ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Bengie's Drive-In And The Review I Didn't Want To Write

Updated on July 19, 2019
Guckenberger profile image

Alex has taught at two public schools, been accepted into two honorary societies, and traveled the Americas and Europe. He has his A.A.

'The Lion King'

First thing's first; I had been planning for some time to see the new 'Lion King' film. I've been very excited to watch this movie, even if it doesn't live up to the original. I certainly cannot say whether it does or does not, because I have dad some issues whilst I tried to catch a viewing of the production. I still do plan to see this movei, and I should give a review of that as well after I do.

What Is 'Bengie's Drive-In' Movie Theater?

'Bengie's Drive-In' is one of those drive and park theaters which have become increasingly rare. The closest one to me during my childhood sold out. Thus, the 'Bengie's' theater is the closest of the drive-in entertainment in my area. For a very long time, I have been aware of the negative reviews of the nearest drive-in theaters. Anyway, I had decided to risk it nevertheless, because the new 'Lion King' movie made me feel a certain way inside. Watching it in a drive-in would have brought together so many aspects of my childhood together into one place. However, perhaps it was not to be.

This is what a drive-in movie theater can look like.

Source

The Crime Of Losing A Girlfirend

I've been single for a little while now. And, having gone through my last year of college and first year of university - this seems only normal. Apparently, this can be a problem for some people though. The drive to the movie theater was approximately 35 minutes (almost exactly, in fact). I was in line in my car about five minutes prior to the start of the film (this becomes an important detail). I saw a woman slowly walking past the vehicles in the line. I thought that this must be procedure to ensure that no one was bringing in their own food. I presumed that I may have to explain that my bag was a trash bag, and that she could take it if she wanted to. That's not what she was there for. The employee of the establishment asked me if I was aware of their 'single's policy'. Wait, what? Huh? But, I said nothing. She continued to inform me that on Fridays and Saturdays there was a minimum of two people per vehicle. I promptly asked, 'Oh, well; how do I get out?' The woman winced and then gave me directions. I left, driving slowly and carefully.

My Review On The Establishment

Before I got in my car earlier, I was hoping that my review tonight would be filled to the brim with praise for 'The Lion King' and for 'Bengie's Drive-In'. If the reader refers to some of my other reviews, said reader will discover that I have given exhilarating reviews of even those items which are commonly hated. I want the reader to be aware of my heavy optimism. I was hoping that my review tonight would be filled to the brim with praise for 'The Lion King' and for 'Bengie's Drive-In'. This will unfortunately not be the case. I will be as respectful, good, and honest as I can be. I hold no hatred for the owners. I simply wish to make this clear now. That is, I only disagree. Nothing more, nor less.Regardless, that isn't to state that I am happy - because, right now I am not entirely thrilled with the experience of this particular theater. And, perhaps that too will one day change.

This screenshot of the 'single's policy' comes from the 'Bengie's Drive-In' website.

Source

What The Policy Actually Says

After I arrived back home, I referred to the 'Bengie's' website. I looked through their policies (and, have provided a screenshot for the more detailed reader). They do indeed have a 'single's policy' for whatever reason. But, I was not actually in breach of this policy. The website states that there exists an exception; I one does 'arrive on the roadway within 15 minutes of the published box office opening time' - https://www.bengies.com/be-ready-to-attend/#house-rules. I, however, arrived within five minutes (far less than the maximum of 15). I came in at 10:25 PM, and the film was scheduled for 10:30 PM.

Discriminatory Laws And Policies In the United States Today

The problem with a 'single's policy' is that it is discriminatory. I have not been single for long, but such an event should not exclude me from the services of a business. What if I had been refused for being Asian? I had originally planned to take one of two friends. One of these friends is a woman and one a man; but, both have claimed to be homosexual. What if the woman who approached me earlier had done the same when I brought one of these friends? What if she had went on to tell me about a hypothetical 'no homosexuals policy'? Discrimination is discrimination. A vehicle limitation policy would be one thing, but that is not how it is written out. Moreover, what makes my money any less valuable because I am a good priest who doesn't chase every woman in sight?

