ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Clash Of The Titans (2010)

Updated on October 27, 2010

DAMN THE GODS!

"One day, somebody is going to have to take a stand. Someday, someone is going to have to say enough.", as Perseus (Sam Worthington) eloquently put it in this epic remake of "Clash of the Titans." For those expecting this new movie to be one hundred percent faithful to the original story, then you'll probably be disappointed. Instead of merely retelling the story of how Perseus not only risked his life to save the Princess Andromeda, but defeated his half demon brother, Calibos, who was cursed by Zeus in the original story for killing off mystical creatures like the Pegasuses (Horses with wings). In this new interpretation of the story, humanity has suffered under the gods' cruel and eventful tyranny for years. All in attempt to teach humanity the order of things, and to force them worship and pray to the gods like before. For years since Zeus (Liam Neeson) created humans, they were created for one purpose only to feed the gods immortality. According to the remake's story line, without the humans worship and affections, the gods will cease to exist. When the humans start to grow cocky and arrogant knowing this, they decide to defy the gods. As the Queen of Argos arrogantly says, "We are the gods now!" Thus, forcing Zues to let loose his brother, Hades (Ralph Fiennes), upon humanity to remind them of their place. Threatening the King of Argos to sacrifice his daughter, Andromeda (Alexa Davalos), or else Hades would unleash the Kraken. A beast so powerful, that it's said that the Kraken's powers could easily rival the titans that ruled the universe long before the gods. Unknowingly to Zeus, Hades has other plans in mind that could not only potentially destroy Argos and the rest of the world, but all of Olympus as well. For you see, Hades doesn't need humanity's love and worship to live, as he sponges off of their fears and hatred.

Enter the noble hero, Perseus, who starts off as a simple fisherman, who was orphaned as a baby when he was drifted out to sea. Found by a local farmer, who raises him. Unknown to Perseus and even the gods themselves, he is actually the lost son of Zeus. It isn't until later when Hades discovers Perseus' presence in Argos, that the gods become aware of his existence. Needless to say when the King of Argos learns of Perseus' true god-like origins, he requests for his aid to kill the Kraken, before his daughter is forced to be sacrificed to appease the gods. Reluctant about the situation at first, Perseus leads a band of warriors into some of mythologies darkest realms and battles the infamous Medusa, so he can rescue the kingdom and restore order in Argos and in Olympus before it's too late.

Now before I go any further, I will say this. Obviously, like all remakes, the original is always going to be better. Seriously, the only remake I ever saw that broke the rule was Peter Jackson's "King Kong." However, that's like a once in a million type of thing, as I doubt seriously we'll see another remake surpass their originals again. Sadly, "Clash of the Titans" isn't that one of those "one in a million" type films. No, it's just another remake that fails to live up to the original story. The main reason is primarily the story isn't that great, and contains way too many plot holes.

One, if the gods need to rely on humanity's love and affection, then wouldn't it serve them better to like give humanity whatever the heck they wanted? I mean seriously, would you love and worship a person if all they did was treat you like crap all the time? Secondly, if the humans really wanted to defy the gods, then why the heck do they still keep their temples to them? Wouldn't logic dictate that since the gods gain their powers from humans worshiping them, then tearing down their temples to prevent others from giving them strength make a lot of sense? Finally, if Zeus is supposed to be a god and omnipotent, then shouldn't he already know he had a son named Perseus, and not need Hades to tell him he has a son. Indeed, the writer's petty attempt to humanize the gods for the remake was an interesting idea, but it kills most of the mystique of the original. In fact, all it really does is create far too many plot holes, and ruins what used to be a magical story drenched in Greek mythology.

As expected, the CGI is good and certainly lives up to the hype. The visual animations of some of the characters like Medusa, the giant scorpions, and the Kraken were very life like, and integrated with the live action actors quite well. Although the 3-D scenes aren't really that great, as it seems like most of the scenes you can barely even see the 3-D effect. I guess that's what happens when you plan on turning a movie into a 3-D one, at the last minute. For those that don't know, this remake was originally going to be in 2-D only when it was filmed. However, after the roaring success of "Avatar" last year, Warner Bros. decided to turn the film into a 3-D one after the film was already finished. Unfortunately for them, it shows in this movie. As the 3-D is barely even noticeable in this movie, so your probably better off just seeing the regular version.

However, I will say this much. I thought Sam Worthington did a much better job portraying Perseus than Harry Hamlin, in the original. No offense to Harry Hamlin, but I found his performance as the original protagonist a bit stale and often dry. As it seems like he was rarely able to convey any type of genuine emotions on screen during the original film. Where as Sam, although like "Avatar", this film had a lot of bad dialogue for him to work with, but he managed to carry his character quite well, in spite of a mediocre storyline.

Even Liam Neeson does a better job portraying the mighty Zeus, than his original counter part Laurence Olivier. Although I do have a lot of respect for Olivier's body of work, I just found Liam's tough, harsh, narcissistic and arrogant portrayal of the mighty god much more appealing and entertaining.

Overall, I doubt seriously this film will set any standards or be as fondly remembered as the original. However, the special effects are spectacular, and certainly well designed. Sadly, the 3-D effect isn't that great, so most viewers can probably get away with seeing the regular version. Plus, I thought Sam Worthington, Ralph Fiennes, and Liam Neeson do a great job in their perspective roles. Unfortunately, the story leaves a lot to be desired, but it's not a bad film by any means. Just vastly over hyped. "Clash of the Titans" is an average movie at best. A decent action special effects film that will capture your imagination with a lot of eye candy, but I wouldn't expect too much out of it if you're looking for great story content as well.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      Download what exactly? Are you talking about seeing movies for free online or something? If that's the case, then I should tell you that unlike some users on here, who like to make hubs to tell people where to watch these movies for free. I don't do that at all. No, my business is to review and write about films in general. Not to tell you or anyone else here where you can watch these movies for free. I do apologize if you felt mislead in any way. although, I can't see how you were, but to each their own.

      anyway, thanks for stopping by.

