ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Bugsy Malone Film Review

Updated on January 14, 2018
Source

About the film

Set in New York in the 1920's and 30's, this film is unique in the fact that the cast are all children, generally around the age of 12 years old. It is very loosely based on the prohibition era when booze was banned and you had the gangs. The film begins with Roxy Robinson being chased through the streets of New York by a rival gang. When asked if he works for Fat Sam, they shoot him with their all new splurge guns.

Fat Sam runs Fat Sam's Speakeasy and he is worried that his rival, Dandy Dan, is trying to take control of his speakeasy. When Sam is in meeting with his gang, Blousey Brown knocks on the door asking to see Sam. She wants to become a dancer in the club and asks for an audition. But he doesn't have the time and shoo's her away. This is when she meets Bugsy Malone, and as she drops her suitcase, he helps her picks her things up and becomes smitten with her. It is during one of Fat Sams shows, aptly named Fat Sam's Grand Slam, that Dandy Dan's gang raid the club and start firing their splurge guns at everyone. After a number of attacks on Sams gang, he tries to locate where the guns are and finds they are hidden in a laundrette. So, throughout the film we see these 2 rival gangs at war and these kids trying to display their manhood by way of shooting cream at each other out of a gun and take control.

As a sideline, we also have the romance between Bugsy and Blousey. Tallulah, played by Jodie Foster, is the main act and singer on the stage, and is also an old flame of Bugsys. It is when Blousey walks in the room that Tallulah plants a kiss on Bugsys cheek, causing tension between Bugsy and Blousey. Tallulah is a bold, brassy young lady and don't take no mess from no-one, even Fat Sam. It is quite comical seeing these young kids acting so adult like in a crime ridden time with gangsters and splurge guns that fire cream.

Throughout the film we see how these 2 gangs compete for power and how they fight it out. Dandy Dan, although a gangster, is very different to Fat Sam as he rides his horses, plays polo and listens to a live orchestra as he is having his hair trimmed. But both gangsters and their men are dangerous and in a war for power. With this being a musical, there is also plenty of music and songs throughout the film, which I personally enjoy.

Songs in the film

  • Bugsy Malone
  • Fat Sam's Grand Slam
  • Tomorrow
  • Bad Guys
  • I'm Feeling Fine
  • My Name is Tallulah
  • So You Wanna Be Boxer
  • Ordinary Fool
  • Down and Out
  • You Give a Little Love

Source

My Thoughts

I've seen this film many times over the years, and still enjoy watching it. Although I have it on DVD, I still watch it when it comes on the telly. Though it's generally on TV over the Christmas period. Although this film is made up entirely of children, I think they do a very good job of playing adult roles. Clearly Jodie Foster plays her part of Tallulah well, and comes across on screen as a confident young lady.

The storyline itself was very good. Though there's a lot of clichéd moments when it comes to the sterotypical roles of gangsters, ie, the lifestyles of the gangsters, the cars they drove and the pretty girlfriends etc, I still think it's an excellently made film. I particularly love the cars they drive. The cars are delightful and are typical for the era. The only difference with these cars are that they are peddled. It's wonderful to see these kids peddling them along. And of course there's the splurge guns which fire out cream. There are some funny scenes in the film with these guns!

Source

The cast of Bugsy Malone

Actor
Character
Jodie Foster
Tallulah
Scott Baio
Bugsy
John Cassisi
Fat Sam
Florrie Dugger
Blousey
Sheridan Russell
Knuckles
Martin Lev
Dandy Dan
Source

The Special Features on the DVD

  • Director's commentary by Alan Parker - promotional trailers.
  • Character biographies - Photo gallery
  • Art gallery - 'From sketch to screen' feature
  • Trivia notes - Exclusive 12 page booklet written by Alan Parker.

Just to note that the DVD I got is a special edition. Although I've had the DVD for some years now, it still plays well, which I'm glad of as I still enjoy watching the film!

Bugsy Malone Trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Tim Truzy info4u profile image

      Tim Truzy 

      5 months ago from U.S.A.

      Superb review, Louise. I recall this movie with fond memories. Foster was fabulous and the rest of the cast was stellar. Thanks for a wonderful article that took me back to my childhood and I'll be watching it again.

      Sincerely,

      Tim

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thanks Frank. This is one of my favourite films. =)

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      6 months ago from Shelton

      wow, what memories this film stirred in me just now.. I loved that film, Foster was fantastic... the acting was so good for a bunch of youngsters.. thanks for sharing your review

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      9 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes, I love Jodie Foster singing My Name is Tallulah. Great song that is.

    • Charito1962 profile image

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 

      9 months ago from Manila, Philippines

      I enjoyed this film a lot when I first watched it in the ‘70s!

      It was just amusing to watch a gangster movie with kids in the cast.

      I loved the young Scott Baio as Bugsy! And Jodie Foster’s “My Name is Tallulah” scene was most memorable to me.

      I have downloaded this movie and included it in my home video library.

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      9 months ago from UK

      I remember the first time I watched this, I loved it! Excellent review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      9 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh I'm not sure of any other film where the entire cast are children, but I'm sure there must be, I don't honestly know. Yes, I love Bugsy Malone, it's a classic.

    • DREAM ON profile image

      DREAM ON 

      9 months ago

      Another great review. I told my wife and both of us are looking forward to seeing it. I love the creativity. Are there any other movies where the kids act like adults ? Was this the first movie to do this? Have a pleasant night.

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      9 months ago from Tennessee

      I've heard of this movie but never seen it and had no idea all the characters were played by children. I'd especially like to see Jodie Foster in this role. Thanks for the review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      9 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes I agree, with children playing the part, it does have to be cliched. Thankyou for reading. =)

    • Lauren Flauding profile image

      Lauren Flauding 

      9 months ago from Sahuarita, AZ

      I agree about the cliches of the stereotypes of gangsters, but when they’re played by children, they kind of have to be! Love this movie. Your review makes me want to watch it again.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      10 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the review. At least, when I hear the name of the movie, I'll have some information about its content. Would also like to watch this one.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      10 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Ooh really? I used to love watching Diagnosis Murder. I love Scott Baio. I bet that was an interesting job.

    • Dean Traylor profile image

      Dean Traylor 

      10 months ago from Southern California

      I remember seeing this film when I was a kid. Hard for to grasp that the two leads are now over 50. Here's something interesting, back in 1994, I worked on the set of Diagnosis Murder with Scott Baio.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      10 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I'm very glad that I read this article. I've heard of the Bugsy Malone film but didn't know that the characters were children. I'm looking forward to seeing the film now that I've read your review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      10 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh it's a classic. Yes, it's amazing seeing Jodie Foster especially such a young girl in it, considering the amazing career she has now.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      10 months ago from Ohio

      I had no idea this was made with children. Now I'll have to see it. Thanks for the head's up!

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      10 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh I love it. Yes, watch it. I think you'll enjoy it. =)

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      10 months ago from The Beautiful South

      Have heard about this plenty too in the past, but no personal knowledge. Thanks for the info.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      10 months ago from USA

      I’ve never seen this but have heard of it. I sure didn’t know the entire cast was kids. Thanks for reviewing it.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      10 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Skyron. Blessings to you too.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 

      10 months ago from Texas

      I am going to have to see this, it sounds great.

      Blessings my friend

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)