ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Fall From Grace Film Review

Updated on February 4, 2020
Coffeequeeen profile image

I am a film enthusiast and enjoy reviewing films I have watched. I like all sorts of films but mainly black & white ones from the 50's & 60s

The cast

Actor
Character
Crystal Fox
Grace Waters
Walter Fauntleroy
Malcolm Waters
Phylicia Rashad
Sarah Miller/Betty Mills
Mehcad Brooks
Shannon DeLong/Maurice Mills
Adrian Pasdar
Prosecutor Bradley Tankerten
Bresha Webb
Jasmine Bryant
Matthew Law
Jordan Bryant

About the film

Released: 2020

Producers: Mark Swinton, Will Areu, Michelle Sneed, Tyler Perry

Director: Tyler Perry

Running time: 120 mins

Genre: Thriller

Distributed by: Netflix


About the film

The film revolves around Grace Waters who is in prison for the murder of her husband, Shannon. Jasmine Bryant is a public defender and goes to visit Grace in prison. Grace tells her that she is guilty and will take a plea deal if she can go to a prison closer to where her son, Malcolm, lives. But when Jasmine starts researching the case, she begins to think that Grace is innocent. So she continues to visit Grace to get more of her story between her and Shannon.

So as Grace starts telling Jasmine her story, we see flashbacks onscreen of how she met Shannon and how their romance evolved. She met him at an art gallery where he was displaying some of his photographic work. Then we see how he sends her one of his photograph's with a rose on it, and thus their romance begins. Grace had been feeling a little down after her divorce from her first husband, so when Shannon starts taking an interest in her, she starts feeling as if there is someone out there for her. Grace and Shannon eventually get married and for a few months, everything is wonderful. But then things start going horribly wrong for Grace. She goes into work 1 day and learns she has been fired. Apparently, money has gone missing from one of the company accounts she manages. At first, we see Shannon trying to help her work it all out. But soon we see a different side to him. Grace comes home 1 day to find him in bed with another woman in their bed. As she goes downstairs to wait for her to leave, we see the real side to him. We also learn that Grace's accounts are overdrawn and a mortgage taken out on her house.

When Grace is finally taken to court, we initially see Grace found guilty of murder, but there's more to the the story. With the thanks to Jasmine and her determination, we see what really happened with Grace and her marriage to Shannon. It is a tale of lies, deceit, loyalty and loss. What we see is how a man can worm his way into someone's life and take everything she has. But there's more to it than that. The twist of the story really comes at the end of the film, which surprised me when I saw what happened.

My Thoughts

To be honest, I don't watch a lot of thriller movies. But when I saw the trailer on Netflix, it piqued my interest. I'm glad I watched it though as I did enjoy it. I wasn't expecting the ending at all, so that was a surprise. I like it when people make films like this. You think you know how it's going to end, only for it to be completely different to how you imagined. It makes you wonder about people too. You think you'll never get taken in by people, but I think we are all susceptible of this. Over a course of a few months, Grace's life was turned upside down. This man, Shannon, had walked into her life knowing he was going to take everything she had ever worked for. He'd gained her trust and she'd fallen head over heels in love with him. Even when they got married, the 1st few months were blissful. It wasn't until she lost her job that things started to go horribly wrong for her. I felt sorry for her.

The actors who played Grace and Shannon played their parts well and I liked the acting between them. I also like the role of Jasmine, the public defender. Her boss wasn't too keen on her taking this case, but she proved him wrong and stood her ground. The storyline I found really interesting too. It kept me wanting to watch it and see what happened. As I say, the ending was unexpected to me, which was good. All in all this is a very interesting film and glad I watched it.

A Fall from Grace official trailer

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      5 weeks ago from Houston, Texas

      I am glad you did not give the ending away. You told just enough to get us interested in watching it. Thanks for your review.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      3 months ago from USA

      I am definitely going to see this! Thank you for suggesting it!

    • bhattuc profile image

      Umesh Chandra Bhatt 

      3 months ago from Kharghar, Navi Mumbai, India

      An excellent review. The story seems to be very thrilling and containing twists. Should view it one day.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      3 months ago from Ohio

      I love a movie with a trick ending also. I will have to look for this one.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      3 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      This movie review encourages me to watch it. Thank you for sharing this hub. I will watch it soon.Hope to read another film review from you

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      3 months ago from The Caribbean

      Good review! You have done well not spelling out the end. It was also surprising to see Phylicia Rashad in that unexpected role.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      3 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I like the sound of this movie. The fact that it has an unexpected ending is very intriguing. It definitely makes me want to watch the film!

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      3 months ago from UK

      You have piqued my curiosity about this film. You have struck a good balance, writing a good review without giving too much of the plot away.

    • Lorna Lamon profile image

      Lorna Lamon 

      3 months ago

      A great review Louise. This movie sends out a powerful message about vulnerability, trust and ultimate loss.

    • Cheryl E Preston profile image

      Cheryl E Preston 

      3 months ago from Roanoke

      Great article. A lot to f people lived this movie. I’ve not seen it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)