ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Cocoon Film Review

Updated on July 27, 2017

Cocoon Poster

Film Stats

  • Released: 1985
  • Running time: 1 hour 57 minutes
  • Genre: Sci-Fi
  • Director: Ron Howard
  • Producers: Donald Brown & Richard D. Zanuk
  • Budget: $17,500,000 (approx)

Cocoon

Cocoon is a film I've seen on a few occasions when it's been on television. Although it's over 30 years old now, I think it's one of those sci-fi films that has stood the test of time. It's a light-hearted film with no violence in it, and I'm sure a lot of people think if only there was a cocoon in real life that makes you feel younger!

Aliens from the planet Antarea set up an outpost on an island called Atlantis 10,000 years ago. When Atlantis sinks, 20 of them aliens were left behind. These aliens were being kept alive in large cocoons which look like rocks on the bottom of the Atlantic ocean. Roll on to the current day and some of the Antareans return to earth to collect these cocoons. They rent a house with a swimming pool in it and start placing each of the cocoons in the pool. This is to give the cocoons life force so they can survive the journey home to their planet. Only, close to this house is a retirement home. When a few of the old folk in the retirement home find out there's quite a large swimming pool in this beautiful house, they decide to break in and go swimming. Little do they know what these cocoons are at the bottom of the pool. They stand there scratching their heads in disbelief, but swim in the pool anyway.

They soon start to feel very different. Their bodies and souls feel rejuvenated and these men in their 70's and 80's begin to feel like new men. They realise that the cocoons in the pool are making them feel youthful and free. They can do things they were unable to do in the past, or found very difficult. Like go dancing, walk at a more upbeat pace, and even visit a nightclub! Not everyone is so keen on the changes these old folk are having though, and Bernie is angry and upset at what the other residents from the home are doing. His wife Mary, however, wants to go along with the other residents and is upset when Ernie doesn't allow her to go.

This is a film where people in their later years experience a new zest for life and, although there are people who disagree with what they are doing, enjoy this new sense of freedom and youthfulness.

Characters in the film

Main Cast

Actor
Character
Don Ameche
Art Selwyn
Jessica Tandy
Alma Finley
Hume Cronyn
Joe Finley
Wilfred Brimley
Ben Luckett
Maureen Stapleton
Mary Luckett
Brian Dennehy
Walter
Jack Gilford
Bernie Leftowitz
Herta Ware
Rose Leftowitz
Steve Guttenberg
Jack Bonner
Barret Oliver
David

Aliens from the film

My Thoughts

At nearly 2 hours long, this film is a light-hearted Science Fiction film. There is no violent, blood or gore in this film, which I like. Quite frankly, I don't generally watch sci-fi films, but this one I rather like. I like the idea of these aged people in a retirement home finding youth and a new zest for life. As we get older in life, our minds and souls don't change. But our physical bodies prevent us from doing what we used to do when we were young. It's a nice thought to be able to be as active as you were in your youth. The thought of some sort of power being able to help you be young again is a nice thought.

There are heart warming scenes in the film - especially the scenes with Ben and his grandson David. The pair are fishing and Ben explains to David about how he's going places where he'll never die, never grow old and never get ill. But he will never see David again. I found this a touching scene in the film, and does make one look at your own mortality. It's those we leave behind we hurt the most. I thought the acting throughout the film from the cast was good. The characters from the old peoples home played a good part and how they acted so vibrant and young. There are warm and touching scenes in the film which touched my heart.

The special effects in the film are good. Considering this was made in the mid 80's, I think the way they create the aliens in the cocoons are good. We see how they become human and 'normal' looking human beings on earth, and how they visibly change back to an alien. I thought this was quit well made. The graphics of the aliens is a clever part and how they look realistic.

Ratings

IMDB
Rotten Tomatoes
6.7/10
6.2/10

In Summary

This is an enjoyable film. It's a light-hearted, warming and touching film. There are scenes in the film that melted my heard, especially with David and his Grandfather. This film showed us what one wish could happen - where we could stay young and youthful forever. It's never ever easy growing old. Our bodies change as we grow older, our hair goes grey, the skin and bones become more fragile. But in our minds we're still the same person we were 50 years ago. I did find this made me question life and growing old. It's an entertaining look on life and for the person and their families involved.

As the title on the promotional cover says - it is everything you dreamed of.

Cocoon Movie Trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      7 months ago from Norfolk, England

      There was, yes. The sequel is called Cocoon: The Return. I've yet to watch it myself though, but I plan to!

    • Joshua Crowder profile image

      Joshua Crowder 

      7 months ago from SE United States

      I give this movie a 7 rating. Reading this brings back some memories. Wasn't there a sequel to this? I'll have to find out.

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      16 months ago from UK

      I have never seen it, but I will give it a try now, those alien things look creepy and weird!

    • Debangee Mandal profile image

      DEBANGEE MANDAL 

      17 months ago from India

      Enjoyed going through the review.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      17 months ago from The Caribbean

      This review makes me think that I will like to see this film. I like the topic of aging, even in a sci-fi movie. Thank you very much.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      17 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I vaguely remember a little of the plot that you describe. I think I may have seen part of the movie on TV. Now that I've read your interesting review I want to see the whole movie.

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      17 months ago from Southern Illinois

      I never go to see a SCI-FI movie, it's just not ' my cup of tea ' but I watched the trailer and from your excellent review, I want to see this movie. I wonder if it is on YouTube many of the older films are there? I will check it out. I love the idea of older people feeling young and free. I wish they would make heartfelt movies today. I am tired of flying bird-people. Ha..Thank you...

    • simplehappylife profile image

      SA 

      17 months ago

      I still Love this movie! I can't believe that it has been over 30 years since it came out! You just reminded me of how old I am! LOL :) Great article :)

    • simplehappylife profile image

      SA 

      17 months ago

      aaaw

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      17 months ago from USA

      I recall seeing this film long ago and enjoyed reading your review. I don't usually go for sci-fi gums but liked it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)