ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

A Review of "Sweet Desire" the great debut album by Finnish heavy rock band Lullacry with Vocalist Tanya Kemppainen

Updated on July 7, 2017

A Band Photo of Lullacry

Although this is not the original band lineup, the lineup here is as follows: From left to right: Sami Vauhkonen, Sauli Kivilahti, Tanja Lainio, Jukka Outinen, and Heavy (Jarkko Hiltunen).
Although this is not the original band lineup, the lineup here is as follows: From left to right: Sami Vauhkonen, Sauli Kivilahti, Tanja Lainio, Jukka Outinen, and Heavy (Jarkko Hiltunen).

Track Listing for Sweet Desire

  1. For Evermore
  2. Alone
  3. All for Nothing
  4. Sweet Desire
  5. My Dear Skinwalker
  6. Downwards
  7. Whisper in the Chaos
  8. I Will Make My Paradise
  9. The Chant
  10. Feardance
  11. The Autumn

Sweet Desire: songs 1-5

Finnish rock band Lullacry that was one of Finland’s best bands until they disbanded in 2014 started off their career in excellent fashion. Their debut album Sweet Desire is an example of such a great start. The lineup is pretty much what it was for most of the band’s career except for who does the vocals. Doing the vocals for the album is Tanya Kemppainen (also known in the heavy metal community by her stage name of Whisper Lillith). However, the album is out of print. The opening song For Evermore is about someone that went looking for GOD in order to put an end to the chaotic life that she is facing. We all need to have faith and hope that we can overcome whatever adversity may come our way. The next song called Alone features some pretty good bass work by Heavy (also known as Jarkko Hiltunen) and the power of Tanya’s voice as she shouts the word alone. The song All for Nothing has some beautiful guitar work in the three minute mark. It is about someone who was looking for love but that the relationship turned out to be one that was very destructive. Most of us have probably experienced a relationship that was like that. The title track Sweet Desire is one of the most upbeat songs in the album. It was later done again in 2003 when the band released the single for the song Alright Tonight. Vocalist Tanja Lainio would do her version of the song and that one is very good! The single for Alright Tonight has just that song and Sweet Desire. Well the Tanya that sings on this album should be given credit too. Her voice has power and I think she sings without straining herself. Those are two qualities that make a very good vocalist. My dear Skinwalker is about a relationship that was very strong. Both partners but especially the woman felt like they were bonding emotionally and spiritually. However, as the relationship has run its course, she feels that he has nothing left to provide for her. So she wants to end the relationship with him.

Sweet Desire: songs 6-10

As we get into the second half of the album, Whisper in the Chaos is one of the strongest songs in the band’s career. The song also has a part where Tanya is whispering. 1999 was an interesting year for heavy metal because there were some really good albums that were released that year. The genre of gothic metal got a really good boost with the release of Lacuna Coil’s excellent debut album In a Reverie. Swedish death metal band Arch Enemy released their very good album called Burning Bridges. And Greek black metal legends Rotting Christ released their album Sleep of the Angels. The song called “The Chant” features some distorted kind of vocals by Tanya which is something different than what the band usually does. Feardance is another excellent song. It has very melodic vocals by Tanya. The song is about someone that is worried about losing the one that they love.

What are the strongest songs on the album Sweet Desire?

Sweet Desire is definitely one of the best albums in the genre of gothic rock. Make sure that you listen to this album! The best songs in the album are Alone, All for Nothing, Sweet Desire, Whisper in the Chaos, I Will Make My Paradise, and Feardance. The other songs that I did not mention are good as well. Lullacry has been consistent in their career. Sweet Desire gets a 95 out of 100 points from this writer for its powerful vocals and terrific songwriting. Lullacry would go on to record the album Be My God in 2001. Tanya would leave the band in 2002 due to musical differences with the rest of the group. But I will always enjoy and appreciate the power of her voice! Great job and congratulations to Lullacry for an outstanding career!

The song called My Dear Skinwalker

The song called Alone

The great song called Feardance


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.