ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Kumon Math Review

Updated on January 1, 2017

A Mom's Kumon Math Review

I'm a mother, and my children are enrolled in the Kumon Math Program. This is my Kumon Review about whether Kumon is effective as a means of helping your children improve their maths skills.

Once you've read my review of the Kumon system please let me know via the comments box at the bottom of the page whether you have any other great tips for helping to improve children's math ability or whether there is any other information that you would like to find in this review.

Kumon Math Workbooks For Use At Home

What is Kumon Math?

An Explanation of Kumon Math

What is Kumon?

Kumon Math is a program for pre-school and school aged children. Unlike standard math tutoring, with Kumon you learn by working through a series of workbooks at your own pace, learning new concepts as you move through the levels. Whilst students work independently at home rather than one on one with a math tutor, they do visit a Kumon centre once or twice a week to meet with their Kumon supervisor, hand in completed work, and for the supervisor to set new work and monitor their progress.

Don't have time to read my review? Have a look at these Kumon Workbooks To Buy Online

Scroll down for: How Kumon Works

Kumon Books on Amazon

Click the images for more information, other titles and the option to buy on Amazon

Kumon Math : A Description

How The Kumon program works

Kumon Math is a math program designed to help students from kindergarten to teens (and beyond!) improve their math skills. Rather than being a tutoring program, Kumon math is designed to be a self taught program, where the student works through a series of worksheets, each one getting progressively harder. New topics are introduced via a worked example, which students work through and then answer questions on.

Each week your child will attend a Kumon math center where their Kumon instructor will check the work that they have done and issue new work for the following week.

The workbooks are designed so that they get more difficult very, very slowly. This means that new concepts are gradually introduced without the student really knowing that they are moving up a level (although they do know when they move up as they get a certificate, something I find is very motivating for my own children)

One of the features of Kumon math is that the student cannot move up to the next set of worksheets until they have completely mastered the level that they are on. This means that not only can they complete the worksheets accurately, but they have to complete them in a certain "standard completion time" so that the instructor knows that they really, really understand what they are learning.

On joining Kumon each student is given a test and the results of this test show the teacher where the student should start from in the Kumon program. The supervisor then selects a level where the student will be able to work comfortably in order to give them confidence in the system.

One of the unique things about Kumon is that students don't study according to their age or grade level, but at the level of their own maths ability. They progress at their own pace moving through the levels as they fully master them. This means a 7 year old and a 14 year old can be completing the same work, if this is right for them.

Not interested in the full Kumon program? Check out my page on Kumon worksheets to use at home

Scroll Down For : The advantages of the Kumon Program

Kumon Math Poll

Are you Interested in:

See results
Child Doing Kumon Math
Child Doing Kumon Math

The Advantages Of The Kumon Math Program

What makes Kumon Math great

The way I see it there are several advantages to the Kumon Program:

  • Every child works at their own pace. This means that your child never gets left behind or held back by their peers. They get as little or as much time as they need to master each topic.
  • Kumon works by repetition. Unlike much schooling these days Kumon uses an old fashioned method of simply going over and over reinforcing things until your child really understands them
  • Every day's work is in a sense like a test. This is because not only is the work marked for accuracy each day, it is also timed. Each booklet had a standard completion time that the child needs to complete the work in to move on to the next stage. This helps to show whether your child is really proficient in a subject or still getting to grips with it.
  • The workbooks are fairly short, but they are done on a daily basis. This helps your child to focus, without getting too bored. On average Kumon should take about 10-20 minutes a day, although some topics take my kids more, some less time than this..
  • Kumon Really Works! All of the children (including my own) that study Kumon at my daughters' school have improved their grades enormously. Maths becomes their favorite subject because they no longer fear it.
  • As it is a self taught program the students learn independent study and to be self disciplined.
  • It is much cheaper than hiring a daily math tutor, but work is completed daily.
  • The Kumon math program has been developed over many years to be as effective as possible. It is constantly revamped and rewritten to make sure that it is as effective as possible.

Below: The Disadvantages of the Kumon program.

Kumon Math Poll

Are your children already enrolled in the Kumon Math Program?

