ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

30 Days Of Night Dark Days Movie Review

Updated on April 7, 2013

30 Days Of Night: Dark Days Movie Review

The original 30 Days Of Night was a superbly executed vampire movie classic, it had all the hallmarks of an original classic, although based on a collection of graphic novels, the content of the movie was very much a faithful adaptation and whilst this second movie offering was a straight to DVD movie with a slightly smaller budget, it was actually quite good and it continued off from where the last one left off.

Although there is no Melissa George as Stella, but that doesn't really matter as the whole idea of this sequel is that it's about what happens next and what other vampires are out there. The Vampires aren't as scary as the first lot, as that original clan of vampires was just totally bad arse where as these vampires are just so so, but still it is a good effort of a sequel, but there are a few small nuisances that just make it seem a bit turd in concept, like a human vampire who somehow held on to his humanity which just seemed so much like a load of bollocks and a vampire following someone into a house and using the front door to get in and then getting his head shot to bits and that particular vampire looked a bit dopey too.

The ending of the movie was ok, but didn't quite make sense as you see at the end of the first movie her husband who was infected by the vampire virus got burnt by the sun and turned to ashes, but somehow she held on to his body and was able to bring back her husband although he was a vampire with her own blood. Just it seemed a rather convenient ending but then we know that these vampires aren't very nice, so yeah she gets what she deserves.

All in all, the movie started off average, was great through the middle and then tapered off right at the end, but what do you expect from a straight to DVD movie really, I mean c'mon!!

Watch the trailer for Dark Days below and make up your own mind about seeing this one.

Dark Days Movie Trailer

Dark Days Movie Review

The sequel to the original movie 30 days of night, Dark Days is a direct continuation of that movie, just smaller budget.
The sequel to the original movie 30 days of night, Dark Days is a direct continuation of that movie, just smaller budget. | Source

Dark Days 30 Days Of Night On DVD And Blu-Ray

30 Days Of Night - Dark Days Movie Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      7 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I think you may need your eyes tested! that guy looked nothing like the servant to the vampires guy....

      You might want to check the first movie again!

    • profile image

      BlahBlahBlah13 

      7 years ago

      I just got done watching the movie... i compared a few pictures and (this doesn't make sense to me but...) the guy who Stella dug up at the end (thinking it was Eban) looks exactly like the guy from the first movie, who Eban had locked up in the jail cell (the guy who was acting as a servant to the vampires).

    • daydreamer13 profile image

      daydreamer13 

      8 years ago

      Thanks for the heads-up. Very informative.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Steveo!

      It was okay!

    • SteveoMc profile image

      SteveoMc 

      8 years ago from Pacific NorthWest

      With Netflix, and easy access the movie is a "Why Not?" I'll give it a go, see what it's like. Thanks for the review.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Although the screenplay was written by the comic book writer Steven Niles it was an ok movie, just if there is a third instalment which I think there will be at some point, it just needs to be better and take the characters to the absolute extreme. Cheers now!

    • jycmba profile image

      jycmba 

      8 years ago from Los Angeles CA

      Pretty much dead on with your thoughts on this sequel - especially that the 1st 30 Days was groundbreaking in a genre that hasn't seen much new territory, unless you count the teen fantasy version of the Twilight series. Well, if they somehow manage to make another 30 days, let's hope they get some fresh blood!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)