ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Review of Raising Izzie

Updated on February 26, 2015

Summary of the Movie

Fourteen-year-old Gertie has been left alone to care for her little sister, Izzie, following their mother's death due from cancer. She pays the bills, signs notes sent home from school, and evades questions from people in authority about where her mother is and why she hasn't attended parent-teacher conferences or contacted her school in nearly a year.

They do just fine until a tragedy strikes and they lose their home. Gertie must find a way to take care of her sister while managing a household, attending school, and balancing a budget. The hardest part is making sure that the adults in their life don't find out that they're living on their own and step in to "help." After all, Gertie is doing a fine job of Raising Izzie and she doesn't need help from the authorities, who may separate the girls into different foster homes.

With nowhere to go, Gertie and Izzie are trapped and everything changes. Will they find faith in family, or will it all fall to pieces? Raising Izzie is a feel-good story about finding family, faith, and love.

Movie Details

  • Title: Raising Izzie
  • Rating: NR
  • Actors: Rockmond Dundbar, Vanessa Williams, Victoria Elizabeth Staley, Kayla Kennedy
  • Director: Roger M. Bobb
  • Studio: Image Entertainment
  • Formats: DVD, Amazon Digital
  • Price: $7.84

3 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of Raising Izzie

Need to Know

Raising Izzie is an unrated movie which is appropriate for all ages. Pre-teens will probably get the most enjoyment from this movie.

I watched this move through, and I'm not much of a fan of movies. At the same time, I wanted to enjoy the adoption element more than I did, and I found the racial implications through the better part of the movie saddening. In some ways the characters focus too much on the differences between black and white, and while I appreciate this from an (interracial) adoption standpoint, I felt that it was unnecessary to illustrate that the main adult character found "white jokes" funny.

The storyline is highly improbable (to the point of being unrealistic) but I did find this movie enjoyable once I let go of the lack of realism.

I consider Raising Izzie to be a three-star movie. While I enjoyed it, it won't be one that I watch again and again.

Movie Substance

The basic premise behind Raising Izzie is highly implausible and I found it difficult to follow the movie due to its improbability.

Note that there are some minor spoilers ahead!

A mother with cancer arranges for her daughters to have an apartment and money to pay their bills once she passes on. The means with which they will pay the bills will come from a corporation she has set up (and which she has hired a man to manage). The corporation is never fully explained beyond the fact that their house will be leased to a family and the money from the lease will go to pay the girls' bills. Gertie, who was thirteen at the that her mother died, will be in charge of taking care of Izzie.

Most of all, nobody can know that their mother is dead.

What I Liked about Raising Izzie

I enjoyed the development of the characters through the story and the way that they had to change in their relationships with one another. Tonya and Greg struggled with one another in particular, and the movie follows them from happy childless couple to relational turmoil as Tonya realizes that Greg doesn't want to have children, through to Greg's desire to adopt (and Tonya's hesitation) to a complete role reversal. This felt realistic to me, even if it was a bit rushed.

What I enjoyed the most, however, was the emphasis on how hard Gertie tried to keep her family together, and the moments when Tonya pointed out that if the authorities were called about the girls, they would probably be split up and placed in different foster homes. This is an important message that I feel needs to be stressed in movies like this.

In particular, I enjoyed the Greg's character, and the way that he held it together through the entire movie. He emphasized the importance of God's role in family, and he brought everything back around to the finish. He's the true inspiration in this movie (even if I didn't like him at all at first).

What I Didn't Like about Finding Izzie

In addition to the implausibility of the plot line, Victoria Staley's performance as Gertie was unconvincing, at best. It was hard to believe that this girl was experiencing the emotions she acted out on screen. At one point, the scene was particularly emotional and her tears were unbelievable and difficult to connect with. I personally felt that she entirely ruined the scene with her poor acting.

I also felt that the movie could have been better without the "white people" jokes. Assuming that this was the writer's attempt to make a point about transracial adoption, it fell short of the mark. So much could have been done differently to emphasize the struggle of children born to one race and adopted by parents of another race, but this just fell flat and ugly. These types of jokes are ugly regardless of which race they are directed at or who the intended audience of the movie is.

This just didn't feel right in the context of the movie and made the character making the cracks unlikeable. Otherwise, he was the best thing to happen to this movie!