See results
Cost Of Kumon
Cost Of Kumon

Disadvantages Of The Kumon Math Program.

Things I dislike about Kumon Math

I think the following are the major disadvantages of the Kumon Math Program:

  • It is repetitive. Whilst this means that the students REALLY learn their math, it also means that they can sometimes get sick of doing the same booklet over and over again. I find that at this point I have to offer rewards for completing the work. My children often weep and wail about completing the work, especially as a new subject is introduced.
  • It can be expensive. Although Kumon costs less than getting a math tutor, it is still quite costly. There are cheaper options such as the Kumon Workbooks Available Online(see below)
  • You do not get an actual one on one tutor every day. Although the workbooks are designed to be self explanatory, they are not always. Every now and then I do need to sit down and go over something with my daughters that they just cannot understand.
  • Also, a tutor can spot the areas that your child needs a little more help and expand around the subject. With Kumon, you get what you get, and you have to go through the program in the correct order, there is no flexibility.
  • You are required to mark the work each day. The Kumon centre provides you with an answer book, but the parent or guardian needs to check the answers in this book. This isn't really too time consuming, but sometimes when I am busy or I forget this aspect of the program it is frustrating. I often forget to do it until the end of the week, when it can be an hour+ per child to mark it all. Frankly, I would rather pay a bit more and not mark the work, but this isn't possible.
  • Centres really vary in how good they are because they are franchises. I have been to some fantastic centres, and one terrible one, as we have moved house several times. If you don't like your centre I really recommend trying another one instead of sticking with one you don't like. There are lots where I live, so it's easy to move.

Below: Kumon alternatives

Click images for further information

See below to buy this title
See below to buy this title

What Are The Alternatives To The Kumon Math Program?

Kumon Math too expensive? Try these cheaper alternatives

Of course, for parents that can afford it a math tutor is one alternative to the Kumon program. However, to complete the same volume of work you would probably require a tutor 2-3 times a week for an hour, which for many parents would be simply too expensive.

At home alternatives to Kumon include printing off worksheets from online sources. The problem that I have found with this is that a Kumon workbook includes 10 double sided sheets of problems for a student to do each day. These are designed to get more difficult exactly at the right time so that the student is never over or under challenged and are designed to include just the right amount of repetition. I found finding sufficient worksheets that were at exactly the right level very difficult. It also became quite costly to print off such a volume of worksheets.

One alternative that I did find was workbooks published by Kumon themselves available through Amazon (see links below). Whilst they are not as comprehensive as the Kumon program itself they do incorporate most of the best features about Kumon. For parents that are prepared to set work from these for their children each day they could be a very cost effective alternative as they do offer the chance to use exactly the same methods as those employed in the Kumon math program, but without visiting a centre.

Kumon Books To Try At Home: Grade 1 & 2

These Kumon workbooks provide a cost effective alternative to the full Kumon program, but are also a great way for you to gauge whether Kumon style problems will suit your child.

Grade 2 Subtraction (Kumon Math Workbooks)
Grade 2 Subtraction (Kumon Math Workbooks)

If your child has mastered grade one addition and subtraction and grade 2 addition, this is the next step.

 

Kumon Math Costs Poll

Where I live the enrolling in Kumon costs almost $120 per child per subject per month. Do you think this is:

See results

Kumon Grade 3 & 4

For students in other years clicking on any of the links below will take you to an Amazon page where you can view other books for students in older years

Grade 4 Decimals & Fractions (Kumon Math Workbooks)
Grade 4 Decimals & Fractions (Kumon Math Workbooks)

This is one of a series of books on decimals and fractions. Remember to start your child on a level that they will comfortably cope with in order to build confidence, and then gradually move them up.

 

4 Year Old Kumon Student - Students study at their own pace...

Kumon Alternatives

Did you know there was an at home alternative to enrolling in Kumon?

See results

Top Tip

Whether you enrol your child in the full Kumon program or decide to use the Kumon workbooks for use at home it's a good idea to supplement your child's math learning with some problem solving exercises. By this I mean questions where your child not only has to figure out the math, but also has to figure out exactly what the question is asking them to do.