An Overall Sadness

I was overwhelmed with sadness on the way home. I had expected that something, like what had occurred, was more than possible. Still, I had desired that all would go well. The idea seemed all too perfect. And, all this visited business had to do was to take my money. I'd have been willing to have paid double the amount, if money was indeed their concern. I would also have easily paid more for better overall service. I can't give this place any credit, for I wan't even allowed in for a single moment. I want to write something good, but the business has unfortunately given me practically nothing (if not nothing at all). At best, I can say that the employee who approached me didn't yell at me. At the same time, that should always be the case in customer service. The absence of bad service doesn't make good service the default alternative. If they ever reach out to me with kind words, then perhaps I will have something positive to include herein. As it stands; I have nothing to give them.

Customer Service

I feel as though I have the right to criticize bad customer service, because I work in customer service. Many of my jobs have been in this department. My volunteer work is often also in this field. Therefore, my personal expectations for myself are not less than for those for the 'Bengie's' theater. I hope that I haven't been too harsh, and that I have given fair warning.

Questions For Drive-In Theaters

Considering all of this, we must expect that calling in advance may be necessary. Especially since most of these theaters are generally some distance from ourselves. What should we ask the business after we ring them? Here are some suggestions;

  • Are single-person vehicles accepted?
  • Are there any rules I should be aware of?
  • Are all people accepted, or are there exceptions for admissions?
  • Are there any untimely closings?
  • Do you accept cards or just cash?
  • Are all vehicles allowed to enter?

Final Thoughts On Businesses

Businesses are made by demand. Demand for a product, for a service, ect. Businesses with a high-demand rare product can sometimes get away with bad service. I have no intention of permitting my own influence of this. I can't and will not tell anyone what they should do. But, I will not give my time and money to any people who do not welcome my business with them. I hope that my readers have better fortunes than me in the area of movie theaters.

© 2019 Alexander James Guckenberger

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      3 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      I hope that it does! :D

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      3 weeks ago

      I wonder if it lives up to the hype.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      3 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      I'll definitely have to read your review, because I haven't seen that one. :)

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      Yes! Gone Baby Gone is next!

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      That's awesome. :D

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      Just watched it! Have my review up now!

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      Enjoy. It's one of my favorite films. :)

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      I bet it does! Gotta watch it and be sure!

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      That movie is awesome. It totally does!

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      Makes sense. Gonna be reviewing the matrix next. See if it still holds up.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael,

      I hopefully will after I see it first.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      I have a review up if you want to check it out.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      I hopefully will soon. :)

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      And you went to see the new Lion King, right? Or at least tried to?

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Kuan Leong Yong,

      Technically I suppose they'd be correct. I'm not a cyberman though. And, the wording of the conditions didn't seem normal for me either.

      My Mom said the same thing about making it more obvious, outside of the fine print. Where I work, we help customers regardless of profitability.

      Sorry if this one came off as negative. It wasn't supposed to be. Tonight was intended to be a special night, ended with a sweet review. I hope things aren't dampened.

    • Guckenberger profile imageAUTHOR

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      4 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Michael Truluck,

      Thank you. I would have been less surprised had they simply said that they didn't have enough room for single-person cars. That's not what they said though, and I suspect that there was room enough due to the absence of vehicles in the line overall.

    • CYong74 profile image

      Kuan Leong Yong 

      4 weeks ago from Singapore

      Some netizens would probably highlight it's your own fault for not reading the fine print. To say I'll say, who on earth would be on the lookout for such conditions, when being single is neither a handicap nor a crime?

      If businesses need minimum entry for financial survival, the onus should also be on them to at least make this immediately obvious. If not, then it's simple ethics to honor what's already sold. Way too many businesses also expect every day to be a smooth ride. They don't accept that when you open your doors, not every customer would be a profitable mine. Often, you have to take in the bad as well.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      Wow! That is pretty messed up. Just because you were alone? That must have been a pain to get there only to be told you have to have at least one other person with you. That is such nonsense. Money is money.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)