ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Carry On Screaming Film Review

Updated on November 24, 2017
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Source

The cast

Actor
Character
Jim Dale
Albert Potter
Kenneth Williams
Dr Orlando Watt
Fenella Fielding
Valeria Watt
Joans Simm
Emily Bung
Harry H. Corbett
Detective Sergeant Bung
Peter Butterworth
Detective Constable Slobotham
Charles Hawtrey
Dan Dann
Jon Pertwee
Dr Fettle
Bernard Breslaw
Sockett

The Film

Released: 1966

Producer: Peter Rogers

Director: Gerald Thomas

Genre: Comedy, Horror

Running Time: 1 hr 55 mins

Distributed by: Pathe Distribution

Budget: £97,500


The Film

Carry On Screaming is the 12th film in the Carry On series of films. Shot in Pinewood Studios, and also on location in Buckinghamshire and Berkshire in England, this is one of my favourite Carry On films. The film starts with Albert Potter and Doris Mann in the woods. They are dating each other and are in the woods getting all romantic. When Doris screams, she swears she can hear someone in the woods, but Albert dismisses the idea, telling her there's no one there. But Doris is abducted by Oddbod the monster. Albert can't understand what has happened so goes to the police to report his missing girlfriend.

When he gets to the Police Station he reports the incident to Detective Constable Slobotham, who in turn tells his boss Detective Sergeant Sidney Bung. The 3 of them head off into the woods, and Albert tells them what happened. Their investigation leads them to a house on Aviary Avenue. This is a large, somewhat Gothic style house which is run by Dr Orlando Watt and his sister Valena Watt. The 2 Policemen and Albert are greeted at the door by the Butler, who is called Sockett. He informs them that his master is dead. But when they meet the pale Dr Watt, it leaves them confused. He seems very much alive! Actually, he's un-dead.

It is up to the 2 detectives to decipher what has happened to Doris. Meanwhile, Albert sees a mannequin in a shop that looks very much like his girlfriend. Can this in anyway be connected with the Watt's? With all the strange goings on in the house and in their laboratory, this is indeed a very strange house.

As is common with the Carry On films, this is full of laughs and hilarity. There's plenty of gags and innuendo's in the film.and it looks like they have a lot of fun making this film. This is definitely a slap-stick comedy and the Carry On cast once again make a film that will have everyone laughing.

Source

My thoughts

I just love the Carry On films, and Carry On Screaming doesn't disappoint. Although it has a horror element to it, it's very light hearted and has plenty of gags and laughs in it. I love the storyline of the Frankenstein style monsters and the mannequins they bring back to life. Kenneth Williams is of course on top form once again with his acting and laugh out loud moments. Although this film was made in 1966, it is shot in colour. Carry On Screaming is really a spoof of the Hammer Horror films from the 60's.

The funniest bit for me was when you see Dr Watts (Kenneth Williams) sinking into a big cauldron of green liquid shouting "Frying tonight!" If you're a fan of the Carry On films and you've not seen this one yet, then I would highly recommend it.

Source

[on being told Oddbod's finger is missing] I hope he didn't leave it anywhere embarassing! That's the trouble with my regeneration process, it makes everything so brittle. You never know what's going to drop off next.

— Dr Watt

Carry On Screaming Trailer

© 2017 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      11 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes, I thought so too. The Carry On films were a great series of films. I loved them. =)

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      11 months ago from UK

      So odd seeing how many people have never heard of the carry on series, I thought it reached other Countries, but I guess it was just a British thing!

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      11 months ago from Shelton

      never heard of the story-line.. but u cover a great deal in this review

    • Rhyme Vine Poetry profile image

      Yancosky 

      11 months ago from Uninhabited Regions

      I will see if I can find this on YouTube! Thank you for this review :-) Gonna check it out on YouTube in just a minute.

      xxxooo

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      11 months ago from The Caribbean

      Haven't heard of the Carry On series. Thanks for the warning about the horror element. Would like the laughs, though.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      11 months ago from Ohio

      This sounds right up my alley. I love horror/comedy. I have not heard of the Carry On series, but I guess I need to look into it. Thanks for the heads up. :)

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      11 months ago from USA

      I’ve never heard of Carry On but I read your review with interest as I always learn something from you!

    • NessMovieReviews profile image

      Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 

      11 months ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

      I really should try and watch some older classic films. Its lovely to see you find a horror-esque one as I’m sure you know horror is my jam.

      I’m not sure this is my kind of movie, but the costumes are certainly done well for its time.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      11 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I used to enjoy watching the Carry On films. I don't remember ever seeing this one, though. It sounds interesting.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)