With my own children I have really had to focus on this - I noticed as they progress through school and get to around grade five the amount of problem solving questions really increases. My children were fantastic at performing the mathematical element of these questions, but not so good at working out exactly what they were asking them to do in the first place. If you can seek out some verbal reasoning problems that make you work out exactly what they are asking you to calculate as well as those that simply need a calculation.

Kumon Advert

Grade 1 Addition (Kumon Math Workbooks)
Grade 1 Addition (Kumon Math Workbooks)

Kumon workbooks are like a mini version of the Kumon program

 

© 2010 mom-247

What Did You Think Of My Kumon Math Review?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Your child is tested when they first enter the program. They do not have to start at the first level, they start at an easy starting point for them. If for instance they are grade five level, they might start at the end of grade four work. So there is no need to do all the earlier stages, the test at the beginning will establish where they should start.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Kumon math is good for those little kids entering schools in kinder and Grade 1 and 2 but for those in higher grades like 5 or 6 entering kumon program, It will be a bore and exercise in futility for them doing grade 1 & 2 additions etc. and it would take your child 9 to 12 months before getting into their current grade 5 or 6 levels. This looks ridiculous and completely unjustified. This set up need to change, I suggest a student to start at least just 1 0r 2 level below their current level.

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi Rick, I'm amazed they don't allow her to use long division, they do at my daughter's centre. Have you thought about switching centres, as that just seems unreasonable.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      My daughter has been doing Kumon math for almost two years. I have mixed reviews. She certainly improved her basic addition, subtraction skills. However, if there is downside the repetition is taken to the nth degree. It has become a burden for her and I am concerned about burnout. Also, she has come to a roadblock with division. It's not making sense to her and Kumon has convinced her she can not use long division or any other method, other than pure memorization to get the answer. Not all people learn like this. What's wrong with showing your work to get to the answer? I think it's actually hurting her at this point. She is frustrated. Math doesn't have to be a grind. I know some have had great results from this method. We as parents need to recognize that not all children learn the same way. Be flexible and creative. This method while effective for some is a slow death for others.

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi Silvia, aim for just ten to twenty minutes per day, no more. It is better to do a small amount regularly than to make your child bored and unwilling to do the work. I would start with the addition, completing that book, then the subtraction then multiplication. This is the order that they do the work in the Kumon program.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      *Hello, I´ve just bought some kumon workbooks for my 6 and 9 year old kids, but I don´t know how much time should I give them for each activity.

      I have for Grade 1, substraction, addition and simple multiplication.

      and for Grade 3, multiplication.

      Thank you

      Silvia

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Yes, it is perfect for any children from age 4 upwards.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Kumon works. There will be few repetitions if a student independently successfully completes the work in less than the allotted time. If due to one or more of many challenges ( poor eye-hand coordination; poor concentration; distracted; being unsure of task; being unsure of concepts; do still need time to work things out) a child takes longer, more repetitions will be done. Currently I am involved with assisting a child for whom Kumon is one of the few predictable and stable things in his daily experience. Parents who hate each other, see the child on consecutive days using it as opportunity to poisoning his mind against the other. Kumon is an avenue of escape: Things can be trusted, it stays the same, it provides routine, it provides security, it builds confidence. If his word crumbles, he has at least learned true facts well and will be able to carry it with him for life. He is 5 and works 2 years above his age group. Not that his parents have noticed. Too busy to destroy him by means of destroying each other.

    • profile image

      marcoliver 4 years ago

      @mom-247: Hi mom247, Regarding Jim's comment â I do really appreciate anybody who shares her/his insights on math programs out there. This will help improve services, inspire others to design better solutions and start a conversation with users in need in general. As you might already noticed, I was very dissatisfied with existing online math programs out there, as well as physical supplemental programs in my city Vancouver. They are super expensive and overfilled with kids and usually can't live up to their promises. So, it sounds a little bit like advertising when I say this â but we really wanted to start the conversation with REAL users. Jim and Mom247, if you are interested in helping us out shaping and designing the next mobile math learning program for children â please get in touch. I love to hear from you.

