ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Attack of The Killer Donuts Film Review

Updated on July 26, 2017

Attack of the Killer Donuts poster

Film Information

Released: 2016

Genre: Horror, Comedy

Running Time: 1 hr 38 minutes

Director: Scott Wheeler

Producer: Rafael Diaz-Wagner


About the film

Attack of the Killer Donuts is one of them films that you would probably dream about, or I would! But in reality there really is a film about killer donuts. Who would have thought that someone would make a film about killer donuts? But, they have. The premise of the film is that Johnny and Michelle are working in Dandy Donuts. Their boss isn't the most pleasant person on this planet, thus making it not the best place to work in! One day Johnny's oddball Uncle Luther comes to the shop. After a short scuffle in the store, a green gooey substance escapes from Luther's pocket and lands in the fryer that makes the donuts.

After a short while we notice that the donuts in the machine start acting strangely and coming to life - this is when the killer donuts are born. What is so bizarre and ludicrously funny is that these donuts that have a hole in the centre have suddenly sprouted fangs and are on the rampage. One of the first victims of these killer donuts is a woman who had gone in the store and left with a box of donuts. As she innocently sits in her chair, the donuts spring to life snarling and kills the poor woman.

As a sub plot we also have Veronica, that is Johnny's girlfriend. She's not one of the most loyal girlfriends on the planet, and as you watch the film, we see how this two timing woman treats Johnny, with him and Michelle growing closer. What will happen with this love triangle? What will become of Veronica and the killer donuts?

Killer Donuts

Actor
Character
Kayla Compton
Michelle Kiester
Chris De Christopher
Cliff Burbank
Lauren Compton
Veronia
Michael Swan
Uncle Luther
Justin Ray
Johnny Wentworth
Ben Heyman
Howard

Uncle Luther

Acting & special effects.

It's ludicrous to think that someone actually came up with the thought of making a movie about killer donuts. But they did. And what passed as a thought actually made it onto the big screen. Now, I'm not knocking the making of the film. Quite frankly, I think it's rather good how they actually got a few dozen donuts to look like they alive and hopping around with fangs in their centres. All I can think of is that they must of have a laugh making this film - both the cast and crew. There's plenty of blood and gore throughout the film just to give a realistic effect. And with the donuts giving a sort of grunting, gargling sound as they leap around.

This is a low budget film. With that being said, they did their best with the special effects. I actually think it's not bad going how they made it look like the donuts are actually attacking people. You can see them leaping onto peoples bodies and faces. It's quite funny to watch as it goes. With the acting, it is very cheesy in parts. But that can be said for the whole film really. There are parts during the film where you can tell they're acting with the rigid dialogue, but I've no doubt all the actors did their utter best whilst shooting this.

Johnny, Michelle & Howard

Final thoughts

Would I recommend this film? Well, probably not. I watched it because I was bored at the time and to be honest, it did give me a laugh. The thought of donuts sprouting fangs, coming alive and killing people is hilarious. They were certainly brave to make this film and the whole storyline in itself is quite ridiculous. But there you have it. If you really can't believe that such a film has been made, then watch the trailer.

The actors who played Johnny, Michelle and Howard did do quite a good job at acting throughout the film in all honesty. But really, I wouldn't bother watching this, unless you want a few laughs.

Attack of the Killer Donuts Trailer.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robert Sacchi profile image

      Robert Sacchi 

      12 months ago

      They no doubt got the title from the 1978 movie, "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes".

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      13 months ago from Bangalore

      Louise,

      Great review of an avoidable movie. It is in fact a great idea to review the ridiculous movies too for the reviews turn up more interesting than the movies. It was fun reading this hub. Thanks. :-)

      - hari

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      15 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Well it's such a daft film lol. It's one of them films that's so stupid you can't help but watch it!

    • Kyriaki Chatzi profile image

      Kyriaki Chatzi 

      15 months ago

      Even though you don't recommend it, your review made me wanna watch it. Hahahaha! Let's explore this side of doughnuts, then.

    • wpcooper profile image

      Finn Liam Cooper 

      15 months ago from Los Angeles

      actually i came across the post to your story and then looked up the trailer. It looks like an amusing film and obviously a comedy - a parody of horror films - but actually looks like it was done rather well.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 

      15 months ago from Texas

      Louise, thanks for the review, reading it makes me feel like I already saw it. I think I would have a good laugh at a party serving donuts with green filling and have the movie playing in the background.

      Your review is great.

      Blessings my friend

    • Debangee Mandal profile image

      DEBANGEE MANDAL 

      17 months ago from India

      Thanks for sharing this wonderful review. Have a good day.

    • lifegate profile image

      William Kovacic 

      17 months ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

      I think I'll pass, Louise. thanks for the warning - lol.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      17 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      The title of the movie is strange, and it sounds like the movie itself is even stranger! Thanks for sharing the review. I don't think that I'll look for this movie, but I certainly enjoyed reading about it.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      17 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the review. I'll take your advice and skip it; there may be scenes I don't care to remember.

    • JohnPLyons profile image

      John Lyons 

      17 months ago from UK & USA

      Haha sounds great but quite "American"...wonder to see if we even get to see this in UK.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      17 months ago from USA

      I like that you took the time to give this a review. It would probably be perfect for a teen sleepover.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)