ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Copacabana (1947) Film Review

Updated on May 24, 2018
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Actor
Character
Groucho Marx
Lionel Q Devereaux
Carmen Miranda
Carmen Navarro/Mlle Fifi
Andy Russell
Andy Russell
Steve Cochran
Steve Hunt
Gloria Jean
Anne Stuart

About the film

Director: Alfred C. Green

Producer: Sam Coslow

Running time: 1 hr 32 mins

Genre: Musical, Comedy

Budget: $1,300,000

Distributed by: United Artists


The Film

Lionel and Carmen are an engaged couple of 10 years who are unsuccessful performers in nightclubs. This is mainly due to Lionel's lack of talent. But when they are staying in a hotel in New York, they get 24 hours to pay the bill. But they are unable to pay the bill due to lack of funds. So Lionel goes to see Steve, who is a producer. He tries to convince him into giving Carment a job at the Club Copacabana. They get help from Andy Russell, who is posing as her agent. They eventually manage to get her an audition.

Lionel and Andy get themselves into a bit of a pickle as Steve asks them who else they represent. This is when a French beauty is invented called Fifi. They somehow manage to convince Carment to play the part of Fifi, who always wears a veil to mask her identity. Steve Hunt is attracted to both girls - Carmen and Fifi. So when Lionel tells him he is engaged to Carmen, Steve turns to Fifi and asks her out. Confused? Yes, you couldn't make it up, could you? This puts Lionel in a bit of a sticky situation. To try and solve matters, Lionel asks Andy to play Fifi and go out with Steve. As the film progresses, we see how both Lionel and Carmen/Fifi deal with the situation and how Carmen copes with playing two parts. It's rather quite comical to watch!

My thoughts

This was the first film that Groucho Marx made away from the Marx Brothers, and one I found intriguing. Mainly I found it intriguing in the fact that I couldn't imagine him and Carmen Miranda playing together in the same film. But they did, and I think it worked well. I found the film entertaining and enjoyable to watch. Classed as a musical comedy, there are a few songs in this. Groucho Marx is entertaining when you see him on stage singing.

Although I found the storyline a little confusing in parts - I had to really follow it to catch the gist of what was going on sometimes - it was a good film. I've always been a fan of Groucho Marx, and think he plays the part of Lionel Q Devereax well. He had always been a great entertainer, and he really played his part well. Some people may have found this strange at the time seeing Groucho Marx on screen without his brothers, but I thought he did well. Turning to Carmen, I think she played a terrific part as Carmen Navarro/Mlle Fifi. It can't be easy playing 2 characters. It was funny watching her playing Fifi and not wanting to take her veil off. And then there's the subplot of the romance that was going on.

This is an excellent comedy film, and did leave me laughing in places. If, like me, you are a Groucho Marx film, then I would recommend this film.

Song
Performer
We've Come to the Copa
The Copa Girls
Tico-Tico Nofuba
Carmen Miranda
Je Vous Aime
Carmen Miranda
My Heart Wasn't Doing a Bolero
Andy Russell
He Hasn't Got a Thing to Sell
Carmen Miranda & Andy Russell
To Make a Hit With Fifi
Carmen Miranda
Stranger Things Have Happened
Andy Russell
Stranger Things Have Happened
Gloria Jean
Go West, Young Man
Groucho Marx
Je Vous Aime
Andy Russell
Let's Do the Copacabana
Carmen Miranda

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 3 weeks ago from UK

      I don't recall having seen this, but your review gives me a great idea of what to expect.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 3 weeks ago from USA

      I’ve never seen this one either but thanks to you, I’m becoming a little more up to date on the oldies. Glad to hear it’s on YouTube.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 3 weeks ago from Houston, Texas

      Thanks for reminding me about this funny film which I saw many years ago. If it is shown again I will try and watch it. I am smiling just thinking about it.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 3 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the review. I notice that is on YouTube. Could be a weekend activity.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 3 weeks ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've heard of this movie, but I've never seen it. Your review is informative and interesting. I learn a lot about movies by reading your articles.

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 3 weeks ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      I'd like to see this some day. Sad to say, the brothers did just one more film together when they appeared in Love Happy. Groucho was always my favorite with his sharp wit.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 3 weeks ago from Ontario, Canada

      I love some of the songs in this movie. I think I will watch it again.

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 3 weeks ago from Oklahoma

      Another classic I've heard of but haven't seen.

      Great overview!

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 3 weeks ago from Shelton

      Coffee, I saw this movie a few years back for the first time on Turner Classics... and I loved it.. it was weird seeing Groucho without his brothers.. but it worked here.. thanks for sharing a true classic...:)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)