      Marc-Oliver . Founder . Math Sparrow

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 4 years ago

      @anonymous: HI Jim,

      If you look at all my other pages here on Squidoo, you'll find I write about lots of subjects and I can assure you that other than sending my kids to the program (at times when I can afford it) I am not affiliated with them in any way. I agree that they are not keen to move your kids up to the next level, they don't like you to skip any of the program, and actually I agree with them on that. My family has the opposite problem, they sometimes speed my younger daughter up too quickly in my opinion, before she has fully mastered the topic, and I have to ask them to move her down a level. I have tried to include positives and negatives in the review (and there are certainly both) so I'm sorry that you feel it's a biased review. Truthfully, this just reflects my feelings about the program.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I agree. I went to kumon for 3yrs now, and im still getting bad grades. It dosent help me at all

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      this is not a review, it's an obvious advertisment by someone involved in the program (seriously who reviews like this?)

      This program is a waste of your money. They make your child start well below where they should be, and force them to repeat the same exercises long after your child gets it. That to me is a waste of time and money. Any attempts to speed up to the next level, when your child obviously understands their current work, is met with extreme resistance by the kumon group.

    • Stephanie36 profile image

      Stephanie 4 years ago from Canada

      This was really interesting. I've seen signs for this program around town, but wasn't sure what it was. I don't have kids, but I"m a supply teacher and tutor as well, so was very curious. Fantastic lens!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      We have 2 boys which love school and are lucky enough to have things come easy. Kumon has kept them challenged when school does not. I agree there is not as much time spent on theory as a normal math class so we have to explain a few things on the side and they see the topics get repeated in school anyway. After two years in Kumon we have a happy fifth grader doing algebra and third grader working their way through fraction addition/subtraction. And we never have to pull out a calculator during shopping when they are along. Not much I can complain about. :-)

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      My 3 kids went through Kumon, the first one enter at grade 2, the second enter at 1st grade and the last one enter at pre-school. They all do well through elementary school, but at grade 7 ( algebra 1) the first one get stuck because she did not finish J level in Kumon math. The second get through 8th and getting trouble at 9th grade because she start trig/algebra 2 and did not finish K level in Kumon math. The last one finish J level at 6th grade, so he got A+ in algebra at 7th grade. Therefore, the Kumon program really help the kids in the elementary school, no doubt, my kids always got 600 in math in STAR test. They must finish at least J to K in 6th grade to be able to do well in middle school and highschool. I even got hand on copy of the Kumon packets, but no use, Kids wont do it without schedule requirement. If you want to get your kids advance in school, start them Kumon as early as possible. after elementary school, it's not work any more. Also Kumon reading is very useful, helping the kids with critical thinking. that's an A+ for the SAT score. My kids got 2300+ easily with the math and reading from Kumon. Your child education is worth much more than the cost of Kumon. My friend pay $60/hour for private tutor and can not catch up with my kids.

