ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

A Review of the album called 10 MY ME by Morning Musume

Updated on August 7, 2017
CELEBSFAN78 profile image

Ara is currently an Accounting student at Glendale Community College in Glendale. CA. He enjoys writing about a variety of topics.

An image of the CD 10 MY ME

The album 10 MY ME is one of the strongest points in the group's career.
The album 10 MY ME is one of the strongest points in the group's career.

Some background information about 10 MY ME

The studio album called 10 MY ME is the 10th album by Japanese pop music group Morning Musume (now Morning Musume 16). When I heard their amazing 41st single called Kimagure Princess, I knew I had to buy the album. The album was released on March 17, 2010. It has two members who are not Japanese. LinLin and JunJun are from China. They are the only non-Japanese members in the history of Morning Musume. At this point in their career Morning Musume had eight generations of members. Miki Fujimoto was one of the 6th generation members that was out of the band at this time. The album’s strongest songs are in bold.

  1. Moonlight Night
  2. Kimagure Princess (note: the song is one of the singles from this album)
  3. Genki Pikappika!
  4. Namidacchi
  5. Onna ga Medatte Naze Ikenai (single #2)
  6. Okii Hitomi
  7. Ano Hi Ni Modoritai
  8. Nanchatte Ren ‘ai (single #3)
  9. Osaka Umainen
  10. Loving You Forever
  11. Shoganai Yume Oibito (single #4)
  12. Ame no Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou? (Chinese version)

Which Morning Musume members sing on the album?

Although seventh generation member Koharu Kusumi is not credited, she makes an appearance on the album. Other members singing on the album are Ai Takahashi, Risa Niigaki, Aika Mitsui, Reina Tanaka, Sayumi Michishige, and the very beautiful Eri Kamei. Michishige would assume role of band leader following the graduation of Niigaki in May 2012. Mitsui would also graduate from Morning Musume at this time due to injuries she sustained.

A photo showing Risa Niigaki at 13 years old in 2001 versus Risa Niigaki at 21 years old


A Brief Review of the album 10 MY ME

The album is a mixture of dance pop with some electronic elements mixed in. After the energetic opener Moonlight Night, the amazing song Kimagure Princess can dazzle and awe the listener. It is one of the first highlights of the album. Okii Hitomi (Wide Eyes) is another excellent song that has been one of my favorites. As an interesting side note, Hitomi Yoshizawa’s first name means eyes. Nanchatte Ren ‘ai (fake love) has some vocals that would make you think it is a rap style song. However, it switches to pop music style quickly. Loving You Forever is a decent song and there’s not much to say about this one. The last song in the album called Ame no Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou is a song that sung entirely in Chinese. I think that this adds an interesting dimension to the album. 10 MY ME is one of Morning Musume’s strongest albums. Every single song is good! Even though Morning Musume was more popular earlier in their career, this 2010 album is definitely worth it! If Purple Wind is the best song on the album Rainbow 7, I would say that the best song on 10 MY ME would be either Kimagure Princess (known as Fickle Princess in English) or Okii Hitomi.

The song called Wide Eyes

What happened to the group since this album was released?

Since the release of the album, Morning Musume has changed their name four times now. This is because we are in 2017 and the group is now known as Morning Musume 17. Producer Tsunku decided to change the group’s name to correspond to the years that singles were released. So in 2014, the group would be known as Morning Musume 14. They would recruit four new members which would become part of the group’s 12th generation. This generation has current band leader Mizuki Fukumura, 20, of Tokyo, sub-leader Erina Ikuta, Riho Sayashi, and Kanon Suzuki. I highly recommend the album 10 MY ME for fans of Morning Musume. Note: we are now in 2017 and Riho Sayashi has graduated from this group. The group is now in its 13th generation.

The song called Moonlight Night

© 2016 Ara Vahanian


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.