ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Movie Review of : 'Gone Baby Gone' (2007)

Updated on July 21, 2019
profile image

My hobby is watching movies and then writing a review about my thoughts about them.

A really strong movie

So this is a movie that i watched recently but decided not to share my thoughts on in here. But one thing just couldn't let me go so i thought i should review it and share some things about it that really make you think hard. Directorial debut of Ben Affleck who is without a doubt a great director('The Town' (2010), 'Argo' (2012) ).

In this review we're only going to talk about the movie as a whole though it's not going to be like my previous reviews talking about "the good" and "the bad" in the movie because i honestly can't really find anything particulary about the movie and there's no point of both sections so i'll just talk about it. Feel free to share your thoughts about the movie especially if you have watched it in the comment section. What choice would have you make?

This review won't contain spoilers because if you haven't watched the movie i really don't want to ruin it for you. It's better to watch it without knowing too much about the story.

What choice would you make?

First off, if you haven't heard about the movie, don't waste your time watching the trailer just start watching the movie.The trailer doesn't spoil anything but also it's not that intriguing, at least not for me. You need to know as little as possible to enjoy this story at its best.

This movie does an incredible job in storytelling and really tries to trick us throughout the whole movie until it finally hit us with its big revelation and the truth and when that comes you're not prepared to make this tough choice and neither is the main character played by Casey Affleck who is excellent in this movie. I know him from 'Manchester by the Sea' and 'Good Will Hunting'( You should really watch those movies, if you haven't, they are worth the time and are so amazing and incredible) and i have to say that he really is impressing me. The man can act and i can't say he's the weakest part of the Affleck brothers. They're both awesome. He delivers this stunning performance in 'Gone Baby Gone' and you really buy into his character and he makes you care about the movie. Morgan Freeman is also part of the movie. He doesn't have much screen time but as the story progress you'll realize his character has more meaning than you probably think. I think there's no point of telling you that he did his job well in the movie and was good as always.

This movie has one oscar nominations- Amy Ryan and she is really good in this movie but i'm still a bit surprised that she of all people got the nomination. Personally, i think, that Casey should have gotten a nomination too. That doesn't mean that Amy Ryan wasn't good . She was excellent and she portrayed her character really well. Another honorable mention of this great cast that did an excellent job is Ed Harris. I didn't find Michelle Monaghan as impressive as the rest of the cast and she was totally outshined by them. Her performance wasn't terrible, though. I just didn't like her performance as much as the other actors's performances.

Now, let's get to the most interesting part of the movie and that is the plot. The movie hits the right notes, throughout the whole runtime you feel invested into the story and you really need to pay attention to detail in it. It's full of twists and nothing is ever really what it seems it is. Every time you think you finally have solved this riddle the movie just shows you that it totally fooled you once again and honestly it's so awesome although after the credits roll you don't really find yourself thinking about that. You're thinking about the ending and the final gut punch this movie delivers to you. You're starting to question everything and you know that no matter what choice the character make it will be wrong and it will have consequences.

I honestly don't know what is the final score i want to give to this movie. I'll give it 5 out 5 but you gotta know that you shouldn't expect some masterpiece like 'The Shawshank Redemption'. It's not on such a high level.

My rating

5 stars for Gone Baby Gone

© 2019 Hris Dimitrov

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      True! See how the movie can be taken one way and a completely other way.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Yeah but yet again she just leaves the baby to go on a date with someone and she was actually going to leave it with her friend who didn't change at all and who wasn't the nicest human being you can leave your little girl with.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      It is definitely hinted at that she didnt change but there is a possibility for her to change in the future. She wasnt as sleazy as she was at the start of the film.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Yes but from his perspective she could still have a better life and things can change even if she returns to her mother which obviously didn't happen.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      Yea but murder is one thing and offering a girl the chance for a better life is another. It's very interesting to think about.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Yeah, exactly. Maybe if he hadn't shot him he would have made a different decision at the end.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      Yeah. Shooting the molester in the head filled his head with regret. The ending can be interpreted in so many ways. Thats what is so interesting!

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      I think at that moment he finally realized he probably made the wrong call and should have let her stay with Doyle but it was too late. Some people never change and he knew she won't change he just couldn't do something that was so unethical.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      Makes you wonder what he was thinking on the couch at the end.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Yes. And also i could never imagine him doing different decision and i don't think he struggled to make a choice.No. The choice was made way before he even finished his conversation with Morgan Freeman's character, he just couldn't do it quicker because he knew that he'll end up losing a lot from this choice.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      I think he made the right moral decision. He already felt bad about shooting that molester in the head so he didnt want to repeat the same kind of heinous act just so he could feel better.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      ahh that's a tough question honestly. In my opinion, morally, he did the right thing although it's more than obvious that this decision was worse for the kid and she will definitely have not so bright future now that she's with her mother. What do you think?

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      So do you think Patrick did the right thing?

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      well i knew you're gonna like it.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      Just saw the movie! Wow! It is just as good as people say it is!

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      I definitely will. Gonna check out the matrix first then ill jump into Gone Baby Gone.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Thanks! Be sure to write something here when you do so we can discuss.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      Good review! I gotta check the movie out!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)