    • normal lm profile image

      normal lm 4 years ago

      I Never heard about Kumon Math before. This will help my Kids to learn in a creative way. This lens had helped a lot. Very informative.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Also attended a recruitment seminar for new franchisees and got a feeling that if you have large background in education and experience in teaching ; they were not interested in you. I was also wondering who do they really want as instructors?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Do you want to be advanced? Kumon can get you there. Don't get me wrong. You need to put in effort. It's not a piece of cake, but you'd have the opportunity to be advanced.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Ha..ha..is right! But you'd rather be bored than behind, right? Can you not help out with the teaching? Can you do something else when you're bored? Can you ask to skip a grade?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Very comprehensive review. Thank you! The only thing I disagree with you is that the Kumon workbooks that we can buy is a good alternative. I've purchased some. They are very attractive and contain good material, but not enough. Also, as parents, we often give work that is too hard to our children. And the workbooks are only a sample of what the normal Kumon curriculum contains. Moreover, without a systematic way of assigning work and an infrastructure that holds my children accountable, it's very difficult for me to make them work consistently and for a long term.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      The review for Kumon Math is very good! For me whatever my son will acquire from his Kumon skills in Math is already a bonus. There are many ways to learn math be it Kumon style or not. But what I really appreciate about Kumon is the character development it teaches. It enhances values like humility (like when one goes to lower level even if he knows it already), patience (it might be repetitious but hey excellence is developed by what we repeatedly do), self-discipline (to be aware of one's responsibility to do first important things), self-confidence (when one is able to solve problem by himself), respect (that everyone has its own unique level of intelligence) and perseverance (the ability to learn from mistakes and move on). Being smart is not just enough to face the world. But having the right attitude and character will.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: They should be taught instead of following the examples books.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Iâm a kumon student for almost 4 years and everyone I know noticed how I change from being a shy kid who donât participate in classes to a very active student. I gained self confidence. I enrolled in Kumon because I canât understand anything about math making me shy at school. Kumon really helped me to do everything mentally making me fast in solving problems at school. While studying in kumon, i got almost 4 medals for being an advanced student. So at school, I already know some of the formulas and everyone is asking me, how did I know all of these. Simple, KUMON.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I enrolled my daughters in July and it is just not worth it. The assessment test is skewed and it is all about maximizing the monthly revenue by making the kids repeat packets over and over again. Kids are not computers and the time aspect is extreme so it just becomes a memorization exercise. Also, it is the 21st century and they are still doing this program with paper and pencil. It has been around for 50 years and has not changed - that should have been my first red flag. Also, very frequently they make mistakes in the grading so the kids get back worksheets marked wrong that are not and then the kids are placed in a position to challenge the adult. Parents are not allowed into the center so my 9 year old daughters brought out the worksheet to me in sheer frustration one night showing me how the grading was wrong and their answers were indeed correct.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      i have been in kumon for almost 8 and 1/2 years i am starting to not be interested in it cause my kumon instructor has been pushing us to keep repeating the level i am on i have been on this same level for a year now

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @giraffesandstuff: Hello, My son is 4 too and I am planning to enroll him in Kumon. Can you pl share ur experience so far. Thank you.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Greetings! Thanks to your post I found Lessons in the Post. I have yet to contact them and Im considering ordering their overseas packages. My child is going into the 2nd grade & is not a student in the UK. We live in Brooklyn NY. I am wondering if you would know or could think of any reason Lessons in the Post which gears towards a UK system would be an unfit match to a us student. Thank you in advance.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Love all the info. I plan to enroll my 2 kids. However, I am a little worried about the lack of skill development as it pertains to problem solving.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Not a parent, and would never ever go to KUMON ever again!!!! Not worth it, they provide worksheets and you do the same thing over and over if you fail. It is so boring. And payment is so expensive and the instructors just walk around, talk, they are not such a big help either. Yes, it is very true that students have been driven to tears... Experienced some myself. And they only focus on speed and accuracy. Heard that employees paid poorly... KUMON takes me nowhere. THEY TEACH DIFFERENTLY RATHER THAN HOW OUR OWN TEACHERS TEACH IT. SOME OF THE KUMON STEPS AND OTHERS ARE HARD.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: You're really not far off base from my experience. I pay Kumon for the framework, materials and (fiscal) inspiration. They haven't taught my children a single thing, but the materials are good and I appreciate their support and direction. Kumon is, by my experience, a 200% parent effort.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I am a Kumon student. I actually live in the United States. Kumon wasn't much help for me when I was young (in 3rd grade), but now (I'm in 8th grade), it helps me greatly. Kumon is always taking the math a step further, unlike school where it only teaches the basics. Whenever I have a problem, I can easily ask the employees(tutors) for help. The only bad thing about Kumon for me is that I'm extremely bored in math class at school. Its like I want to teach the class myself, haha.

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Why not give it a try? As you work at your own pace you'll be able to use it as an extension program to move through at your own speed. If you find it's not working for you, you can always give it up at any time.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I'm a student who is going to be entered into Kumon. Though I'm not entirely sure I want to be. I am on average a high A student so I really don't see the point. My parents think I should still be entered into the program but honestly I don't really want to. What do you think about this? Should I still try Kumon out?

