ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Personal Opinion Polls

Updated on October 9, 2014

Regional Dialect, Colloquialisms, Slang, Habits

I've always been fascinated by the differences in the speech and behavior of people. I think this is because I grew up in a very small town and wasn't exposed to anything different.

You could say I was sheltered. We were not worldly folks.

So, just for fun, I've compiled some polls of different ways of saying basically the same thing or of doing things. I know there are other ways of saying these things or doing these things, but I'm including ones that stand out to me. The differences are sometimes subtle but are oh so noticeable!

I think it'll be interesting to see how the polls come out!

Photo Credit: Tkgd2007

A general population poll to get us started

I'm from the U.S., so I'll add a map of the U.S. here.
I'm from the U.S., so I'll add a map of the U.S. here.

I realize that many of the slang words or colloquialisms in these polls are mostly used in the United States. I'm not familiar with worldwide colloquialisms. Sorry!

Where in the World Are You From?

See results

The Poll Game

The Poll Game - A Game of Opinions
The Poll Game - A Game of Opinions

If you like these polls, you'll probably like playing the poll game!

 

"One method of distinguishing between

a slangism and a colloquialism is to ask whether

most native speakers know

the word (and use it);

if they do, it is a colloquialism. However, the problem

is that this is not a discrete,

quantized system but a continuum."

~ Colloquialism on Wikipedia

quoting Gil'ard Zuckerman

What Do You Call Athletic Shoes?

See results

What Do You Call Carbonated Beverages?

See results

If you are waiting at the bank or the movies,

See results

How Do You Pronounce the Word "Greasy"?

See results
Do you touch it or knock on it?
Do you touch it or knock on it?

What Do You Do For Good Luck?

See results

What Do You Call This Thing That You Fry Foods In?

See results

If You're Really Hungry, What Do You Say?

See results

How Do You Pronounce This Word?

See results

How about these words? How do you pronounce humble and huge and historical?

See results

If You Eat a Sub Sandwich,

See results

Different names for the same thing:

gutter (Northeast, South)

eaves trough (in-land North, West)

rainspouting (chiefly Maryland and Pennsylvania)

Source: Regional Vocabularies of

American English on Wikipedia

What do you say

See results

When installing a new roll of toilet paper,

See results

Do you believe in UFOs?

See results

What Do You Eat as the Evening Meal?

See results

Stephen King's 11/22/63 - She says supper, he says dinner....

In Stephen King's novel 11/22/63, the dinner / supper conundrum is addressed:

"Sadie wanted to do the dishes after the meal she called supper and I called dinner, but I told her to go on and pack her overnight case instead."

If you have a deadline, what do you do?

See results

Books on Personal Habits - Highly Defective People -- Not That Any of Us Are Defective!

What Word Do You Use to Refer to a Wealthy Person?

See results

How About a Cheap Person?

See results

How Do You Pronounce Sink?

See results

How Do You Write the Term for That World War? - You Know, the One After the First One.

How Do You Write the Term for That World War?

See results

What Do You Drive On?

When you drive your car,

See results

The Couples of Downton Abbey - Who's Your Favorite?

I've recently been watching Downton Abbey. Again. It's that good. Pick your favorite couple of this ITV drama.

The Couples of Downton Abbey

See results

Affiliate Disclosure

This author, Peggy Hazelwood, participates in Amazon, eBay, All Posters, and other affiliate advertising programs. When you click an advertising link on this page and make a purchase, I receive a small percent of the sale. Thank you for reading this far!

Do you have another poll idea I should add here? - Or share your favorite poll with us.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      4 years ago

      Terrific poll!

    • katespetcorner1 profile image

      katespetcorner1 

      5 years ago

      Love it! Thanks for sharing the polls :)

    • Loretta L profile image

      Loretta Livingstone 

      5 years ago from Chilterns, UK.

      That's the most interesting poll I've done (and I've done loads). Pronunciation is fascinating. Loved it. Only thing is - no points at all came up for me :-( Don't know why! I didn't get logged out and all my answers showed. Maybe they stopped doing points for polls? I hope not.

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 

      5 years ago from Seattle, WA

      Oh please add "frugal" to your cheap poll so I can vote for myself lol. Fun stuff! *blessed

    • ArtzeeChris LM profile image

      ArtzeeChris LM 

      5 years ago

      Very fun! I enjoyed taking all the polls! :)

    • RichLeighHD profile image

      RichLeighHD 

      6 years ago

      @BarbaraCasey: I also enjoyed this aspect of it; seeing where the other votes went each time!

    • goldenchildngo profile image

      goldenchildngo 

      6 years ago

      Love doing these polls!

