ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Brave- A Movie Review

Updated on June 19, 2013
Source

Over the weekend I took my little cousins to see the new Disney Pixar movie Brave. I am a fan of all things Disney so I was excited to see the wild haired, red head with her bow and arrow flaunting the traditionalist views of her mother. Despite my little cousin causing constant disturbances throughout the movie, we had a great time!!

The Plot

The movie Brave begins when Merida, a fiery young redhead, receives a bow and arrow from her father King Fergus for her birthday. Her mother Queen Elinor disapproves, but Merida begins target practice immediately. The family moment is interrupted when a monstrous bear dubbed Mor'du attacks the camp. King Fergus saves his family but loses his leg in the process. The story line fast forwards ten years or so and the family now live in a castle where King Fergus rules the clan. Merida is still shooting her bow, but Queen Elinor is attempting to turn her into the princess she should be.

When it is time for the three other clans to bring possible suitors to compete over Merida, she becomes furious and rides off into the forest. She stumbles upon an ancient shrine where she sees little blue lights called wisps. The wisps lead her to a witch. Merida begs the witch to give her a spell to change her fortunes. Merida returns home with a little cake that she feeds her mother.

Her mother begins to feel ill and proceeds to turn into a bear. Bears are the clans worst enemy so she is immediately in danger. Merida sneaks her out of the castle into the woods. The witch is gone but she's left a message for Merida stating that mending the broken bond will reverse the spell which of course will remain permanent after two days.

The next day Merida and the bear version of Queen Elinor bond in the forest as Merida teaches her mother how to hunt. That night Merida tries to sneak her mother back into the castle to retrieve a tapestry that Merida in her fury the day before had slashed in half. She thinks that mending the tapestry would break the spell. She finds that the clans in their anger over refusing to choose a husband have broken out into an all out brawl in the banquet hall. With the approval of her mother, Merida gives a compelling speech about the need to break from old traditions and make new ones. Then, Queen Elinor is spotted and King Fergus along with the other clans chase her into the forest where she is captured.

Right before they cut off her head, Merida appears with the mended tapestry and tries to convince everyone the bear is Queen Elinor. At that moment, Mor'du arrives on the scene. Queen Elinor and Mor'du fight as she attempts to save her family. Right after Mor'du dies, the sun begins to rise on day two. There is just enough pause to make it suspenseful and Queen Elinor turns back into a human.

My Thoughts

Brave is your typical, run of the mill, predictable Disney movie. Nevertheless, I think you can never have enough strong female characters teaching children that you don't have to be what everyone else is telling you to be. I enjoyed it, and I know my little cousins enjoyed it even more. The Scottish, folk music was fun, and the animation lived up to Pixar's past works. Brave is a fun family film that can be enjoyed by all ages.

Brave Movie Trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Boston legal video 

      5 years ago

      I've seen so many previews for this movie, I am starting to get tired of it. I like Pixar movies, but is this hype really justified?

    • brenda12lynette profile imageAUTHOR

      brenda12lynette 

      6 years ago from Utah

      billybuc, no problem!!

      unknown spy, I hope you enjoy it!!

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      I have to see this movie.. thanks for the review!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      6 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I've been waffling on this film for some time now; still not sure if I want to see it or not. Thanks for the review and opinion.

    • davidlaw2 profile image

      davidlaw2 

      6 years ago

      I have sean the ads on TV. I am 66 years old. This move is deffently for young ones like me.

    • brenda12lynette profile imageAUTHOR

      brenda12lynette 

      6 years ago from Utah

      The bear was pretty scary looking. It might be best to leave the little ones at home. Thanks for stopping by Jade0215!

    • profile image

      Jade0215 

      6 years ago

      I haven't seen it but I have heard it was a good movie, just not exactly for the younger children. Thanks for sharing your experience!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)