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I used to go to Kumon for about 3-4 years and it hasn't improved my math (Just about 20%) Some of the empIoyees (Keyboard probIem; Sorry) are very rude to me

      I have discovered that Kumon focus MOST on the advanced students; Not the ones that are a bit behind~ ($50-200 depending on which Kumon you attend; In some centres - if you are absent - you wiII have to pay the price for that) The work is tedious and boring - If you have sIow timing or missed some probIems then you end up doing the same work over and over

      Parents are put me OUT of Kumon and into another tutoring area; I was way more happy there since you get breaks and don't have to sit there for hours struggIing with a boring piece of packet

      I recommend going to another tutoring center~

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi Leong Sir,

      Sounds like you're a super smart business expert, a business model that that works that way couldn't have survived for more than 6 months, Kumon has been around for more than 50yrs with more 5 millions students currently enrolled. Are there more than 5 millions blind ignorent parents who keep on paying monthly kumon fee. May be they see something that you can't.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I am currently starting the 2nd grade math workbooks for my 6 yr old as a supplemental math source. The only problem is the workbooks do not provide any time guidelines for the work sheets. As speed is an integral part of the program, I do not understand why this information is missing. It would be most helpful to have these guidelines to ensure my child is meeting the time requirements as well as the accuracy of the exercises.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I am about to enroll in Kumon and I think this has lessened my anxiety a little bit. I was so utterly RELIEVED at the "on average takes 10-20 minutes."

      But what I really fear is at home practice. These days, some parents are a bit well.....CRANKY and will get VERY impatient when the child doesn't get concepts quickly. I would rather have just at home practice with no parent breathing down my neck the whole entire time while I'm doing work. Math makes me very nervous, and it scares me even more if it's a test. Thanks for this info.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Working through the Kumon workbooks at home is not anywhere near as effective as attending a Kumon Study Centre regularly and embarking on one of the study programmes. At the centre, children are supported, encouraged and helped to develop confident self-study skills. In addition the work is set individually according to the ability of each and every child through close observation and careful, measured practise. Working through workbooks at home misses out on these essential aspects.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I am really interested in enrolling my 3 kids at our local center, but this center is charging $130 per subject per child. Very expensive for me. Otherwise, your review helps me with my decision.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I thought this was pretty accurate. I work at Kumon and know first hand how it is. Although I know that correcting work for parents can be a hassel, I think it's good because it gets the parents involved with their child's learning. The impersonal side of it can be difficult for some kids who need one on one tutoring, but most kids I see come through end up improving a lot. I think the smartest thing to do is to keep your kid enrolled for at least 7-12 months before dropping because it sometimes takes kids a while to get use to the system of having extra work every day. Another thing is that sometimes when you force them to do it, they resist trying to learn the material and learn at a slower rate. Kumon works if the child and the parent are willing to put time and effort into it. If a parent does not have ten minutes out of their day to focus on their child's education, then maybe they should have thought a little harder before having a kid.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Very interesting. Attended a recruitment fair for Kumon

      Instructors recently. I am concerned that you do not require

      a third level qualification in Maths to be hired as an

      Instructor. The self taught aspect literally means that. If a child gets "stuck"

      they have to go back to previous worksheet and figure it out for themselves.