What themes do you feel Raising Izzie handles well?

See results

The Adoption Theme in the Movie

As you probably already know (if you've read my profile), I an an adopted person. Although my adoption took place when I was an infant and I have yet to experience the loss of a parent, I spend considerable time researching adoption issues. In general, I avoid adoption movies because they often fall short of the mark in handling the theme of adoption, and leave me feeling used by the writer and producer of the movie. My best friend, however, enjoys them, and I often find myself watching them alongside her for company and camaraderie.

This movie does not handle adoption especially well. While it's clearly a theme in the film is intended to address adoption-related issues, it is more a film about trusting in God and having faith through difficult times than it is a movie about adoption. I wish that it could have done more to touch on subjects relating to the displacement of the two girls, their feelings about being ripped from their home (through tragedy, not through authority) and how they bonded with their new family.

Much of this is brushed aside to deal with matters of faith, and I believe the movie could have done a better job, particularly where transracial adoption is concerned.

I did appreciate that the family had to go through the normal steps to achieve foster parent status, but this should have been emphasized more.

Recommendations

This film is not rated (NR) and should be good for people of all ages. It addresses themes relating to Faith, but does not make a clear point about denominational faith. In other words, this movie is appropriate for families who believe in God, regardless of the family's denominational faith.

Families with older children will probably enjoy this the most. It's likely to bore teenagers, and should be most entertaining to children in their tweens (10-12 years old). Parents concerned about matters regarding faith should consider watching the movie before allowing their children to watch it.

This is an inspirational movie.

© 2015 Becki Rizzuti

What Did You Think of Raising Izzie?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Reasons why I was very disappointed with this movie, Raising Izzie. 3 months ago

      Raising Izzie was supposed to be religious, wasn't it? You can nor could never ever even say God only exists, he loves you and if he answers your prayer the way you want at all, can't/couldn't you? Gertie should've known saying if God doesn't answer her prayer, then she'll know he's not real. Gertie, that's not how it works! Sometimes the answer is no, isn't it? That Gertie Nash is insufferable. I can't stand that Gertie's unfaithful attitude towards God at all. That Gertie Nash is nothing but a brat who holds a grudge against God after Mrs. Nash's death. Holding a grudge cause more problems.

    • profile image

      Any reasons why I can't stand Gertie Nash at all from the very start 7 months ago

      I don't like the fact that she lost her faith in God and miracles at all. I don't like the fact that she tried to expect poor Izzie to do the same thing at all either. That Gertie was so insufferable. She deserves no siblings on her own on at all, especially no younger sisters on her own. Izzie deserves a much better big sister than that insufferable Gertie anyway. If I were Izzie, I'd rather disown Gertie as my big sister so Gertie would've gone back to be an only single child wherever she belongs.

    • profile image

      Any other reasons why Foster's not even the best option at all 8 months ago

      One of the sappiest movies I've ever watched because the older girl, Gertie Nash was especially annoying. Very overacted by everyone. I found that Gertie Nash very irritating. I feel like I've wasted my time on this film.

      I thought this movie would be inspiring but I found Gertie (the eldest girl) to be really irritating throughout the whole entire movie. The acting didn't put true emotions into it so it was hard to connect with the characters. It just seemed like a high school skit. I'm sorry just my opinion.

    • profile image

      Any other reasons why that Gertie Nash's not all this nor all that easily likable 8 months ago

      Overall terrible film. I turned it on with very low expectations, but it turned out to be even worse than I expected. The acting from everyone was off, and they spent the entire second half of the film screaming about whether or not God was real, but based none of it on anything spiritual or from scripture, nor did they ever offer up an explanation as to why God let's horrible things happen, as if screaming at God until your desires come true is all that there is to Christianity. What would they have told her if Vanessa didn't wake up? That's not how it works at all because God's not a genie in a bottle. Terribly dangerous message.

    • profile image

      Any other reasons why none of Christians should lose their faith in God at all from the very start 8 months ago

      I cried my eyes out. Very realistic movie and very beautiful. God is real guys. You have to have faith. He may not answer us right away but you have to be patient. Sometimes things don't go our way but that doesn't mean God doesn't hear you nor that he doesn't care about you. Everything happens for a reason. The things he does all lead to a plan that he has for us. Like in the movie. It's his will. Never stop believing, always have faith, be patient, and pray.

