ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Did You Hear About The Morgans? - Rental Movie Review

Updated on May 12, 2010

IF you love Hugh Grant!

Do Not Rent This Movie....

Starring: Hugh Grant & Sarah Jessica Parker, Directed By (could not find his/her name on DVD).....Wow! Shocker!

I am reviewing this movie because it was one of the biggest disappointments EVER!!!! When I first saw this trailer, I was so excited about Hugh Grant playing a lovable, sexy, gibbering Brit AGAIN along with Sarah Jessica Parker who is good "some of the time." Honestly, I feel that Sarah Jessica Parker was too old for this role and believe me I'm the last person to say this! I always support women of all ages in Hollywood, but it just did not work for this film. Maybe if they casted someone a bit younger and quirkier? Man, from the beginning of the film, I found myself asking questions like "What the hell is going on?," "Where is the music?" "Why does the Director suck so bad?" "Who wrote this?" That is really "harsh" I know but I could not understand "what the heck happened?" Why could something look so great and be that bad? Hollywood my friends. Shall we say more?

Now, this is VERY rare in the movies I usually rent (I usually get good referrals from friends or look into them on-line) so I was compelled to write this review because I thought how could this be bad! Here is the "pitch" for the film. Two successful New York people are separated because Hugh screwed up and cheated. They have a lot of awkward "back and forths" with bad dialogue UNTIL "lo and behold," the one night that they go out to dinner something BAD happens! Infact they both witness a murder and the bad guy recognizes them! Without ruining the rest of the film (is it possible?) ha I thought I would talk about why I wanted to see this movie!

First of all the trailer was really funny, but the one scene in the film that seems hysterical was cut just for the trailer! By the time you get to the scene, it is NOT funny! Now, I have found out through employees at Blockbuster that there are actually companies that make covers of rentals look like popular movies even if they are nothing like them! Infact, I know people who get paid to produce, write and direct marketing campaigns for all different media and I know what they are capable of....This is all the stuff I thought about while I was watching this film! I was so annoyed at the idea that the film is nothing like it seemed. I really hope this director used a pseudonym for his/her sake. "Over the shoulder shots?" Please!!!!! What is this, bad television? With such big name talents, this was really shocking.

Now the only "positive" things about this film. The soundtrack (when it finally appeared) was awesome! Mr. Grant definitely must have had some pull with the British performers or publishing companies to land some of these songs for the movie. This is my guess since I know about music licensing. Bob Dylan, George Harrison, and other really cool tracks. I'm currently looking into locating it because it was THAT good. SO, Theodore Shapiro who is credited with "Music By" did a good job on the film.

If you are a fan of Sam Elliot or Mary Steenburgen, they were definitely the best part of this film. Both were very believable in their roles and they "out shined" the stars in a huge way.

The sad part of this film is that it could have been really good. With the line up of talent, the music and the premise, there is no reason why this should happen. Except for a bad Director and Writer who had some pull with Columbia Pictures or the production company. Anyway, if you have seen it I would really be interested in what you thought about it. I really felt "duped" on this one! Annoying!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      prasetio30.....thank you so much for including me in your hub! You are a GREAT "virtual friend" you are! I always enjoy you and all of your hubs. You also have a good heart and it shines in everything you write. Thank you also for your very kind words.....I'm so happy I found you here!

      You are wonderful.....G

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Kaie...you are so right! ha The bear was amazing! Thanks for stopping in! Always nice to see you. G

    • prasetio30 profile image

      prasetio30 

      8 years ago from malang-indonesia

      Nice hub. I just wanna say to you. I have linked your profile to my hub. Please check in my hub with the tittle "The Benefit of Blogging". I hope our friendship will never end, GPAGE. Thank you very much!

      Warm Regards,

      Prasetio

    • Kaie Arwen profile image

      Kaie Arwen 

      8 years ago

      GPAGE- The bear carried the film.......... no doubt about that! I will NOT be waiting for the sequel.......... unless of course it's about the bear!

      Thanks!

      Kaie

    • Springboard profile image

      Springboard 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin

      Yes. What happened to story? :)

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Springboard.....thank you for stopping in! Lovely to see you here. You are right about that. The marketing of films these days is not fair to the movie goers. Studios will do anything to sell tickets or make money. I have been more disappointed in the last couple of years with quite a few films....."I want better!!!!!" You said it! And you are right!

      Best, GPAGE

    • Springboard profile image

      Springboard 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin

      I hate that when they just cut the funniest scene for the trailer, and that happens more often than not nowadays. There's just such lack of imagination in Hollywood anymore. It's sort of become just a big money game. I think we've lost something because of that. Not catering to bad movies is a good place to start saying "we want better" to the studios.

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      habee! Some of my friends have told me that the movie was ok because they were expecting the worst from my review! ha

      I did like that line 2......G

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Pamela...thanx for stopping in! Best, G

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      I was a little disappointed, too, but I did like some of the one liners - especially the Sarah Palin one! lol

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      8 years ago from Sunny Florida

      Thanks for the heads up. I hate to rent a movie and then hate the movie.

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Funny HappyHer! One of my friends read my review and still has the movie rental sitting there....she said she has no desire to watch it now!!!! Well, I wanted to be truthful with this review and it was not a good rental......would have been more upset if I went to the theater! Nice to see you here! Best, G

    • HappyHer profile image

      Tracy Morrow 

      8 years ago from Cleveland, OH

      Thanks for the head's up! I get so disappointed when I get a movie and it turns out to be a flop. I'll know to steer clear of this one.

    • GPAGE profile imageAUTHOR

      GPAGE 

      8 years ago from California

      Cool Cosette! I thought I was being a bit harsh, but glad to hear it from someone else! ha The Sarah Palin thing was really funny!

      If you want to help with something I'm passionate about that involves Ms. Palin and should not ; Please go to www.defenders.org

      Look for the chick with glasses......ha

      Thanx for stopping in! Best, G

    • profile image

      cosette 

      8 years ago

      i totally agree. the only good parts were with Sam Elliott and Mary Steenbergen. hee hee, when Sarah first saw her and goes "it's Sarah Palin!" - that was funny :D

      and the bear.

      the bear was good.

      other than that, this film was a complete waste of time.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)