    • Scarlettohairy profile imageAUTHOR

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      @amandascloset0: I've never heard that one. Very strange!

    • amandascloset0 profile image

      amandascloset0 

      6 years ago

      labtop or laptop... This is one that really makes my skin crawl when pronounced incorrectly but I hear it at work on a daily basis. lol

    • BlackSunflowerB profile image

      BlackSunflowerB 

      6 years ago

      Great polls!

    • profile image

      BarbaraCasey 

      6 years ago

      I enjoyed seeing the other answers almost as much as I did answering the questions.

    • profile image

      glowchick 

      6 years ago

      I had a suggestion about often- to make a option for saying it both ways or not paying attention. Also I did not really understand the question about pronouncing "sink" and there a jar of "zinc", so I didn't answer it.

      I did enjoy your poll lens, keep up the good work!

    • Elle-Dee-Esse profile image

      Lynne Schroeder 

      6 years ago from Blue Mountains Australia

      I am more likely to cal a sub a roll or french roll. You should ask what that thing at the back of the car where you put stuff is called - we call it the boot. And we take out our garbage not our trash. I am also often bemused when I watch American television and a mirror is called a mere. And I can never understand why there is no seafood in an American Marinara sauce!

    • One-A-Day LM profile image

      One-A-Day LM 

      6 years ago

      This was fun! Thanks!

    • writerkath profile image

      writerkath 

      6 years ago

      Fun! Now you've got me wanting to make a poll lens! :)

    • firstcookbooklady profile image

      Char Milbrett 

      6 years ago from Minnesota

      Hmmm. I call athletic shoes, "Tennies".

    • lclchors profile image

      lclchors 

      6 years ago

      first one on shoes depends on their use.

      wealthy person I call a friend

      cheap person I call my ex :)

      Fun lens

    • Scarlettohairy profile imageAUTHOR

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      @bikerministry: Interesting! I personally say the "h." What do you say?

    • bikerministry profile image

      bikerministry 

      6 years ago

      How do you pronounce "humble." With the h or without it. Old family debate!!

    • sibian profile image

      sibian 

      6 years ago

      That was good fun...

    • Scarlettohairy profile imageAUTHOR

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      @ShariBerry: I call polls poles. Don't you?!

    • ShariBerry profile image

      Sharon Berry 

      6 years ago from Michigan

      Do you pronounce that pole or poll? Love it!

    • designsbyharriet profile image

      Harriet 

      6 years ago from Indiana

      I have taken lots of polls on different subjects, but this one is unique. I really liked it. Blessed!

    • MillBucks profile image

      MillBucks 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for these fun polls, love the points!

    • profile image

      dellgirl 

      6 years ago

      Great polls, this is really a lot of fun!

    • Scarlettohairy profile imageAUTHOR

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      @bossypants: I hear ya. That's how I pronounce it too!

    • profile image

      bossypants 

      6 years ago

      Dandle was a new one on me! This was fun! Do more, do more!!!! Personal pet peeve (altho the dictionary shows I'm wrong -- grrr!): temperature or tempachur.

    • Scarlettohairy profile imageAUTHOR

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      @MarcoG: Marco, I thought about adding "tea" since I watch a lot of BBC and finally figured out that's what they were referring to about half the time, not just a drink!

    • MarcoG profile image

      Marc 

      6 years ago from Edinburgh

      A lot of people over here call your evening meal "tea"...and I call a sub, a roll or a soft baguette. I enjoyed this lens :)

    • nyclittleitaly profile image

      nyclittleitaly 

      6 years ago

      Great poll lens. Thank you for the points.

    • Pam Irie profile image

      Pam Irie 

      6 years ago from Land of Aloha

      This was really fun!!! I'd love to see ones like .....what do you say to describe someone who is really wealthy? what do you say to describe a person who is really cheap? Stuff like that..... :)

    • profile image

      boutiqueshops 

      6 years ago

      How fun was that! You're right, it's fascinating to see (or hear) how differently we can say the same thing. Blessed!

    • Scarlettohairy profile imageAUTHOR

      Peggy Hazelwood 

      6 years ago from Desert Southwest, U.S.A.

      @Virginia Allain: I guess I've heard this both ways too.

    • Virginia Allain profile image

      Virginia Allain 

      6 years ago from Central Florida

      One phrase that I find a regional difference that causes confusion is "out of pocket." In Texas that means you're going to be away, but other places I've lived, it means you paid for something yourself.

    • profile image

      AlleyCatLane 

      6 years ago

      This is a really fun poll. Very creative. Can't think of anything to add at the moment.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)