ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Defending Santa Film Review

Updated on November 7, 2017
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Source

Film Information

Director: Brian Skiba

Producer: Devi Singh

Running time: 1 hr 27 mins

Genre: Fantasy, Drama, Family

Production Company: Cartel Pictures

Source

The Film

With Christmas fast approaching, the festive films are already beginning to appear on our TV screens. One film I have recently watched is Defending Santa. Now, this film certainly isn't going to be in the same league as Santa Clause: The Movie or A Christmas Carol, but it's still an interesting film to watch.

The film begins with Sheriff Scott Hanson going to a report of a broken down vehicle when he comes across a sleeping Santa Claus in the woods. With being in a coma for nearly a year and his sleigh ride being questionable, he is put on trial to prove he is, in fact, Santa Claus. Sheriff Hanson arrests him for a crime he did not commit. Whilst Santa is in hospital, he tries to convince the people around him that he wasn't in a coma but was, in fact, asleep. He wakes up around November time just in time to start preparing for Christmas.

Scott Hanson is not only the local Sheriff, but he also a widower and a dad to a young girl called Susan. Throughout the film we see how she, and a few others, believe in Santa right from the start and how she befriends Santa. As the court proceedings begin, it is up to Santa and his team of people to convince the Judge and jury that he is not mad, but really is Santa Claus. And with time fast approaching before he needs to start delivering presents, can he prove he says who he says he is? There is also a side-story with Scott growing close to Sarah, the defense attorney in court, which I found interesting.

Source

Main Cast

Actor
Character
Bill Lewis
Kris Kringle
Dean Cain
Sheriff Scott Hanson
John Sauage
Judge Willis
Jud Tylor
Sarah Walker
Jamie McRae
Susan Hanson
Jodie Sweeton
Beth

What do I think?

Well as I say, this isn't in the same league as some of the blockbuster Christmas films out there, but on the other hand, I found it a fun film to watch. Although there wasn't many special effects in it, I thought the little miniature horse they had in it was cute. I love how this little tiny living horse was neighing and walking around in the palm of someone's hand. Very cute. I also like Santa's special watch. You don't get to see the full effect of this though until towards the end of the film.

The acting was quite good, especially from Jamie McRae who plays the young daughter, Susan, of the Sheriff. She played a really good part and top marks to her. Although the storyline was a little bit on the weak side, I think Jamie made up for that. I also like the smaller side story of Scott and Sarah's love story within the film. As with the majority of the Christmas films, it does have a happy ending, but it did end a little bit differently to how I imagined it would. Bill Lewis who plays Kris Kringle played an excellent part. I like how they made him look like Santa as best they could with the big belly and rosy red cheeks. And of course with the big white beard and hair. The only thing is we don't get to see any sleigh or reindeers.

Apart from that, I did enjoy this film. No doubt it will be on again over Christmas on other channels. It will no doubt get you into the Christmas spirit, even if slightly.

Defending Santa Official Trailer

© 2017 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Karen Hellier profile image

      Karen Hellier 5 months ago from Georgia

      Wow, I thought I had seen pretty much every Christmas movie ever made, but somehow I missed this one. Thanks for the review. I will have to watch for it next year. I love everything about Christmas, even Christmas movies!

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 6 months ago from UK

      I love a Christmas film, I will definitely have a look for this one, thank you.

    • newbizmau profile image

      Maurice Glaude 6 months ago from Mobile, AL

      I set my DVR to record this. It will be on the ION network on Sun, Dec 10 1/12cAM. It comes on really late so you may want to set it to record too.

    • Rhyme Vine Poetry profile image

      Tamara Yancosky Moore 6 months ago from Uninhabited Regions

      Interesting review of this film; until now, I had never heard of this movie! Thank you! It is fun to read your reviews :-) Great Job!

      xxxooo

    • Ian Rideout profile image

      Ian Rideout 7 months ago from Alberta, Canada

      I should watch more Christmas movies.

    • newbizmau profile image

      Maurice Glaude 7 months ago from Mobile, AL

      Santa movies in particular have always been my favorite since I was a child. I loved that they always had something to teach, a clever message inside that made watching worth my while.

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 7 months ago from Oklahoma

      Interesting review.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 7 months ago from Ohio

      Sounds like a movie I would like. Thanks for the head's up.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 7 months ago from The Caribbean

      I'd like to watch it. Thanks for the review.

    • clivewilliams profile image

      Clive Williams 7 months ago from Jamaica

      I loved this film. Santa is REALLLLL!!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 7 months ago from USA

      I’ve never seen this, but with your review I will know to look for it!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)