ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Angela's Ashes Film Review

Updated on September 7, 2019
Actor
Character
Emily Watson
Angela McCourt
Robert Carlyle
Malachy McCourt
Joe Breen
Young Frank
Claran Owens
Middle Frank
Michael Legge
Older Frank
Ronnie Masterson
Grandma Sheehan

About the film

Producers: David Brown, Scott Rudin

Director: Alan Parker

Running time: 2 hrs 25 minutes

Genre: Drama

Budget: $25,000,000

Distributed by: Paramount Pictures


About the film

The film is based on the book of the same name written by Frank McCourt. This is a biographical film based on his own childhood with his parents and brothers. Born in the USA, they lived in New York before moving to Limerick in Ireland. The story tells of the utter devastation and deprivation they endured as a family and how they coped with this. It focuses on their fight for survival and struggling with every day life. Narrated by Frank McCourt, he brings to life Frank's life on the streets of Ireland.

It was after the sudden death of their 7 week old daughter that the impoverished family decided to move to Ireland. With no money and nowhere to live, Angela's mother gives them the money for 2 weeks rent. As Angela struggles to put food on the table for her growing family, their father is happy to spend what little money they do have in the pub. The film tells the story of their sheer desperation the family had simply to get by. There is narration throughout the film where the narrator talks about life in New York and Limerick, through the eyes of Frank. The film tells the story of Frank, his parents and his younger brothers, but Frank is the prominent person in the book and how he coped with life. Life in a Catholic Church was equally as hard with the strict rules and teachers, but Frank grew to love reading and writing - in particular, Shakespeare. This proved to serve him well at school. The film spans his childhood from the age of 7 until he grew up and left Ireland for the USA.

Witnessing his communion and his life in a Catholic school brings home what a tough upbringing he, and the other boys, endured in their early years. Residing in a flooded house where they had to live upstairs, the utter despair these young boys went through is heartbreaking to watch. Saying that, there are some touching and heart-warming moments. For instance, the times Frank enjoys going for walks with his father, when he's sober. His father enjoys telling him stories of his youth and his life. Frank enjoys this and savours these moments. The family suffer more heartache as the squalid conditions they are living in result in the death of Angela and Franks young twin sons. At nearly 2.5 hours long, the film is one of love, hate, a fight for survival and how they overcame this.

When I look back on my childhood, I wonder how my brothers and I managed to survive at all. It was, of course, a miserable childhood; the happy childhood is hardly worth your while. Worse than the ordinary miserable childhood is the miserable Irish childhood, and worse yet is the miserable Irish Catholic childhood.

— Frank McCourt

My Thoughts

The film is a touching and sad story about Frank's life, and that of his brothers. No doubt there were many thousands of people in the same situation as his. But through his book, ultimately made into a film, it has brought home the struggles both him and his siblings had. And, of course, his parents. Robert Carlyle who plays Malachy McCourt plays as excellent part. Squandering away what little money they had on drink, it shows in the film the hardship they went through. In Ireland, they had to live upstairs as the ground floor kept flooding with all the rain.

Yes, the film does make for difficult viewing. But as I mentioned above, there are heart warming moments in the film with Frank and his father. Sad as it is there are, however, one or two light-hearted moments in the film. For instance, when all the family are sleeping in bed, one of the children is woken up yelling and screaming. The next scene is all the family out in the street in the middle of the night beating at the mattress trying to get all the fleas out of it.

The film brings home what life was like in Limerick, Ireland. I've no doubt that Malachy loved his family dearly and wanted to do the best for them. But his addiction to drink ultimately had a devastating effect on the whole family. The 3 young actors who play Frank at the ages of 7, 11 and 15 play their roles well and told their story well. It couldn't of been easy for them playing this role, but on the screen they made it look real and believable.

DVD Extra's

  • Behind the scenes
  • Cast and crew interviews
  • Alan Parker Commentary
  • Frank McCourt Commentary
  • 2 Trailers

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • PAINTDRIPS profile image

      Denise McGill 

      2 years ago from Fresno CA

      I've never seen it and now I'm intrigued. I had the film score recommended to me by a friend and I purchased it. It is a haunting melody which tugs at the heartstrings, so I was wondering about the movie. I may buy the book. I love reading a book better than seeing the movie sometimes. Thanks for sharing.

      Blessings,

      Denise

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 years ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Tamara for the lovely comment. =)

    • Rhyme Vine Poetry profile image

      Tamara Yancosky 

      2 years ago from Uninhabited Regions

      I think I saw this movie quite a while back, and your post describes it perfectly! In fact, in reading your review, I can remember the film so much clearer. It was a somber atmosphere, rather dark, but not unlike the memories of many of our own childhoods. It was a sobering portrayal in which you have penned so well.

      Thank you, Louise!

      Hugs,

      Tamara

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      2 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      A compelling story and a fine review. Would be worth watching this film.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      2 years ago from USA

      Such a sad story. Your review was excellent and I liked how you pointed out that there were moments of comparative levity.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      2 years ago from Shelton

      the review does justice to the film coffee wonderfully done

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      2 years ago from UK

      This is a great review and, although I haven't read the book or watched the film, I feel like I now know a lot about it.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      2 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I understand how drinking addiction can affect a family. I had a cousin who had it. Luckily for the children, the extended family helped out and the childen are am sure wounded but have better families. I have read this book but have not seen the movie. I will try to see it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)