sur; 2. Tagum - Libuganon river basin in Compostela valley, Davao del Norte and part of Davao City and 3. Agusan river basin whose waters emanates from Compostela valley province down to agusan marsh and finally to Butuan City bay.

      I hope it will help. thank you.

    • profile image

      1234567890 2 years ago

      Sup. 'Page so cool men.