    • profile image

      Dislike the negative portrayal of Christians 8 months ago

      There was nothing about this being a religious movie in the description, I wish it had been properly listed as such. As an atheist it probably wouldn't have stopped me from watching it but it would have been nice to know before I started on it. As for the fact that 'Gertie' doesn't believe in God only because he didn't save her mother, is complete rubbish. Have the writers never met an actual atheist? I know quite a few and I've never met one who had become an atheist because something didn't go their way. Completely unrealistic and offensive portrayal. And the ending was totally predictable. Other than that the movie was okay. Your basic pro-religion, "God is fantastic" movie.

    • profile image

      Any other reasons why Izzie Nash's much more favorable than that Gertie Nash 8 months ago

      That Gertie Nash was insufferable.

    • profile image

      Any other reasons why the idea portrayal of Izzie and Gertie as orphaned sisters is the worst nightmare ever so far of all time from the very start 8 months ago

      Death of their parents, Mr. and Mrs. Nash is always unfair and undeserved as well, isn't it?

    • profile image

      Any/other reasons why I'll always favor Izzie over Gertie 9 months ago

      Gertie's pushy and forceful before the accident. The idea portrayal of Gertie and Izzie as orphaned sisters is always another worst nightmare ever so far of all time, isn't it?

    • profile image

      Any/other reasons I hate the idea portrayal of Gertie and Izzie as orphaned sisters too 11 months ago

      I can't stand bickering characters as orphaned siblings at all. Gertie's the worst sister ever of all time especially all because she was the one who lost her faith in God in the first place. It's even better if Izzie was able to cut all the/other ties with her for good, ain't it? Yup. I like Izzie better than Anna (Frozen) but Gertie's worse than Anna (Frozen) anyway.

    • profile image

      Anything and anything would make Raising Izzie a better film than ever so far anyway 12 months ago

      The Spell of Shattered Sight is a powerful curse that, when cast, will make people see the worst in their loved ones and turn against each other.

      No offense but this is what should've happened to Izzie Nash ever since Gertie chose to lose her faith in God instead which she never ever even should've done it back then before in the first place after their mother passed away especially because Gertie took not getting answers from God very badly.

    • profile image

      Any reasons and any other reasons why was it hard to like Raising Izzie so far anyway? 12 months ago

      Let's face it. It's rather hard to like the idea of Gertie and Izzie being portrayed as orphaned sisters so it's better if their parents are still alive, isn't it? Yup.

    • profile image

      Any reasons and any other reasons why was it hard to like Raising Izzie so far anyway? 12 months ago

      No offense to creators of Raising Izzie but I never ever even like the idea of any Christians and any other Christians like the black teacher, Tonya Freeman and the student, Gertrude Nash losing their faith in God and miracles at all anyway.

    • profile image

      What should've, could've and would've happened in the movie, Raising Izzie back then before so far anyway? 13 months ago

      Tonya Freeman should've said. "No offense to your mother." back then before in the first place.

    • profile image

      What's it like if Izzie Nash was under the wicked snow queen's spell so far 15 months ago

      This would've happened in Raising Izzie back then before all because it was Gertie's problem for losing her faith in God and miracles in the first place after Mrs. Nash's death so it was Gertie's fault anyway.

    • profile image

      Reasons why crossovers between Raising Izzie and Frozen The Original Snow Queen deserve to happen in canon 15 months ago

      First of all, Gertie was the one who lost her faith in God and miracles back then before in the first place after Mrs. Nash passed away of an incurable cancer all because she took not able to get answers from God and miracles very badly. I don't even like it when people like Gertie disrespect God. What kind of Christian is she anyway? It's all Gertie's fault.

    • profile image

      Reasons why crossovers between Raising Izzie and Frozen The Original Snow Queen deserve to happen in canon 15 months ago

      Gertie was the one who lost her faith in God back then before in the first place after Mrs. Nash died of an incurable cancer for the past year ago all because she took not getting answers from God very badly. I don't even like it when people like Gertie disrespects God. What kind of Christian is she anyway? Losing her faith in God and miracles like that?

