ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Atonement DVD Review

Updated on March 18, 2013

Atonement: The Movie & The Book

Misunderstanding Leads to Tragedy

This movie is a drama/tragedy directed by Joe Wright*. It is based on Ian McEwan’s critically acclaimed novel of the same name. It tells the tale of thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis, who misunderstands several exchanges between her sister, Cecilia and Robbie Turner, who is a servant’s son and also a family friend. Briony’s confusion causes her to misunderstand yet another situation she witnesses, and she ends up accusing Robbie of molesting her young cousin. Her accusation changes the lives of all of the main characters of the movie irrevocably.

*See more films by Joe Wright and books by Ian McEwan listed below the COMMENTS box.

Filmed by Seamus McGarvey

Stunning Cinematography

I liked the technical aspects of this film better than the story, which I actually found to be a bit thin and weak. However, the music, cinematography, locations and lovely actors were enough to keep me with it. If you enjoy the craft of film making you will enjoy this movie. As entertainment, I found it lacking. The camera work by Seamus McGarvey was incredibly impressive with many beautifully framed shots and very effective long takes of the beautiful and interesting locations. The first part of the movie was filmed entirely on location in a stunning English manor house and it's grounds. The opening scene is a very long tracking shot that carries us through the house, and it is gorgeous. Each scene was beautifully framed, with a very effective color palette that really set the mood for each act of the movie. There were several times during the movie when I froze the frame to study the picture and take in the detail. In fact, if you click on the Amazon link to the movie, you will find a gallery of stunning stills displayed at Amazon. The scenes of Dunkirk and WWII era England seem to be accurate and are quite gripping. A powerful long take on the beach at Dunkirk is a memorable and remarkable moment in this film.

A Remarkable Soundtrack

 The music by Dario Marianelli (Composer) and Jean-Yves Thibaudet (Performer) was arresting and very creatively done and really added to the story. I especially liked the use of a manual typewriter as an instrument in the opening scenes and several subsequent scenes.

Seamless Casting

Also, the casting was quite good. Pretty Keira Knightley and handsome James McAvoy are charming in their roles. The child, Saoirse Ronan, and young woman, Romola Garai, who play Briony, through most of the movie were lovely. They blended smoothly with each other and with Vanessa Redgrave who makes an appearance near the end of the film as mature Briony.

Using a Five Star rating system, I would give this movie Three Stars.

TRIVIA : Keira Knightley played Guinevere in King Arthur !

How would you rate Atonement?

Choose 1 Star/Bad - 5 Stars/Great or Haven't Seen It.

See results

Thanks! :)

I hope you will remember to rate this HUB (just above the COMMENTS section) and LIKE/TWEET it (just below the title).

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 5 years ago from Texas

    Yeah, it's a good zoning out movie. Lovely to look at but a bit arduous to follow! :D

  • Peggy W profile image

    Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

    I have not seen this movie nor read the book. From your analysis, while the filming is good, the story line is a bit thin and others agree. Think I will pass unless it is shown on television at some date in time and I just want to relax and have nothing better to do. Thanks for the review. Up and useful.

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 7 years ago from Texas

    I have since tried to read the book and found it deadly dull. I think the cinematography, sets, costumes, music and casting really made this movie for me!

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 8 years ago from Texas

    Thanks, JayB! I hope you enjoy it! :)

  • jayb23 profile image

    jayb23 8 years ago from India

    Suzanne, thanks for the review. Iam on my way downloading this movie. BTw you should consider getting royalties from the makers :-)

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Thanks for the comment, Cindy! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

    Yes, Elena, she certainly did stir up a peck of trouble, didn't she? ;)

  • cindyvine profile image

    Cindy Vine 9 years ago from Cape Town

    Great movie, enjoyed it!

  • Elena. profile image

    Elena. 9 years ago from Madrid

    Suzanne, I just watched the movie. Caught it on cable, whaddaya know. I don't want to spoil it for anyone else that comes around to read the review, but gosh, let me just say that Briony and her "misunderstanding" send me to bed in a huff. And that's all I'm going to say about the little B...riony. Laugh.

    I loved the story, full tilt drama, right up my alley!

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    My pleasure! I hope you enjoy it! :)

  • BkCreative profile image

    BkCreative 9 years ago from Brooklyn, New York City

    OK - I'm convinced, will try it.

    Thanks for the review!

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Yes, thanks for mentioning the Oscar. You know, it's funny, I watched the Special Features when I watched the DVD specifically because I wanted to hear more about the music, and it was not mentioned once. Then I started watching the film again with the director's commentary because I thought they would surely say something about it right at the start where the music is so transfixing. Not one word! I didn't rewatch the whole movie with director's commentary. He may have mentioned it eventually, but I thought it was pretty strange that the music got so little recognition from the director on the DVD.

  • profile image

    Iphigenia 9 years ago

    I liked this film - but I agree it was thin in parts, I think that the novel must have been particularly hard to adapt (I speak as an aspiring screenwriter so I always read the book, watch the film read the screenplay - drives all my mates mad !).

    Atonement questions the divide between fiction and reality - which is easier to portray in a book where the reader uses her mind's eye and own experiences to interpret what is unfolding in the story, than on the screen - where a scriptwriter, director, cameraman, lighting person and then finally the actors have each added some interpretation. this point is true for most adaptations to film (as opposed to an original screenplay).

    The soundtrack was superb and Dario Marianelli quite rightly won an Oscar for his composition.

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Thanks, Feline! :) I haven't read the book either, but I plan to. Reviews I have read by people who read the book and then saw the movie were all quite favorable.

  • profile image

    Feline Prophet 9 years ago

    I hadn't read the book so I really enjoyed the movie! Usually having read a book before seeing the film version always leaves me tilting in favour of the book!

  • Cris A profile image

    Cris A 9 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    Ooops sorry mi senorita, I got carried away! Go catch it already :D

  • Elena. profile image

    Elena. 9 years ago from Madrid

    Oh stop already, Cris, I said I'd catch it, don't rub it in!! Laugh! Good night every one and all!

  • Cris A profile image

    Cris A 9 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    I know what you mean Suzanne or probably! LOL the typewriter and its cadence that sounds like a heartbeat, the Kurosowa-esque vantage points and flashbacks! yes there so many things to like in this movie :D

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Thanks, Elena! I think you will like it. Rest easy! I NEVER reveal too much in a movie review! I hate it when reviewers tell you the whole story! :D

  • Elena. profile image

    Elena. 9 years ago from Madrid

    I was hesitant to read this hub in case it disclosed too much... could have rested easy, great review Suzanne, and now I think I NEED to catch this one. Was kinda waiting for it to pop on cable, lazy dudess that I am, but now you've given me reasons to move it! :-)

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Thank you!  Yeah, I liked it.  The story kind of grew on me, but I really enjoyed so many other aspects of the movie that the story was quite secondary! :)

  • Cris A profile image

    Cris A 9 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    I really like this movie specially the twist in the ending, Nice review. Thanks for sharing :D

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)