ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Mountbatten Plan

Updated on October 18, 2015

Mountbatten Plan

The next step taken by the British government was to send Lord Mountbatten to India as Governor-General in place of Lord Wavell in order to arrange how, and when, power was finally to be transferred into the hands of the Indian people. Finding that Punjab and Bengal had very narrow Muslim majorities, he was able to make the Congress and the Muslim League agree to the breaking up of these two States into Hindu and Muslim majority blocks, each consisting of districts geographically contiguous to each other, and decided to hand over power to the Muslim League, so far as the Muslim majority provinces and the Muslim majority districts so constituted were concerned, and in the rest of the country to the Congress. Assam, East Punjab and West Bengal were, thus, detached from the totality of the area which the Muslim League was demanding as the homeland of the Muslims in India. The suggestion made by Lord Mountbatten was duly ratified by the vote of the members of the Legislative Assemblies of Punjab and Bengal meeting in two parts, and the decision was duly embodied in what came to be known as the Mountbatten Plan. The Mountbatten Plan further envisaged a referendum in the North Western Provinces and in the Muslim majority district of Sylhet. As was expected, the Muslim majority areas of Punjab and Bengal voted for secession from India, and the referendum in the North Western Frontier and Sylhet was also in favour of Pakistan. A separate Constituent Assembly for Pakistan was, therefore, set up on 26 July 1947. The next logical step, initiated by the dynamic leadership of Lord Mountbatten, was taken quickly, and the Indian Independence Act, 1947 duly introduced in the British Parliament on 4 July received the Royal Assent on 18 July 1947. India was now the mistress of her own destiny. Constitutional changes in India had been carried out in the past by the legislative will of the British Parliament but, under the Indian Independence Act, 1947, India and Pakistan were to emerge as two independent Dominions, and the Constituent Assembly of each Dominion was to have unlimited power to frame and adopt any constitution and to repeal any Act of the British Parliament, including the Indian Independence Act, if it so desired.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Rohan Fernando 

      6 years ago

      The Mountbatten Plan was actually formulated by his constitutional adviser V P Menon. More information on Menon can be found in the article V P Menon- Forgotten Architect of Modern India which is available on


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)