ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

9/11 (2017) Film Review

Updated on December 26, 2017
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Source

About the film

Released: 2017

Director: Martin Guigui

Producers: Dahlia Wangort, Warren Ostergard, Martin Sprock, Rodric David

Running time: 1 hour 30 minutes

Genre: Drama, Action

Distributed by: Atlas Distribution Company


9/11 is loosely based on the play by Patrick James Carson called Elevator. The film revolves around 5 people that are trapped in an elevator on the day that the plane struck the North Tower on this fateful day. The terror attacks on the twin towers undoubtedly changed history and left a big hole in many peoples lives. Charlie Sheen plays Jeffrey Cage, one of the people trapped in the lift. The film is how these 5 people try to escape from the lift and the eventual collapse of the tower. Though the film has nothing to do with those responsible for the attack, it will most definitely bring back a lot of memories for the people who were affected. Whoopi Goldberg plays Metzi, the elevator dispatcher, and we see how she tries to help with getting the lift moving. Jeffrey Cage is stuck in the lift with his wife, Eve. This is a little ironic in the fact that he had gone to the World Trade Centre to get her to sign divorce papers. So during their time stuck in the lift, we see how the two are forced to talk and iron things out.

Clearly we all know the outcome, but what we see is how these people that are trapped in the lift try in desperation to get out and get help. Although Metzi tries her best to get them out - and she does help on getting the elevator moving to a degree - there is only so much she can do. And when communication is lost between them, she has no choice but to flee. Whether all 5 of those trapped get out, you will have to see. On saying that, the film will clearly be a vivid reminder of that awful day.

The cast in the film

Actor
Character
Whoopi Goldberg
Metzie
Charlie Sheen
Jeffrey Cage
Luis Guzman
Eddie
Wood Harris
Michael
Jacqueline Bisset
Diane
Olga Fonda
Tina

My thoughts

On reading news and review blogs on this film, I see it's had pretty much negative reviews and ratings. To be honest, I can see where they're coming from. I know it's been 16 years, but I still think a film about the twin tower attacks is still fresh in peoples minds. I love Whoopi Goldberg and have always admired her as an actress. She's been in so many good films, but quite frankly, I'm not sure she made the right decision with this one. However, her acting was good, I can't fault that. The film does pay tribute to those affected by the 9/11 attacks, I'll give them credit for that. Charlie Sheen did play a good part in the film, but I think the whole film in general really shouldn't of been made. I just think it's one of those things that people don't need to be reminded about.

Although saying that, there are some good parts in the film. There are dramatic scenes with the elevator scenes and when the firemen finally get there to help them. I did watch it to the end, and we see what becomes of the 5 people that were trapped. You don't know exactly what will happen with these people until the very end, so it did leave me wanting to know what happened. But I think with a topic such as things, I think it's just better to let some things lie. But, people may think differently to me.

Source

9/11 Official Trailer

© 2017 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      7 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes I see what you're saying. I guess because it still doesn't seem that long ago it happened. I mean, it's been 17 years but still, it seems too soon to be making films about it. I liked Whoopi in it though.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      7 months ago from Olympia, WA

      It's a tough call, making a movie like that about an event which was so personal to so many. There were so, so many movies made about WW2 shortly after the war, and many more about Vietnam....but there was something different about the Twin Towers which makes it an open wound for most of the nation. Anyway, thanks for the review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      7 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes I must admit, I've always been a big fan of Whoopi and can't fault her role in the film.

    • bloggermelive profile image

      Donna 

      7 months ago from East Yorkshire, UK

      I think the interplay between the characters reflected the attitudes of the public in some ways. Funny, I watched this myself over the festive season. I think the title could have been different to manage expectations as to what sort of movie it was? That is my only criticism. Whoopi did a great job!

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      7 months ago from UK

      Sounds like an interesting but sobering watch.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      7 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes, it was such a terrible day. Thankyou for the lovely comment.

    • DREAM ON profile image

      DREAM ON 

      7 months ago

      I have visited the World Trade Center once. The time that I was there I was with a friend and he had to get immigration papers. I was hungry. I was bored. I wanted to go home. So here I am what was such a special place and all I wanted to do is leave. I was at the bank when the attack took place and what started out to be a day of little sleep for me turned out to be a day of anguish, pain and suffering for so many. I was numb to anything and everything around me. I couldn't imagine this is really happening. Even years later I find it hard to understand. The why's ? How could it have been prevented ? Things happen in life we have no control over and we are involved like it or not. I will see the movie and I appreciate your hub on it. I never even heard of it until I read your hub. Have a good day.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      7 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Flourish. Yes, I thought the same. Perhaps a few years down the line it would work.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      7 months ago from USA

      How somber but the idea is intriguing as a story line. Perhaps with a little more distance it could work. I appreciated your review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      7 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Dora for your kind words. Yes you're right, I think people will want to watch it because of the true story.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      7 months ago from The Caribbean

      Louise, thanks for the review. Perhaps different people will react differently to the film. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts. It will be hard to watch, but because the background story is true, I think I'd like to see it. Keep these good reviews coming!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)