ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Carl the Critic: Reviews "A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas" [Caution: Contains Brief Graphic Imagry]

Updated on November 28, 2011

"A Very Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas"

"A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas" trailer (in HD)

"A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas"

Experience/Expectations: Hey everyone, it's been a while, I just got back from being a Headless Horseman in a successful play production of "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow", but am here just in time for Christmas! And what better way to kick off this Christmas season than with a Christmas movie? Specifically a Christmas movie that's in 3D? Even More Specifically a Christmas movie that's in 3D that has Neil Patrick Harris, Kal Penn, John Cho, and had a lot of jokes about getting high?... Actually there are many better ways, but for now let's look at "A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas".

Story: 2 years after their trip to Amsterdam getting stoned off their ass, Harold and Kumar have been estranged from each other living out their normal lives. Harold is finally married to that Maria chick, and life couldn't be any better... UNTIL Kumar arrives at Harold's doorstep with a mysterious package in his hand and, considering that this is a stoner film, I'll give you three guess what could be in the package... I'll give you a hint it causes Kumar to accidentally burn down Danny Trejo's Prize Christmas tree, causing Harold and Kumar to got out in search of a new in New York City... Did you figure out what it was yet?... No?... Well that's okay, let's get to the critique!

Critique: First off there was some good stuff about the movie that I want to get out of the way. Things like the use of 3D, lots of funny gags, and overall good acting. This could be one of my all time favorite Christmas movies (had it not been for the constant drug use, violence, and nudity). The thing is though, this movie seems to be a "fans only" film, any who is familiar with the first two movies will certainly find this enjoyable.
That being said let's talk about some things that people might not like:

  • There is a baby who constantly gets high through out the film.
  • There's some Christian jokes that some will find offensive (such as lesbian Nuns, some priest chasing a little boy, etc.)
  • There's a scene where Harold's penis is frozen to a pole (and there are some graphic shots of the (obviously fake but still disturbing) penis frozen to the pole.

... That's actually all I can think of as far as what I thought people might take offense, but I didn't mind those things. But how good is it when compared to the previous movies? Is it better than the first or worse than the second? Neither, but I felt that it is in the middle, not as good as the first but better than the second. There are other little nit pick things I can say about the film, but everything I can think of can be responded back with "Well what else did you expect from a 'Harold and Kumar' movie?"
Neil Patrick Harris is back in this movie, but unlike his previous cameos this one feels brief. He's only on screen for like 15-20 minutes, and it's only for one scene (sort of a disappointment).
Speaking of disappointments, the "twist" ending was one of them. Without wishing to spoil, it felt like the writers were pressured to wrap everything up as much as possible, and so they did it in a way that was too obvious.
Having said all this, I actually liked "A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas" it was exactly what I was expecting based on the knowledge of the previous films. It made jokes not only about the characters in the franchise, but also with some of the actor's personal lives (like how Kal Pen works at the White House, Neil Patrick Harris's homosexuality, etc.) As I said before, the 3D is great and it's now one of my all time favorite Christmas movies.

Overall: I know I complained a lot about this movie but all I can say is that if you plan to watch "A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas" you know what you are expecting, and you will enjoy it for what ever it is despite the flaws. So I give it a 8.2 out of 10.

What about you?

If you saw "A Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas", what did you think?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image
      Author

      Carl 6 years ago

      Thanks THEHuG5, and yes the 3D of most movies now a days is a waste of money (that was why this movie used it, to parody that it's a gimmick that films use to make extra money) but this movie parodies it so much that it actually makes good use of it (if that made sense). Thanks for stopping, commenting, and voting :)

    • THEHuG5 profile image

      THEHuG5 6 years ago

      I'm glad I read this review. Although I'm not a fan of the Harold and Kumar movies I did see bits and pieces of the last one. I'm not a prude or anything but even I find movies like this too crass to watch. I've heard that this one has gotten good reviews though so I might check it out.I'm glad to hear that the 3D was actually used well in this film since it seems like most films these days don't utilize it very well and it ends up being a waste of extra money. Nice hub, voting up.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image
      Author

      Carl 6 years ago

      No problem Tammy. I actually did like this movie, but I know understand why some people get offended about certain things. The first one is still the best, but this film is okay (some of the best 3D I've seen in a movie this year.)Thanks for your comment :)

    • profile image

      Tammy 6 years ago

      Well I have not seen the 2nd one and I am not sure I will see this one. Thanks for the heads up on some of the disturbing parts in the movie.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image
      Author

      Carl 6 years ago

      Thank you very much Cogerson. Yeah a lot of people were very disappointed with the second movie, but I feel like this one makes up for it.

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 6 years ago from Virginia

      Wow a 8.2 that sounds kind of high...but looking at rotten tomatoes...it is scoring at 74%....so I must conclude this movie is better that what I thought it was going to be...I liked the first one and watched it a few times....I was disappointed in my only viewing of the second movie...but I will be checking out this movie based on your review...very well done...voted up and useful. And finally I have linked your hub to my Top Films of 2011 hub...hopefully it will get some traffic to you and your excellent hub.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image
      Author

      Carl 6 years ago

      I think you would like, but just to be safe watch the first two films first so you can understand the events that lead up to this point. Thanks for the comment FatFreddysCat :)

    • FatFreddysCat profile image

      Keith Abt 6 years ago from The Garden State

      I've never seen either of the previous "H&K" films but the trailers for this one crack me up (even the stuff about the baby getting high... I must have a particularly sick sense of humor) so I'm interested in checking this one out!

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image
      Author

      Carl 6 years ago

      Thanks Steve :)

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 6 years ago

      Pretty great review Carl. To be honest, I've been kind on the fence about seeing this movie, as I never saw the previous Harold and Kumar films. However, after reading you're review, I think I might check out all three of them now just to see how funny they are. Thanks for the recommendation, and keep up the good work as always.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)