    • profile image

      Reasons why making any Christians and any other Christians losing their faith in God and miracles was a bad idea 17 months ago

      What were those creators thinking making one of the Christians lose their faith in God and miracles? Are they crazy? They could've at least been careful not to portray the Christians back then before in the first place but no instead they just had to portray Christians to lose their faith in God and miracles in a careless, reckless way.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I really hate Gertie Nash so much with a passion 17 months ago

      I really hate how she lost her faith in God and miracles after Mrs. Nash passed away. I really hate how she said there is no God. I really hate how stubborn she just had to be. I really hate how mean she is to Izzie. I really hate how she expected Izzie to lose her faith in God and miracles too. I really hate how much of a jerk she just had to be.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I was very disappointed with this movie, Raising Izzie. 12 days ago 18 months ago

      Raising Izzie was supposed to be religious. You can nor could never ever even say God only exists, he loves you and if he answers your prayer the way you want. Gertie should've known saying if God doesn't answer her prayer, then she'll know he's not real. Gertie, that's not how it works! Sometimes the answer is no. Face it, you're a disgrace to the Bible who just had to lose your faith in God and miracles just because you took unable it get answers from God very badly.

    • profile image

      Things That Would Make Raising Izzie A Better Film 18 months ago

      None of the Christians nor none of the other Christians ever even choose to lose their faith in God and miracles

      Gertie and Izzie's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Nash are still alive.

      Izzie remembers to turn the space heater off before she leaves the apartment every time and every other time.

      Greg and Tonya either having kids on their own or remaining childless.

      More revelations about the Nash family and Freeman family

    • profile image

      Things That Would Make Raising Izzie A Better Film 18 months ago

      None of the Christians nor none of the other Christians ever even choose to lose their faith in God and miracles

      Gertie and Izzie's parents, Mr. and Mrs. Nash are still alive.

      Izzie remembers to turn the space heater off before she leaves the apartment every time and every other time.

      Greg and Tonya having kids on their own.

    • profile image

      Reasons why we rather prefer Izzie Nash over Gertie Nash so far. 18 months ago

      Ugh. Oh, that Gertie! Who does she think she think is anyway? Telling Izzie she's not allowed to go to church anymore ever again after Izzie just said she's going to church too. We all always love church. Church is really, very important to everybody and everybody else. What was Gertie thinking losing her faith in God and miracles after her mother's death? Huh?

    • profile image

      Reasons why we rather prefer Izzie Nash over Gertie Nash so far 18 months ago

      Ugh. Oh, that Gertie! Who does she think she think is anyway? Telling Izzie she's not allowed to go to church after Izzie just said she's going to church too. We all always love church. Church is really, very important to everybody and everybody else.

    • profile image

      Reasons why we feel more neutral about Raising Izzie so far 18 months ago

      God always does exist. Greg, he's just as real as not only you and Izzie but everybody and everybody else including your wife and that stubborn Gertie too.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I dislike/hate Gertie Nash from the start 18 months ago

      Look at her. Denying the fact that God always exist for real. Ugh. Man, what a bitch she is. These/those are one of the reasons why we rather prefer Izzie. Man, we badly wanted to see the older future version of Izzie Nash herself too really bad so far.

    • profile image

      Reasons why portraying the Christians was a bad idea 18 months ago

      Tonya Freeman will either have children on her own or remain childless but she never ever even should've lost her faith in God back then before in the first place either.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I was very disappointed with this movie, Raising Izzie. 18 months ago

      Raising Ozzie was supposed to be religious. You can nor could never ever even say God only exists, he loves you and if he answers your prayer the way you want. Gertie should've known saying if God doesn't answer her prayer, then she'll know he's not real. Gertie, that's not how it works! Sometimes the answer is no.

    • profile image

      About Raising Izzie 18 months ago

      Gertie could've given God an ultimatum but no she just had to lose her faith in God. The storyline of Raising Izzie was fairly tough to believe how Sarah Nash set things up and how Gertie handled their lives - way too mature for her age. Some kids have to be adult like meaning un-childlike.

    • profile image

      Spin off of Raising Izzie 18 months ago

      I'll never ever even know whatever's like if Tonya and Greg Freeman have kids on their own. I bet Tonya envied Mrs. Nash. Mrs. Nash already have no more daughters than only just two so far.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Foster Home Care is the worst option 25 hours ago 18 months ago

      Mrs. Nash fears both of her daughters, Gertie and Izzie Nash will be separated by the government authorities and being placed in different foster home cares so she wanted her daughters, Gertie and Izzie to remain together. Does, doesn't, did or didn't Mrs. Nash know people like Tonya Freeman is getting suspicious that something's not right in the Nash household? Yes or no?