    • profile image

      ghuess 

      8 years ago

      i thought u could let us allll download it without sighnin up nd how do u download it? byeeeeeeeeee

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      lol. yeah, i thought that too when i saw the owl, as i think your right...it is the same one from the original film. lol. Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed the remake Beth, and thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts with us. As it's always a pleasure having you here. ;)

    • Beth100 profile image

      Beth100 

      8 years ago from Canada

      Good review, Steven. Sam, well, what can I say about him? ;) Besides him, I must confess it was that darned owl...swear it's the same one from the original movie!!! I expected more from that owl...disappointed on that singular point. Did watch it in 3D -- same price as 2D and enjoyed it! Good entertainment!

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      same here, as I do agree with you that films are meant to be enjoyed. even when the film is bad like this one, i still manage to find good things about them. although there are a few really bad films out there that are an exception to me. where they're so bad, i would never watch them again. which is really saying something as I would normally never say that about any movie. therefore, if a film is that bad where I will say I won't see it again, then you know how bad it is. lol. not bragging or anything, but just saying. anyway, thanks again for stopping by and commenting though. :)

    • imagineriaus profile image

      imagineriaus 

      8 years ago from Dubin, Ireland

      i totally agree with you stevennix2001, good strong and solid review, but at the end movies are made to be enjoyed, at least this is my opinion, wich is the case for me, i enjoy every movie i watched even it is rubish or low budget, because every movie has a story, and there is no limit for imagination.

      cheers ,

      the movie addict

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      It's okay. lol. however, i really do appreciate you stopping by and sharing your thoughts with us. :)

    • Imogen H profile image

      Imogen H 

      8 years ago from Mount Albert, Canada

      It might have actually been as late as Christianity, I forget now.

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      Really? Wow, I didn't know that. For some reason everytime someone mentions god like figures, I always assumed the alleged god(s) were always omnipotent. I didn't realize that wasn't the case. That's interesting to know, and thanks imogen h for stopping by. :)

    • Imogen H profile image

      Imogen H 

      8 years ago from Mount Albert, Canada

      This is a good review, my only comment is that the Greek gods weren't omnipotent. That power only came along with Judaism.

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      And thank you for your comment. I guess we can agree to disagree then on this movie. however, i do appreciate your constructive criticism as well. i never thought of looking at the relationship of the gods and humans like that. however, i still feel the original worked far better than the remake though. however, thanks anyway for stopping by and sharing your thoughts with us.

    • jasklar3292 profile image

      jasklar3292 

      8 years ago

      First let me start by saying thanks for the comment on my review and I really appreciate the constructive criticism. Now I like your review but It seems like even though this is a remake that the story line are completely different, at least according to your review, and are hard to compare to each other. Personally I think that the new version was great as a stand alone movie and most viewers will see that if they aren't comparing it to the original(basically if you haven't seen the original).

      When it comes to some of the wholes of the story, you mention the problems ou have with the gods and humans interacting. What I took away from it was that the Zeus was like a father and the Humans were going through that rebellious teenage years. If you look at it like that it makes more sense. And I'm sure they were working on tearing down the tembles but you have to remember that it isn't as simple as blowing it up, and it can be difficult to destroy things back then, look how long it took to destroy the statue.

      With that said, my only real gripe with your review is that King Kong was a terrible movie. It was long and boring and you don't even see the ape for the first hour of it. Plus Jack Black(who I love) over acts in the movie and comes off as extremely cheese. But that is an argument for a different day.

      Thanks again for your comment

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      yeah, i agree. i think sam was one of the few shining aspects to the movie. lol.

    • profile image

      hubpageswriter 

      8 years ago

      I enjoy watching this movie, although the fiction is pretty obvious. Sam Worthington saves the day.

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      wow, im glad you liked the movie. thanks for stopping by and commenting.

    • profile image

      tori_cute_lol 

      8 years ago

      wow today right now i got bak from da movies wit my bf (fye i am 14) ok anyways we saw the movie clash of the titans i recommend it so much it is like the best movie on earth i loved it i am going to go buy the book 2morrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      lol. thanks for stopping by. i hope you enjoy the movie when you see it. :)

    • theherbivorehippi profile image

      theherbivorehippi 

      8 years ago from Holly, MI

      How have I not heard of this movie? Am I living in a shell? lol I am going to have to check this one out!

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      @fullmovie

      well, i hope you enjoy the show then, and thanks for stopping by. :)

      @ann nonymous

      thanks ann. i appreciate that. im glad to hear the review made you forget about some of the gruesome pics i have up. lol. however, it's always a pleasure seeing you.

      @satomko

      your welcome. anytime. thanks again for stopping by satomko. it's been a while. hopefully, i'll see you around again buddy.

    • profile image

      FullMovie 

      8 years ago

      This is going to be a Great Movie To watch on the big screen . can wait for it to come to my town .Thanks

    • Ann Nonymous profile image

      Ann Nonymous 

      8 years ago from Virginia

      Hey Steven. it seems to me your writing and reviews get better and better! So good in fact that I barely minded the gruesome pics: ) Thanks for another good hub! And so good to see you posting hubs so regularly!

    • satomko profile image

      Seth Tomko 

      8 years ago from Macon, GA

      Solid review. I've heard a lot of people say the same sort of thing, that the special effects are jazzed up but it lacks the charm of the original. It's also dispiriting to hear that 3-d is essentially a gimmick to try and make movie-goers pay an extra five bucks to see the film. Thanks for giving us the scoop.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)