ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Avatar the Movie - My Review of the 2 Billion US Dollar Blockbuster

Updated on December 10, 2010

I’ve finally seen the movie myself and what did I think – it was jaw-droppingly amazing. Was it perfect – no it wasn’t, parts of the movie were a little blurred and the plot was a little predictable but these flaws did not detract from my enjoyment at all. I saw the movie in 3D and I can’t stress strongly enough the need to see this movie in 3D as it is the CGI (computer generated imagery) which puts this movie in a league all by itself. I was spellbound by the imagery and believe that a simplistic story line helped with this. I didn’t have to waste any grey matter thinking about complicated twists and turns in the plot and I could concentrate on the visionary experience.

Whilst the box office takings of “Avatar” may not have started that well by comparison to other blockbusters it is the continuing strength of the takings in the period immediately after release that has lead to its “Titanic”-surpassing success as “Avatar” has become the top grossing movie of all time and it has now broken the 2 billion US$ milestone and obtained nine Oscar nominations. 

This of course means that Cameron is in the enviable and possibly unassailable situation of being the Director of the two highest grossing films ever and as he has advised that he has a “a trilogy-scaled arc of story right now” it does seem possible that he might end up with positions one, two, three and four!.

The good thing is that the next two films should not be such a long time in the making as they won’t need to take the nine to ten months it takes to perfect the computer generated imagery and get the facial musculature working for each character as this has already been done for the two main characters “Jake” and “Neytiri” who are both signed up for any sequels. They’ve also already got the sets of “Pandora” in which the movies can be shot and they’ve also got the experience of working with the technology.

 

I deliberately avoided detailed reviews of the movie as I didn’t want to risk anything spoiling my enjoyment of the movie but I knew the basic story line from watching the previews. Although I’ve said the storyline was a little predictable and simplistic this doesn’t mean that there was no substance to it and there is a message to take from the movie if you want to see one. The message you will see will depend upon your own view of our world. It could be a simple good overcoming evil message; it could be the immorality of the attempted repression of an indigenous people or of the overriding march of a large corporation in search of profits for its shareholders at any cost and others may liken the destruction of Pandora to the rainforests.

I am planning on putting together my own detailed review of the storyline for those who can’t perhaps you might like to read the following hubs.

Will worldwide box office taking for "Avatar" break 3 billion US$?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      7 years ago

      Hi saddlerider

      Nice to meet you. In some ways when you know a little more about the story behind the making of the film and the ground breaking technology 2 billion US dollars seems quite cheap.

      Like you I'm looking forward to the sequel.

      Amber:)

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      7 years ago

      Hi katie

      Avatar is indeed a magical movie with a great message that will make money for years to come as the sequel(s) are rolled out.

      Amber:)

    • saddlerider1 profile image

      saddlerider1 

      7 years ago

      This was on brilliant movie, but best seen in 3D for sure. I think the affects were fantastic and colors were electric. I can how it cost 2 billion dollars to make. But can you imagine the billions it made at the box office. I am looking forward to the sequel. Great hub well done with lots of pics.

    • katiem2 profile image

      katiem2 

      7 years ago from I'm outta here

      Avatar is so magical and the story line is wonderful. I saw it in 3D and was in awe, set there wishing it wasn't over.

      It's no wonder Avatar the Movie made so much money, I can only imagine how much really went into it and if they are ever really on the mark of true expenses, can you imagine?

      Thanks for the grear review of the 2 Billion US Dollar Blockbuster. What an amazing movie going experience.

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      8 years ago

      Hi Maita

      Nice to hear from you.

      Amber

    • prettydarkhorse profile image

      prettydarkhorse 

      8 years ago from US

      CGI this is the first time I encountered this word, computer generated imagery, hmmm seem you said jaw dropping and amazing. I believe you, hehe, Maita

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      8 years ago

      Hi James

      Thank you for popping by and leaving such kind comments.

      Amber

    • James A Watkins profile image

      James A Watkins 

      8 years ago from Chicago

      I haven't seen the film but you have piqued my interest with your fine writing and brilliant photos. Thank you!

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      8 years ago

      Hi Bat115

      I agree it is a great movie. Thanks for reading my hub and your kind words. Sigourney Weaver said that people would want to see the film four times so you've still got one more time to go. The full quote is in my other hub on Avatar if you are interested.

      Amber

    • bat115 profile image

      Tim 

      8 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      Great review of a great movie! I have seen it twice in 3-d and 1 in 2-d.

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      8 years ago

      Hi Tipperary

      I really hope that you enjoy it. If you need any more convincing there is a trailer on video in my other Avatar hub that can be reached in the link at the bottom of the article.

      Amber

    • tipperary profile image

      tipperary 

      8 years ago

      Absolutely amazing photos, you have convinced me to go see it, great review.

      My young daughter calls it the film with the blue people!

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      8 years ago

      Hi TNflash

      With your programming background I think you will be blown away by just how far this movie has progressed the technology. Enjoy!

      Amber

    • TnFlash profile image

      TnFlash 

      8 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Excellent Hub! I have been wanting to see this movie since it came out. I am a computer programmer and I'm looking forward to visual effects.

    • Amber Allen profile imageAUTHOR

      Amber Allen 

      8 years ago

      Hi Jill

      Thanks for dropping by and reading my hub.

      Amber

    • jill of alltrades profile image

      jill of alltrades 

      8 years ago from Philippines

      I really enjoyed this movie. You are right, there is no other way to watch it but in 3D.

      Great review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)