    • profile image

      Reasons why Foster Care is the worst option 18 months ago

      Mrs. Nash fears both of her daughters, Gertie and Izzie Nash will be separated by the government authorities and being placed in different foster home cares.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Izzie Nash is the best sister ever 19 months ago

      Man, if any of us were the creators of Raising Izzie, I would've include and added an icy magical character who puts Izzie Nash under the spell to cause Izzie to reveal her true feelings about Gertie Nash changing for the worst after Mrs. Nash passed away from an incurable cancer just to have Izzie show her true hatred towards Gertie Nash for what she did to Izzie back then for the past year ago after Mrs. Nash's death back then before in the first place. Gertie Nash was the one who lost her faith in God and miracles after her mother's death back then before in the first place because she took not getting answers from God right away very badly and hard. Gertie told Izzie there's no God or God and miracles don't exist so she expected Izzie to lose her faith in God and miracles too the same way she did it herself. Gertie has no right to tell Izzie God and miracles don't exist. Gertie was wrong to tell Izzie God and miracles don't exist or there's no God. That Gertie Nash is ungrateful. Gertie Nash became a disgrace to the Bible. If I were Izzie Nash, I'd go right head and tell Gertie if she really means to refuse to restore faith in God and miracle, then she's a disgrace to the Bible, I'm ashamed to call you my big sister ever since you chose to lose your faith in God and miracles just because God doesn't answer our powers right away, you're not the big sister I have nor love at all, you belong to your whole entire life as an only single child anyway, you've turned yourself into a worst big sister I've ever even been now stuck with ever since you've changed for the worst right after mom died leaving us all alone with each other, the loss of your faith in God and miracles was all entirely your own fault, not me and you're expecting me to lose my faith in God and miracles too, you were wrong to lose your faith in God and miracles, you never ever even should've lost your faith in God and miracles back then before in the first place but now you just had to lose your faith in God and miracles anyway, if you ever even kept expecting me to lose my faith in God and miracles ever again, then you deserved to be disowned by me anyway and I rather be better off without you anyway.

    • profile image

      Crossovers between Raising Izzie and Frozen/Snow Queen: 19 months ago

      What if Izzie Nash under the the Snow Queen's magic spell so far to reveal her true feelings to Gertie Nash about Gertie losing her faith in God right after Mrs. Nash's death for the past year ago? Huh? There are reasons why Izzie Nash ought to be the perfect one who deserves a spell on her to reveal her true feelings to Gertie Nash about changing for the worst after their mother's death. Izzie's deepest, darkest emotions deserve to be brought into the light, right? Man, we all love to imagine what's it like if the splinters of the cursed troll mirror get into Izzie Nash's eyes and heart just to cause Izzie Nash to easily, entirely, purely, truly show hatred, aggression, cruelty, spitefulness, rudeness, nastiness and violence towards Gertie Nash for what Gertie did to Izzie back then before in the first place for the past year ago was wrong like expecting Izzie to lose her faith in God and miracles and telling her there's no God and stuff like that back then before in the first place. If you ask me, Gertie Nash would get whatever she deserves so far anyway so Gertie Nash deserves to be taught a lesson by deserving a real taste of her own medicine for expecting Izzie to lose her faith in God and miracles, telling Izzie Nash there's no God and miracles or God and miracles don't exist anyway. Gertie Nash should've known that God and miracles always permanently exist back then before in the first place even though after Mrs. Nash's death. Gertie Nash was nothing nor nothing else but a brat. I love Izzie Nash better than Gertie Nash.

    • profile image

      Alternative spin off version of Raising Izzie 19 months ago

      Man, it would've been better if Gertie and Izzie's parents were both still alive, right?

    • profile image

      Reasons why Gertie Nash is the worst sister ever so far anyway 19 months ago

      Who does she think she is telling Izzie there is no God and expecting Izzie to lose her faith in God and miracles the same way she did? Huh?