      I also noticed a lot of people from overseas whose first language is not English looking to be recruited by Kumon. Cannot help but wonder if the whole thing is a scam or money spinner!!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I have not found this in my experience - parents aren't forced to teach anything - the children teach themselves by following the examples in the books.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      We have enrolled our son on this programme and i cannot believe his improvement in only 2 weeks - i am still slightly hesitant if this is going to continue but whilst it lasts I think this is great... My son is enjoying attending the class twice a week despite "feeling physically sick" the first week. In only 2 weeks we have seen an improvement in his school work as well - the teacher sets them 4 columns of times tables to do within a set time - he normally completes 1 1/2 columns maybe 2 on a good week - this week he completed 3 1/2 columns.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Kumon math is not really helping students; it just repeats thousand times and makes students memorizied the questions and answers. Young kids are tire of doing this and parents are tire of paying bill for nonsense repeating material. Instead parents can copy it own paper; a lot cheaper. Besides, instructor and assistants are not teaching at all; parents need to teach their own kids by using Kumon materials thousand times.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Very helpful, thank you! I appreciate the information about the workbooks.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi, thanks for the review. I think it's pretty accurate. In your review, in the Top Tip section, you actually pointed out the biggest 'issue' in the Kumon Math program. Problem solving skill is what's lacking in Kumon Math. Kumon Math is probably the best program that I have seen, in terms of teaching kids how to calculate. All kids from Kumon math program can calculate fast and accurately. But, most of the kids from Kumon math can't solve word problem; because, they don't really understand when to apply addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. This is the part that Kumon didn't teach the kid. And this is the most important aspect of Math. Definitely, Kumon can help kids building a good fundation in calculation and probably a good study habit. As they get older, I think parents should start looking for other supplemental programs. The longer you stay in the Kumon Math program, the bigger the gap you'll create.

    • profile image

      brian-mclogan 5 years ago

      Great Review, I currently created a lens on math education and am in the process of creating my own affordable math website where I can provide online tutoring. It is very helpful to see the prospective of the parent

    • profile image

      tutorservice 5 years ago

      Good work describing this. I wonder if a more personalized approach might work better with some kids.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Kumon instructors are not teaching the kids; they just hand out the repeating worksheets and force the parents to teach their kid at home in order to cut their cost.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      This review is great and accurate. The parent grading of the homework though is an option and should not be a requirement, but is different depending on the center you go to. The benefits to your child from homegrading, getting the immediate feedback on their performance and then making corrections to any errors goes a long way.

    • mihgasper profile image

      Miha Gasper 5 years ago from Ljubljana, Slovenia, EU

      Never heard about Kumon Math before. Looks like great idea, thanks for your kind presentation!

    • profile image

      giraffesandstuff 5 years ago

      A friend of mine recommended Kumon as well. My son is 4 yrs old, and she also suggested to enroll him before he starts kindergarten in September. Thank you for your detailed review, I'll definitely look into enrolling him in this program. The homework part - well I'll let dad deal with it :)

    • profile image

      sheezie77 5 years ago

      Amazing lens! thumbs up!

    • jadehorseshoe profile image

      jadehorseshoe 5 years ago

      Very Useful Lens.

    • profile image

      Buchamar 5 years ago

      Fantastic, was not aware of this, thanks for sharing!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Kumon sounds like a a great learning center. I'm not a parent but I think that if I had kids and they needed further tutoring, Kumon is a place I'd take them to. I imagine it's tough sometimes to mark up the exercises your kids are required to complete (time-wise), but it appears it's been worth it.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I put my girls in Kumon but I didn't see any progress. I don't know if it was the instructor or the center itself. I was very disappointed and ended up taking them out.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I live in the Uk where Kumon is pretty big too. We started our children on the Kumon Maths programme and all went well to start with, lots of progression through the stages etc. The problem was that as soon as they began to cover new ground things faltered.

      In the end we went with something else called Lessons in the Post . It covers all the classical addition/subtratcion etc that Kumon did but also does applied maths which is more fun for the kids and more relevant to what they learn at school. You can find them here... www.lessonsinthepost.co.uk

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I think the workbooks are a great option if you don't live near a center, but if you are near a Kumon center, use it!! There are significant benefits such as free placement testing to make sure your child starts in a level they can be successful and build confidence, and be sure to fill any learning gaps they may have. The instructor also monitors progress to ensure appropriate progress and plan their work. We've used Kumon for years and LOVE IT!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I enrolled my daughter on mid Feb 11, she was 6 years of old. She started on Level 2A near the bottom level and by 8 months, she could do long division , now she on Level D100.

      Advantages, gained speed, accuracy and concentration.

      Disadvantages, Kumon program doesnât cover the problem solving (geometry, money, 3D ect). Need to works on these area on your own.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Kumon Math sounds like an excellent program and has the extra satisfaction of being self taught, new to me and fascinating as a resource.

