ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Churchill Film Review

Updated on September 15, 2018
Actor
Character
Brian Cox
Winston Churchill
Miranda Richardson
Clemmie Churchill
Julian Wadham
General Montgomery
John Slattery
Dwight Eisenhower
Richard Durden
Jan Smuts
Ella Purnell
Helen Garrett
James Purefoy
King George VI
George Anton
Admiral Ramsay

About the film


Churchill is a film which is currently being shown on Netflix. Played by Brian Cox, Churchill replays the events of 1944 and the D-Day Invasion. The film begins with Winston Churchill standing on a beach looking out to sea. The sea turns blood red as the fallen soldiers turns the ocean into what looks like a sea of blood. It is certainly a shocking start to the film and a very sobering look at the realities of war.

What we see is the affects the run up to the D-Day Invasion has on Churchill and the troubles he had with the people who worked so closely with him. There were disagreements and arguments with some of the most influential people at the time, including Field Marshall Montgomery and his wife, Clementine.

At the beginning of the film, it tells you that it is day 1736 of World War 2 with Montgomery and General Eisenhower plotting Operation Overlord, the code name that was given to the D-day operation. We often see these leaders at loggerheads about what the plans are and what to do for the best. Churchill is worried about the invasion and is concerned about the massive loss of life that may incur when the Allied250,000 troops storm onto the beaches of Normandy.

Throughout the film Churchill is often heard talking about his involvement in the last war and thinking about the men on the frontline. You often see him clashing with political figures. He battles with feelings of guilt over a similar failed assault during World War 1 and trying to get people to agree with his opinions. The film basically covers the last few days before the D-Day landings.

My Thoughts

I thought this film was fantastic. I think Brian Cox who played Churchill played an excellent part. I think he played the role of Churchill down to a tee. What I mean by this is the way he spoke, his dry wit when it comes to communicating with people and the cigar in his mouth. Generally, he got Churchill's mannerisms spot on. It even has parts in the film that made me smile. For instance, in one scene when he sits down with a drink, he says to himself, "Oh how I wish this was scotch." I think this film shows us what Churchill was like as a man, and what great determination he had to see this war through to the bitter end.

The stress Prime Minister Churchill must of been in would of been immense. And this shows - not only with his wife but with the people around him. His poor secretary gets the brunt of his sharp tongue when she spells a word wrong. But saying that, she also sees the more softer side of his personality when they are talking about the war and she tells him her fiance is on the front line. Churchill gets news for her that he is still alive, of which she is very grateful and thankful.

Undoubtedly, this film is masterfully made with Brian Cox portraying the role of Churchill perfectly. What was, indeed, a very stressful time for the then Prime Minister, we see what strain this put on him. At 69 years old at the time this happened, we see Winston Churchill as a man under a lot of pressure to try and do what was best for the troops, and the country as a whole. Miranda Richardson who plays his wife, Clemmie, stands by him and gives him support and advice.

The opening scenes to the film I found very profound. This clearly affected Churchill and sets the scene for the viewer in what is to be a dramatic and profound film to watch. I would highly recommend this film.

Churchill Official Trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      19 months ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      A very fine review. Brian Cox with the cigar and the stance looks the great man himself. It would be an interesting watch. Thank you for sharing.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      20 months ago from USA

      I really enjoyed Darkest Hour and based on your review will be watching this one too. My husband is a WWII history buff so he will be so happy about having another great movie to see.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 

      20 months ago from Texas

      I do need to see this movie, though I don't like war or movies about war. But, you have made me want to see it.

      Blessings Louise.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      20 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      I have to still watch this movie. We have watched so many WW2 movies as well as the ones on Churchill that I can't convince my family to watch another one but we will get to this one. I can also watch it on my own.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      20 months ago from Pacific Northwest

      I have always been intrigued by Churchill. Can't wait to see it.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      20 months ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Brain Cox is an excellent actor. Churchill is viewed rather differently in the UK these days by some younger people but he was much needed during WWII.

      Thanks for this review

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      20 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      This is one I'd want to see. Darkest Hour was also a recent exceptional film about Churchill. He had a way of sensing trouble when others didn't - and our world is better for it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)