    • profile image

      Reasons how is Izzie Nash better than Gertie Nash anyway 19 months ago

      Man, Izzie never ever even deserve to have a big sister who just had to lose her faith in God after their mother's death. Gertie was the one who disappointed God for losing her faith in God and miracles, not Izzie. Honestly, what were those creators of Raising Izzie thinking portraying the Christians like making one of the Christians lose their faith in God and miracles? Huh? Seriously, the creators of Raising Izzie never ever even should've portrayed the Christians nor made any of the Christians lose their faith in God and miracles back then before in the first place.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Peter Pan In Return To Neverland and Christmas Carol are similar to each other 19 months ago

      If you ask me, Jane deserves to be the perfect role of Ebenezer Scrooge.

    • profile image

      Reasons why we rather prefer Izzie Nash over Gertie Nash 19 months ago

      If I were Izzie Nash, I'd rather break, cut and sever all the ties and all the other ties with Gertie Nash if she keeps expecting me to lose my faith in God the same way she did.

    • profile image

      How are Raising Izzie, Peter Pan Return to Neverland and A Christmas Carol are not only dissimilar but similar 19 months ago

      If you ask me, we're disappointed in Gertie and Jane for losing their faith in God and Peter Pan. I do wish A Christmas Carol version of Raising Izzie was canon too because Gertie was the one who lost her faith in God in the first place anyway after her mother passed away of an incurable cancer so Gertie Nash should be the role of Ebenezer Scrooge. Angels of Gertie's past, present and future should've been included in Raising Izzie back then before in the first place so anybody and anybody else has gotta make Gertie keep her faith in God no matter what. Same goes for Jane, Wendy's daughter too.

    • profile image

      How are Raising Izzie and Peter Pan in Return to Neverland are not only dissimilar but similar to each other 19 months ago

      Ugh. Man, that Gertie Nash is far worse than Wendy's daughter, Jane.

    • profile image

      How are Raising Izzie and Peter Pan Return to Neverland are not only dissimilar but similar to each other 19 months ago

      Man, Gertie Nash is worse than Wendy's daughter, Jane.

    • profile image

      Reasons why the creators of Raising Izzie just had to portray the Christians 19 months ago

      Creators of Raising Izzie are the fault of portraying Christians like making Christians lose their faith in God for not getting the answers from God right away.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Raising Izzie is hard to enjoy 19 months ago

      Portraying the Christians was a bad idea. Especially making Christians lose their faith in God. That was a bad idea, creators of Raising Izzie.

    • profile image

      Reasons why and how are Anna (Frozen) and Izzie similar to each other 19 months ago

      Both of these/those little sisters are determined and faithful.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Gertie Nash sucks 19 months ago

      If I were Izzie, I'd rather choose a better big sister who never ever even lose all of her faith nor all of her other faith in God and miracles like Gertie did just to teach Gertie Nash a lesson only to make Gertie restore her faith in God she just lost.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I rather Izzie Nash over Gertie Nash 19 months ago

      Man, if any of us were the creators of Raising Izzie, we'd include more canon characters, especially the older teenage female characters, have Izzie choose a faith keeping better big sister over Gertie ever since Gertie just had to lose her faith in God anyway.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I rather prefer Izzie Nash over Gertie Nash 19 months ago

      Poor Izzie just had to be raised by a faith loser of a big sister, Gertie. Man, that Gertie Nash is supposed to keep her faith in God at all times and all the other times no matter what nor what else happens. None of us ever even like Gertie's negative behavior towards God nor her little sister, Izzie.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Izzie Nash is better than Gertie Nash 19 months ago

      If you ask me, I'd rather prefer Izzie Nash over Gertie Nash all because we're all so proud of Izzie Nash keeping her faith in God and miracles but we're all so disappointed in Gertie Nash for choosing to lose her faith in God and miracles just because her mother died of an incurable cancer. Getting angry at God is never ever even a solution, Gertie. Gertie was so disrespectful to God. None of us like it when Gertie tells Izzie that there is no God. Newsflash, Gertie, you're wrong! There's always God.

    • profile image

      Reasons why portraying the Christians was an unlikable idea 19 months ago

      That Gertie Nash never ever even should've lost her faith in God back then before in the first place.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Raising Izzie was the worst movie ever so far 19 months ago

      I would've enjoyed the whole entire movie if the creators of Raising Izzie hadn't portrayed the Christians negatively out of character back then before in the first place.

