ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"City Island" Film Review

Updated on November 15, 2013
The Rizzo Family in "City Island"
The Rizzo Family in "City Island"
Andy Garcia as Vince Rizzo
Andy Garcia as Vince Rizzo
Garcia-Lorido and Garcia
Garcia-Lorido and Garcia
Julianna Margulies
Julianna Margulies

"City Island"

"City Island" is almost as funny as "Little Miss Sunshine." Andy Garcia plays the father in a hilariously dysfunctional family. He plays Vince Rizzo, a "corrections officer," aka prison guard in a facility near City Island where he and his family live in a house built by his grandfather. City Islanders are divided between "clam diggers" (long time residents) and "mussel suckers" (new arrivals). Rizzo is a proud clam digger.

Each of the Rizzo family members has a secret or two from the rest of the family. Rizzo's son has a fetish for feeding fat women; Rizzo's daughter, played by Garcia's real daughter, Dominik Garcia-Lorido, was kicked out of college for smoking pot in the dorm and is secretly working as a pole dancer in a strip club; Rizzo and his wife both are sneaking smokes while claiming to have quit; and Rizzo meets up with a prisoner who turns out to be his son whose mother he abandoned before he was born, a chapter in his life he has never revealed to his wife. Rizzo's tough, querulous wife is played convincingly by Julianna Marguiles.

Rizzo has secret ambitions to be an actor like Marlon Brando and is taking acting lessons but tells his wife he's playing poker with the boys. Alan Arkin plays the acting teacher, and Rizzo's partner in the acting class is played by British actress and Oxford graduate, Emily Mortimer, who also has a secret.

The movie isn't quite as funny as "Little Miss Sunshine" or "The Big Lebowski," but it had the audience rolling in the aisles tonight at our local indie film theater.

Emily Mortimer and Andy Garcia in "City Island"
Emily Mortimer and Andy Garcia in "City Island"

"City Island" Trailer

Andy Garcia and Dominik Garcia-Lorido
Andy Garcia and Dominik Garcia-Lorido

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      I misspelled it. It's a striptease as in "hootchy kootchy." See "Congress Worries About TV Morals" Life 1952 here

      http://books.google.com/books?id=2lUEAAAAMBAJ&...

    • profile image

      Hmm 

      8 years ago

      what is a cooch dance?

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      I thought the two best characters were Little Miss Sunshine and her grandfather who taught her to do a cooch dance. (Alan Arkin)

    • FCEtier profile image

      Chip 

      8 years ago from Cold Mountain

      YIKES! I hated "Little Miss Sunshine". My wife says I'm a, well, anyway, I didn't see any qualities in many of the characters that made me want to like them -- except for the teenage boy who wouldn't talk.

      Should I give this movie a chance?

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      You'll enjoy it, guaranteed.

    • profile image

      chasingcars 

      8 years ago

      I really like Garcia and haven't seen enough of him lately. Will see.

    • profile image

      Wiz 

      8 years ago

      Ha! I passed this over because I read a bad review and I hate Garcia's idea of an Italian as much as I hated Anthony Quinn's and Cher's version, but the trailer looks promising and enjoyable. Thanks Ralph.

    • patrick fealey profile image

      patrick fealey 

      8 years ago from California

      thanks, ralph. my girlfriend and i will check this one out.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      The trailer looks good. Nice review

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)