    • UKGhostwriter profile image

      UKGhostwriter 6 years ago

      Fantastic resource, wonderfil lens and this 'thumbs up' gives you a 100% score!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I enrolled my daughter when she was 4 years old. She started near the bottom level and by 3 months, she could read a simple book.

    • lasertek lm profile image

      lasertek lm 6 years ago

      i've heard about kumon and this is great review.

    • profile image

      Kaafscorner 6 years ago

      I have heard of Kumon and also like the fact that one can get books on Amazon probably to first check it out before committing to the real thing. A lot of info on your lens - thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi, please provide more info on how I can locate your blog for more into on how parents can use the positive aspects of Kumon to support math learning at home.

      Thanks! :)

    • ChemKnitsBlog2 profile image

      ChemKnitsBlog2 6 years ago

      I worked at a Kumon Math center a while ago, and they had us grade the worksheets for the kids. They would keep track of the progress (I think). I got really good at spotchecking math problems that summer!

    • Lynne-Modranski profile image

      Lynne Modranski 6 years ago from Ohio

      Thanks for the info. I'd never heard of this. Sounds excellent!

    • Cari Kay 11 profile image

      Kay 6 years ago

      I am so glad I found your page. There is a Kumon center next to my daughter's ballet studio. I have been wondering about them and your lens helped answer some questions. Thank you!

    • sorana lm profile image

      sorana lm 6 years ago

      You are so right: repetition and practice are so important in learning Maths and in learning anything as a matter of fact. Kumon is very good for that. Combine this with problem solving questions though. Applying the skills to concret situations helps children understand why they have to learn these skills and where they use them.

    • Lee Hansen profile image

      Lee Hansen 6 years ago from Vermont

      I really don't understand the new way they teach math these days. The practice, practice, practice method and working on your own worked for me. Seems Kumon math embraces that approach. Thanks for educating me about this method.

    • javr profile image

      javr 6 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Anything that makes math easier is great. I like the idea that Kumon math introduces complexity slowly. That wasn't the way when I was in math. This lens has been blessed by a Squid Angel.

    • TonyPayne profile image

      Tony Payne 6 years ago from Southampton, UK

      Very informative lens. My eldest daughter (now 10) did Kumon Maths for several years, as she was struggling a bit, and now she not only loves Maths, she is good at it too. Especially in the early years I think you need to allow kids to work at their own pace, and repetition is important, especially with times tables. We learned them at school by repeating over and over every day, and my daughter can now answer most Maths questions instantly, which is great.

    • Kenken99 LM profile image

      Kenken99 LM 6 years ago

      I'm enrolled in Kumon!

    • jolielaide75 profile image

      jolielaide75 6 years ago

      Great job on this lens! I too use Kumon for my daughter. For math, I find that they are one of the best.

    • verymary profile image

      Mary 6 years ago from Chicago area

      interesting! good resource esp. for homeschooling parents

    • lemonsqueezy lm profile image

      lemonsqueezy lm 6 years ago

      I have never heard of it but might try it because we need all of the help we can get. This is a very informative review!

    • ronpass lm profile image

      ronpass lm 6 years ago

      Sound balanced review of Kumon Maths. I like the fact that you have personal experience of this self-paced maths learning system and that you evaluate it warts and all. You also provide alternatives to the Kumon Math system which is another positive - a good model for product reviews. Well done - from another Brisbane-ite.

    • mom-247 profile image
      Author

      mom-247 6 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi Caroline,

      Thank you! I absolutely agree with those additional points. The problem solving point particularly which I have noticed is the one area that my child still really doesn't do as well at in school.

      Thanks so much for your comment.

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      A great, balanced article!

      As a former Kumon instructor, to the advantages I would add that the Kumon material reaches up to elements of 1st year university work, so there is plenty for students to study. Also, it's been tried and tested for 50 years.

      To the disadvantages, I'd add that, it doesn't cover the whole maths curriculum and does very little problem solving.

      I posted my own Kumon review on my Maths Insider blog, which focuses on how parents can use the positive aspects of Kumon to support their child's maths learning at home.