    • profile image

      Reasons why the negative portrayal out of character of Christians was unlikable 19 months ago

      Man, none of us will ever even understand why the creators of Raising Izzie just had to portray the Christians back then before in the first place.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Izzie Nash is better 19 months ago

      Man, we all want to see the meeting between father and younger daughter, Mr. Nash and Izzie in the sequel to Raising Izzie.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Raising Izzie is likable and unlikable 19 months ago

      I couldn't find Raising Izzie fanfiction.net stories anywhere.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Gertie Nash is unlikable 19 months ago

      It's always disappointing that we don't always get everything nor everything else we wanted all the time nor all the other time but man, that Gertie Nash was nothing nor nothing else but an ungrateful ingrate who just had to lose her faith in God just because she took her mother's death very badly and hard from not being able to get answers from God right away. God is never ever even a genie. Getting angry at God is never ever even going to revive your mother from the dead, Gertie. If you hadn't lost your faith in God back then before after your mother's death, then none of this would've happened. Unlike you, Izzie kept her faith in God and you never ever even should've lost your faith in God back then before in the first place but now you just did anyway and it's all your fault, not Izzie's.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Izzie Nash is a better sister than Gertie Nash 19 months ago

      If I were Gertie Nash, I'd never ever even in my whole entire life lose my faith in God even though after Sarah Nash passed away of an incurable cancer.

    • profile image

      What I don't like about Raising Izzie 19 months ago

      When it comes to portraying the Christians. When it comes to conflicts.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Izzie Nash is more likable 19 months ago

      Man, creators of Raising Izzie, you should've told us where was Izzie about to head to after she stormed out of the Freeman house after what that stubborn Gertie said to her was really mean. Was Izzie heading towards her former apartment or her mother's grave?

    • profile image

      Reasons why the negative portrayal of the orphaned siblings was unlikable 19 months ago

      The idea and portrayal of bickering siblings as orphans was really a bad idea if you ask me. Nobody nor nobody else likes it when orphaned siblings still bicker nonstop.

    • profile image

      Reasons why the negative portrayal of the Christians was unlikable 20 months ago

      If were those original creators of Raising Izzie, I'd rather do anything and anything else to avoid the tension drama between faith keeping Christians and faith losing Christians from being revealed just to prevent from affecting the viewers same way I wouldn't force any of these/those Christians and any of these/those Christians to lose their faith in God and miracles.

    • profile image

      Reasons why the negative portrayal of the Christians was unlikable 20 months ago

      If I were Gertie Nash, I would never ever even lose faith in God and miracles back then before in the first place.

    • profile image

      Reasons why Gertrude Nash is unlikable 20 months ago

      Gertie Nash is ungrateful. God is never ever even a genie. It's always disappointing that we don't always get whatever and whatever else we wanted.

    • profile image

      Reasons why I despise Gertie Nash (Raising Izzie) 20 months ago

      If I were Izzie Nash, I'd disown Gertie as my big sister if she won't ever even restore her faith in God for me and my parents.

    • profile image

      Worst things about Raising Izzie 20 months ago

      When it comes to portraying the Christians.

    • profile image

      Unlikable about Raising Izzie 20 months ago

      Only when it comes to portraying the Christians.

    • profile image

      Feeling Neutral about Raising Izzie 20 months ago

      The reason why Raising Izzie was unlikable is all because of the negative portrayal out of character of Christians.

    • profile image

      Neutral about Peter Pan In Return To Neverland 20 months ago

      If I were those creators of Peter Pan in Return To Neverland, I wouldn't make Jane to lose her faith in things including Peter Pan, Neverland, fairies and pixies so people wouldn't have to complain about Jane.

    • profile image

      When it comes to portraying the Christians 20 months ago

      Izzie Nash is more likable than Gertie Nash so I hate Gertie Nash.

    • profile image

      Izzie Nash (Raising Izzie) 20 months ago

      If you ask me, Izzie would've been better off without Gertie anyway ever since Gertie has changed for the worst like losing her faith in God after Sarah Nash's death. Izzie deserves a better big sister than Gertie anyway. The one who never ever even in her whole life lose faith in God like Gertie. Man, I can't believe Izzie is raised by her one and only legal guardian who just lost her faith in God after her mother's death. Poor Izzie is now stuck with her stubborn sister, Gertie. Gertie was the one who chose to lose her faith in God in the first place anyway after her mother's death just because Gertie took her mother's death very badly and hard. Gertie is so pathetic. If Gertie hadn't lost her faith in God in the first place, then none of this would've happened.

