ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Children of the Corn Film Review

Updated on October 14, 2019

The Cast

Actor
Character
John Franklin
Isaac
Courtney Gains
Malachi
Robby Kiger
Job
Anne Marie McEvoy
Sarah
Julie Maddalena
Rachel
Peter Horton
Burt
Linda Hamliton
Vicky

About the film

Released: 1984

Producers: Donald Borchers, Terence Kirby

Director: Fritz Kiersch

Running time: 1 hr 32 mins

Genre: Thriller, Horror

Distributed By: New World Pictures

Budget: $800,000


The film

The film is set in the fictional town of Gatlin in Nebraska. The year is 1980 and there doesn't seem to be too much in the town apart from a Church, which we see at the beginning of the film. There is also a small café and some shops. We see Malachi in the cafè playing a pinball machine and Isaac, the leader, standing outside. Isaac has brainwashed the children of Gatlin and gets them to join his religious cult, He Who Walks Behind The Rows. The children are brainwashed into murdering anyone in the town from the age of 19 upwards, since 18 is considered between child and adult. The only 2 children who aren't involved with the cult is Job and his sister, Sarah. Near the start of the film we see how all the adults in the café are murdered by Isaac and his followers.

Fast forward 3 years, Burt and his girlfriend Vicky are travelling through Gatlin on their way to Seattle. But as they are driving through the town, they run over a young boy who is fleeing from the cult. They accidentally kill him leaving them in shock. As Burt and Vicky head into Gatlin to try and get help, they quickly learn that things are not all what it should be. As they start exploring the deserted town, Burt is intrigued and wants to try and figure out what is going on, although Vicky is pretty eager to get out of the town.

It is pretty soon that they encounter Isaac and his group of young followers. Not only do they need to try and save themselves, but also they need to try and help Job and Sarah too. As they try to flee from the demonic and crazed Isaac and his followers, we see how Vicky is offered as a sacrifice on a cross made of, yes, you've guessed it, corn.

My Thoughts

I have watched this film several times over the years. Don't ask me why because I don't know. When it comes to horror films, this certainly isn't one of the best out there. And it's not particularly scary or frightening. I think the only bit in there which would be classed as remotely scary is when Isaac, the leader, shows his demonic side and you see his eyes turn red and his voice turns all demonic. The children themselves I think did a pretty good job at acting, especially the young actors who played Isaac and Malachi. They were still very young at the time of filming, but I think they did quite well at playing such menacing parts.

At just over an hour and a half long, we see how the children have taken over the town and got rid of all the adults. Considering this was made in the mid 80's, the special effects aren't too bad, although they are minimal. The scenes with the demonic effect near the end of the film is quite good for the time, along with the evil Isaac. With the added effect of the background soundtrack, which is pretty eerie, it does add to the suspense of the film. For a 'retro' horror film, this isn't too bad, but I have seen a lot better.

Children of the Corn Trailer

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Cheryl E Preston profile image

      Cheryl E Preston 

      4 weeks ago from Roanoke

      Children of the corn brings back a lot of memories.

    • profile image

      Jacqueline G Rozell 

      4 weeks ago

      Cheryl, it's creepy in an insidious way that, at the time it was released, made it one of the top horror films. My children's favorite game at the time was to play hide and seek in the cornfields and when they had friends camping out to divide into teams and see who could stay lost in the cornfield the longest time. After this movie, the male cousins wouldn't try to stay hidden but would stalk the female cousins and jump out at them sending them screaming through the corn stalks. I just LOVE this review. It has brought back so many memories.

    • Cheryl E Preston profile image

      Cheryl E Preston 

      4 weeks ago from Roanoke

      This is one creepy story. I saw the movie but never read the book.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Hello Jacqueline. Yes, you could be right there. I think kids do things in life for survival and are easily taken in.

    • profile image

      Jacqueline G Rozell 

      5 weeks ago

      Louise, do you think the children were all that easily persuaded or that after a few evil ones killed their parents who were supposed to be invincible (most young kids think their parents are ten feet tall and bullet-proof), they joined the cult as a subconscious means of surviving? It seems to me that teens are more susceptible to becoming taken in by "false prophets" than are the very young who appear to be protected by their innocence. And you are correct about adults, who are the most gullible of all.

    • Lora Hollings profile image

      Lora Hollings 

      5 weeks ago

      Louise, maybe what is truly horrifying about this film is the way children or adults can be persuaded to become part of a cult- any cult. And these cults aren't about being a follower of Christianity but about following leaders who are insane and don't even understand what it is to be a christian or a truly loving human being. You've revealed through your article how dangerous cults can be especially with naive minds or those that don't ask questions and blindly follow. I enjoyed your review. Very good article. Thank you.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      5 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the review. I appreciate the warning about the demonic Isaac. It lessens the horror.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 weeks ago from Norfolk, England

      Jacqueline, thankyou for the lovely comment. Sounds like you have fond memories of you and your sister at Halloween. =)

    • profile image

      Jacqueline G Rozell 

      5 weeks ago

      Louise, I have the same reaction to this film as you appear to have. Though not the best ever made, for some reason I have watched it several times. It's at the top of the list for all members of family at Halloween who are below the age 70... lol. There is just something about it that puts it in the realm of a "cult classic." Sometimes I think it's because the main characters who are "good guys" all make it out alive. Some of us have discussed it and we are SO over all the horror movies of the last couple decades where the evil wins and has dozens of sequels. I realize there have been sequels to the original of this but I've never watched them so I have no idea as to their quality. I'm leaving well enough alone. Your review is right on the mark. A house full of teen relatives were watching this with lights turned off, laughing at the goings-on in the film. My sister and I sneaked outside after carefully unlocking the windows in the den and lifting them just enough to make it easy to throw them upward. We put on Halloween masks and at an auspicious time threw the windows open with flashlights under our chins. Ah, the satisfaction!! Oh, they were all my place because we were going on a trail ride the next day. I live in the woods and the only flat land around the house had been planted in corn.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      5 weeks ago from USA

      I recall watching this when I was babysitting way back in the day and it scared me quite a bit but I was just a teenager alone in someone else’s home late at night.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      5 weeks ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I haven't seen the movie, but I'd like to watch it. It sounds interesting and scary. I'm going to look for the story it's based on, too. Thanks for the review, Louise.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)