ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Carl the Critic: Reviews "The Adventures of Tintin"

Updated on January 30, 2012

Experience/Expectations

It appears that my review for “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” will have to wait, but until then, let’s all talk about this new Spielberg movie about a boy and his pet… No! Not “War Horse”, the other movie; “The Adventures of Tintin”.

Now first let’s get a little history. “The Adventures of Tintin” is a Belgium Comic by cartoonist Georges Remi (a.k.a. Hergé), and is known for being one of the most popular comics of the 20th Century. It is also known for its controversial depictions of animal cruelty, racial stereotypes, and political satire. Although I have never read the comic books myself, I know many people who have, and I understand the basic premise. Tintin is a young reporter who solves mysteries with his canine companion Snowy.

Simple enough, and it sounds like good old fashion family fun, so my family and I decided to check it out.

Story

The film is based on three of the Tintin comics: "The Crab with the Golden Claw", "The Secrets of the Unicorn", and "Red Rackham's Treasure". It starts off with our funny haired hero getting his picture painted and then we are introduced to a beautiful looking ship called the "Unicorn" which for some reason is Steven Spielberg... I mean Sakharine, wants to buy it. But then Tintin brings it home after telling Spielberg-sorry I mean Sakharine (he looks a lot like a young Steven Spielberg) to piss off, where there the ship breaks, Tintin goes to the Library leaving his door unlocked for some reason, learns everything that we already know, Tintin then goes home finds the ship missing, confronts Spielberg (damn it I mean Sakharine) finds out that he didn't steal the ship (or maybe he did there wasn't explained who stole the ship so who cares) Tintin goes back home finds a piece that broke off the ship, finds a hidden message with strange writing, meets a guy at his front door who gets shot but not before- OH CHRIST MOVIE SLOW THE HELL DOWN! IT'S BEEN TEN MINUTES AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS GOING ON! Well actually I do, sort of but seriously this movie is so fasted paced, and yet I can predict what's going to happen an hour from now.

Critique

Try to understand what I mean when I say this, but this is the fastest slow movie I have ever seen in my life. The pacing of the film was fast, camera movements were fast, editing was fast, transitions were fast, actions were fast, dialogue was fast, but the story itself was slow in the sense that I knew what was going to happen moments before it happened. I guess this isn't a bad thing, but it was very strange, it's like if someone took an over dose of steroids and tranquilizers at the same time.

For his first animated film, Spielberg did have some fun, that definitely shows, I'm glad that he was able to incorporate a gag from cartoons of the 1930's in the most natural way. In other words remember those old cartoons where Character A hits Character B over the head with a frying pan and character B sees birds (or sometimes stars) flying around their head? Well in this movie a man has an accident by bumping into a woman with a cage full of canaries and they collide with such great force that the canaries fly around the man's head (which if you can picture this, is pretty clever). There was some clever moments in the film, but it really didn't leave that much of an impression, I didn't leave the theater inspired or seeing the world in a new light, it was just a fun little action packed adventure.

Here's a fun little drinking game you can play in the theater (with your soda, or water, or whatever you're drinking) take a drink every time you see a reference to another Spielberg movie. I saw references to "Jaws", "Raiders of the Lost Ark", "Empire of the Sun", and there was probably more that I missed but if you look hard enough you will find them.

Now I want you to look at this picture of Stephen Spielberg for a moment:

Now look at this photo of Sakharine.

... Okay that's a bad picture I'll admit, but seriously these two look identical. This was bothering me through out the entire movie, it was like this was done on purpose.

Again, I have not read the comic book, so I do not know how this compares to the original comics. I know that it is full of references to the three it was based on but I feel like this movie took some liberties with the original material.

Is this a bad movie? Well I can see why people will without a doubt find this annoying. I watched this with 5 people, and at least one person gave it a 2.5 out of 10. So I guess this is another Hit-or-Miss movie, you'll like it or you'll hate it, I personally found the film to be a fun filled, action packed adventure, with some good acting, but with it has a strange pace that's fast and slow at the same time.

Overall

You know what else is weird? Daniel Craig is in two movies this week. I'll have to do "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" sometime later but until then I give "The Adventures of Tintin" what I think is a fair score of 7.3 out of 10.

