ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"How Full is Your Bucket? For Kids" -Mom's Book Review

Updated on October 9, 2013

"Go Fill Some Buckets, Girls!"

After the first day of school, my girls came home talking about buckets. They enthusiastically explained about fillers and dippers and how their buckets were "overflowing". One paused, looked at me and said "I love you Mommy...is your bucket full now?"

Three months later and we are still talking about how to fill someone's bucket. We talk about doing and saying things that will make buckets full to the brim.

Everyday as the girls get out of the car to go to school I say "Go fill some buckets, girls!"

Which book transformed our family lingo and opened discussions about kindness, respect, and bullying? "How Full Is Your Bucket? For Kids" by Tom Rath and Mary Reckmeyer.

Ok, so the book is written "for kids"- it says so on the cover. The main character is a little boy going about his day experiencing regular kid stuff through the "bucket filling" lens. Even though this is a picture book, I believe that the 'tweener and parental units have benefited immensely from this simple analogy. We didn't even need to purchase the award winning "adult" version.

photo: innerpiecesgallery.com

Each of us has an invisible bucket. It is constantly emptied or filled, depending on what others say or do to us. When our bucket is full, we feel great. When it's empty, we feel awful.

Each of us also has an invisible dipper. When we use that dipper to fill other people's buckets -- by saying or doing things to increase their positive emotions -- we also fill our own bucket. But when we use that dipper to dip from others' buckets -- by saying or doing things that decrease their positive emotion

— http://strengths.gallup.com/114082/Theory-Dipper-Bucket.aspx

How Full is Your Bucket? For Kids

Filling Buckets at Home

Teachers at school are following a whole curriculum about filling buckets. They are addressing the interactions between classmates at school, starting early discussions about kindness, caring, and yes, even bullying. The teachers have worksheets and bulletin boards so the kids can fill in the blanks with kind "bucket filling" words to say to classmates. When writing book reports, kids describe characters as "bucket fillers" or "bucket dippers".

The buckets were so popular at school, that my family and I brainstormed ways to fill buckets at home. We started by talking about filling buckets at different times of the day. Here are some examples.

Morning:

Getting up on time, doing the daily routine without reminders. (We used to have a chart with stars for this, but the bucket analogy gave the old chart deeper meaning.)

After school:

Taking turns talking about the day without interrupting.

Sharing snack.

Doing homework respectfully, carefully, and diligently.

Bedtime:

Take care of your body- fill your own bucket. (Bath, Teeth, Early to Sleep)

Read a book- also filling your own bucket.

Quiet time with family- fills all buckets.

letstalkslp.blogspot.com
letstalkslp.blogspot.com

Bucket Fillers

So many ways to fill buckets:

words, actions, tone of voice, facial expressions, body language, gift giving, saying thanks, being positive, just being present...

The list goes on and on, and changes depending on your situation. Being a bucket filler is a deliberate, conscious act. It takes thoughtfulness and mindful sensitivity towards others to be a great bucket filler. We can teach our kids these skills while we continue to apply them ourselves as parents and role models.

Photo: letstalkslp.blogspot.com

Filling buckets and tummies.

cookiesinthecupboard.blogspot.com
cookiesinthecupboard.blogspot.com

The Bucket Song

Preventing "long term bucket damage" with discussions about bucket dippers.

mommyjuiced.com
mommyjuiced.com

Empty Bucket

monicaacoleman.com
monicaacoleman.com

Sometimes Mommy or Daddy can come home from work with buckets close to empty.

Kids can learn that they can help fill buckets, even if they belong to an adult, friend or sibling who is older.

photo: monicaacoleman.com

letstalkslp.blogspot.com
letstalkslp.blogspot.com

Bucket Dippers

Sometimes kids just don't know that their tone of voice can hurt someone, or dip from a bucket. Kids don't know that their facial expressions can hurt someone. Kids can learn how and when to correct someone without hurting feelings.

Using the bucket analogy makes these discussions easier. Practicing these skills at home prepares them for school and social activities.

photo: letstalkslp.blogspot.com

Buckets at Soccer Games

www.dreamstime.com
www.dreamstime.com

I am a volunteer referee for little girls' soccer games. Those sweet little angels with the bouncing pigtails, ribbons, and pink uniforms can also make rude comments, throw grass and push each other.

So how does a bucket get filled at a soccer game? What things can we say to fill our teammates buckets before a game, during a game, and after a game?

What things do we say and do to dip from the opposing teams' buckets at soccer games....baseball, swimming, dance, karate? What could we do or say to fill buckets instead?

photo: www.dreamstime.com

Other Bucket Books

The book "Have You Filled a Bucket Today? A Guide to Daily Happiness" is written more as an informational text instead of a narrative. It is an EXCELLENT book as a follow-up activity. Shucks, it could even come first. The two books compliment each other wonderfully.

Adults have buckets too.

Buckets anyone?

www.bucketfillers101.com
www.bucketfillers101.com

Have you heard of the "bucket books"?

See results

Does your family have any buckets?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      shatabdi85 

      4 years ago

      Resourceful lens.

    • michaelangelo1 profile image

      michaelangelo1 

      4 years ago

      very nice lens and so informative and simple;-)

    • Heidi Vincent profile image

      Heidi Vincent 

      4 years ago from GRENADA

      Yes. Wash buckets, mop buckets, water buckets, waste buckets....

    • profile image

      sam-metz 

      4 years ago

      Yes, i lived all of my childhood with buckets. The worst was the slop bucket. This was where my Mom put the water used to wash the dishes after breakfast, dinner, and supper. It was always full of the most nauseating. foul smelling liquid you can imagine. It was my job to take the bucket to the hog trough and carefully to not spill any of this delicious soup. Serve it for the pigs to eat. They always slurped it like it was honey and peaches. Then we had milk buckets. We poured the milk from the milking machine into buckets to take it to the milk house. These were big buckets. For a small boy they were just to heavy to lift and carry sixty feet to where the milk was stored. And this was liquid gold. If any was spelt due to my fooling around with the cat between my legs, I would get it. It being a slap with my Father's belt across the legs. There were better days. We had berry baskets. Strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and even goose berries gave wonderful memories. The rule was one for the basket and one to go into your mouth. That's the way I came down with appendicitis one hot 4th of July. As is evident, we lived in the country. We had a country doctor to fix our ills. He sent me to the nearest hospital that was an hour away. My little teat on my intestine had almost ruptured by the time they got me onto the operating table. But I survived to fill many more buckets.

    • Michelllle profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelllle 

      4 years ago

      @Pat Goltz: Doesn't it seem like sometimes things happen- randomly- to make bucket filling really challenging? But sometimes it goes the other way too... I find when my kids are working as a team thinking about "buckets", life is just easier. Hey, thanks for reading.

    • Pat Goltz profile image

      Pat Goltz 

      4 years ago

      Definitely. And we have a lot of empty ones, much to my regret. But I can only fill buckets as best I can. I can't compel others to do so.

    • Michelllle profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelllle 

      4 years ago

      @favored: I heard that the author Tom Rath, Ph. D. also lectures. I'll be watching for his next book tour. ; )

    • Michelllle profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelllle 

      4 years ago

      @kristalulabelle: You know, when my kids kept talking about this book day in and day out...I thought it must be something good. Thanks for reading.

    • kristalulabelle profile image

      Kristen 

      4 years ago from Wisconsin

      I have never heard of this book but it sounds like a wonderful read and life lesson for both children and adults! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • favored profile image

      Fay Favored 

      4 years ago from USA

      Wonderful concept that we all need to participate in daily. Thank you for bringing this book to our attention. Giving it a tweet to share with others.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)