    • profile image

      Izzie Nash 20 months ago

      Man, she doesn't deserve to be in Gertie's shadow.

    • profile image

      Izzie Nash and Danny (Peter Pan in Return In Neverland) 20 months ago

      Poor Izzie and Poor Danny just had to deal with their bitter, practical, cynical, stubborn older sisters, Gertie and Jane.

    • profile image

      Dissimilarities and similarities between Gertie Nash and Jane 20 months ago

      Gertie and Jane may be different from each other but they're similar to each other. Both Gertie and Jane are equally practical, cynical, stubborn, headstrong, impatient, obstinate and bitter. Jane is just like her maternal grandfather, George. Like maternal grandfather, like granddaughter. Same bad, practical attitude. Gertie reminds me a lot of Jane (Peter Pan in Return To Neverland), Wendy Darling's daughter. It's Jane's fault for losing her faith in things like Peter Pan, fairies and pixies just she was under pressure by the war. If Jane hadn't lost her faith in things like Peter Pan and fairies in the first place, then none of this would've happened. If Gertie hadn't lost her faith in God in the first place, then none of this would've happened.

    • profile image

      Like and love alternative 20 months ago

      If I were Izzie, I'd hold grudges against Gertie for expecting me to lost my faith in God too like she did.

    • profile image

      When it comes to portraying the Christians 20 months ago

      Man, I can't believe Izzie is raised by her one and only legal guardian who just lost her faith in God after her mother's death. Poor Izzie is now stuck with her stubborn sister, Gertie. Gertie was the one who chose to loose her faith in God in the first place anyway after her mother's death just because Gertie took her mother's death very badly and hard. Gertie is so pathetic. If Gertie hadn't lost her faith in God in the first place, then none of this would've happened.

    • profile image

      Izzie Nash is better and Gertie is the worst 20 months ago

      The reasons why Izzie Nash is better than Gertie Nash is because unlike Gertie Nash, Izzie Nash was strong enough to keep her faith in God even after her mother died of an incurable cancer. I don't like the way Gertie expects Izzie to lose her faith in God the way that hard headed Gertie Nash did anyway. Izzie Nash doesn't deserve to live under the shadow of Gertie Nash, does she? I especially don't like it when Gertie expects Izzie to lose her faith in God. Gertie was the one who started the sisterly drama tension spats between her and Izzie about the existence of God. No wonder Izzie ran out in the street. The creators of Raising Izzie could've told us where was Izzie going so far. To apartment? Her mother's grave?

    • profile image

      When it comes to portraying the Christians 20 months ago

      I don't like how stubborn Gertie can be.

    • profile image

      Dissimilarities and Similarities 21 months ago

      In Raising Izzie, any orphaned siblings or any other orphaned siblings are dissimilar and similar to Gertie and Izzie Nash?

    • profile image

      Similarities 21 months ago

      In Raising Izzie, any orphaned siblings or any other orphaned siblings are similar to Gertie and Izzie Nash so far?

    • profile image

      Dislike the negative portrayal out of character of Christians 21 months ago

      If we were the creators of Raising Izzie, I wouldn't make any nor any other Christians to lose their faith in God. If Gertie and Tonya hadn't lost their faith in God, then none of this would've happened. Tonya has to be careful what she wishes for if she did have children on her own who were bratty, unruly, stubborn, disrespectful, reckless, rebellious and defiant. It's Gertie's own fault for losing her own faith in God after her mother passed away from an incurable cancer.

    • profile image

      Dislike the negative portrayal out of character of Christians 21 months ago

      If I were the creators of Raising Izzie, I wouldn't make any nor any other Christians to lose their faith in God.

    • profile image

      Similarities 21 months ago

      Raising Izzie also remind us of Frozen alongside Lilo and Stitch because they're about orphaned sisters.

    • profile image

      Dislike the idea of negative portrayal of Christians out of character 21 months ago

      We don't like the idea of any and any other Christians losing their faith in God just because they don't get answers from God right away.

    • profile image

      Lilo and Stitch 21 months ago

      Raising Izzie reminds us of Lilo and Stitch. Izzie and Lilo both said. "We're sisters."