What about you?

If you saw "The Adventures of Tintin", what did you think?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile imageAUTHOR

      Carl 

      6 years ago

      Yeah, I'm doing the same. Thanks for stopping by britishTV :)

    • britishTV profile image

      britishTV 

      6 years ago

      I was a fan of Tin Tin as a child, so I was very happy when I saw the news of this movie a few months ago! I took my children to see it a couple weekends ago and we all liked it very much! Don't know that I'll buy the DVD, but I wouldn't change the channel if I found it playing on TV in the next few years.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile imageAUTHOR

      Carl 

      6 years ago

      It should be, we'll have to just wait and see. Thanks again Steven.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the compliment, as I kind of felt the same way reading your review, as I think you described the pacing troubles this film suffered from a lot more in detail than I did.

      However, it should be interesting to see how well this film fares in the long run.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile imageAUTHOR

      Carl 

      6 years ago

      Hey Steven, great to hear from you, as I look back on this review I realized that I didn't mention a lot of things that I probably should have, one being family "appropriateness", which as you pointed out, may not be for the whole family, but I actually believe that this can fun for the whole family, but it would be a smart idea to look at the film's rating first and in this case it was rated PG, so it would be up to the parents themselves if this movie is suitable for their kids. I watched it with my family and it didn't seem like a big deal, but not all families are the same, so to all families who want to take their kids to see any movie, always check the ratings.

      Thanks again Steven, always great to hear from ya :)

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Hmm..I was wondering why you thought the plot for this movie was annoying, but now I can see why you'd say that. I can't say I disagree with any of your points, as you're definitely right about some of the pacing issues of this movie. Although, I'm still not sure if i'd call this a family movie, as I think it's a bit too dark compared to most family animated features, but it's definitely a fun adventure film that i think most mainstream audiences will like. Anyway, thanks for writing this, as i had a lot of fun reading your review. Be sure to keep up the good work buddy. :)

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile imageAUTHOR

      Carl 

      6 years ago

      lol true, thanks for pointing that out.

    • profile image

      Nici 

      6 years ago

      "You know what else is weird? Daniel Craig is in two movies this week"

      So is Simon Pegg. (MI4: Ghost Protocol)

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile imageAUTHOR

      Carl 

      6 years ago

      Hello everyone, I appreciate all of your comments, insights, and votes.

      @THEHuG5: I'll have "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" review out as soon as I can, and hopefully you'll get a chance to see more movies this holiday season. Thanks for saying I'm smart, so are you:)

      @FatFreddysCat: I'm sure this movie will do alright at the box office, it's one of the few family films that has been released this week, so I'm sure many families will get a chance to see it. There is a fan base for "Tintin" here in the US, but I agree we really don't hear much about it. Thanks for stopping by:)

      @Man from Modesto: Well I'm glad you do. Capture-motion animation is very unique, and if done well it can look very realistic. Thanks for stopping by:)

      @Robwrite: I'm glad you enjoyed the film, I did too it's just that it moved so fast and yet so slow that I can see why people may find it annoying. It's not a bad movie, it was fun, but it could get irritating at times. Again thanks for the comment :)

    • Robwrite profile image

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Carl; I liked this more than you did. I thought it was a lot of fun and a return to old-school Speilberg. It's a good adventure film that you can take kids to, as well. I'm not familiar with the Tintin comic but I know its beloved in Europe.

      Nicely written review,

      Rob

    • Man from Modesto profile image

      Man from Modesto 

      6 years ago from Kiev, Ukraine (formerly Modesto, California)

      I like these animated movies. They seem to have better writers, with better humor.

    • FatFreddysCat profile image

      Keith Abt 

      6 years ago from The Garden State

      Nice job. I'm curious about how this film will do box-office-wise since the Tintin character is all but unknown in the U.S.

    • THEHuG5 profile image

      THEHuG5 

      6 years ago

      I've seen the previews for this movie and it looks pretty cool but I doubt I'll get out to the theater to see it. Another excellent review from you as usual you're so smart lol! I'm looking forward to your review of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. It's not looking like I'll get out to see it anytime soon (unfortunately)but at least I'll get to see what your take is on it. Voting up!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)