ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Dirty Dancing Film Review

Updated on February 27, 2018
Actor
Character
Patrick Swayze
Johnny Castle
Jennifer Grey
Baby 'Frances' Houseman
Jerry Orbach
Jake Houseman
Jane Brucker
Lisa Houseman
Kelly Bishop
Marjorie Houseman
Cynthia Rhones
Penny Johnson
Jack Western
Max Kellerman

About the film

Director: Emile Bergstein

Producer: Linda Gottlieb

Running time: 1 hr 40 mins

Genre, Music, Romance, Drama

Budget: $6,000,000

Distributed by: Vestron Pictures


About the film

Dirty Dancing is a musical starring Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey. The year is 1963 and Frances 'Baby' Houseman is going on holiday to Catstill Mountains with her sister, Lisa, and parents Jake and Marjorie. When Baby first sees dance teacher Johnny she develops a crush on him. One evening, she goes out for a walk and she gets chatting with his cousin, Billy. She helps him carry some watermelons up into the secret club where Johnny and a group of other people are 'dirty dancing.' The main club he teaches in specifically does ballroom dancing like the Samba.

When Baby discovers that Penny is pregnant by Robbie the waiter, she borrows $250 from her father for a termination, not informing him what the money is for. This is when Billy suggest that Baby steps in for the weekly dance performance. As she cannot dance, it is up to Johnny to teach her. At the start of the film, you can be quick to assume that Johnny isn't a very nice man. He's a bit of a jack the lad and the ladies love him. He's an excellent dancer, but as the movie progresses we see a different side to Johnny. He gets frustrated with his job and wants to be able to do the dancing he enjoys. We also see how Baby accepts him for who he is. Baby is fedup with the contests the resort is running and wants a bit of fun. So when she meets Johnny, the other dancers and has a chance to try a new way of dancing, she grabs it with both hands. The film takes us on a journey of love, laughter, self-discovery, tears and lots of singing and dancing.

My thoughts

Personally, I love this film. I don't know how many times I've watched it over the years, but I never tire from watching it. A group of people who are bored with the every day goings on in the holiday camp break away to have their own style of dancing and just have a bit of fun. Baby, clearly bored with the silly competitions and events, wants to be part of this. It doesn't take long to for her realise what she's missing. From the start we see how Johnny changes her from her wooden dance moves into a semi-professional dancer. She has her father, Jake, to deal with who has hopes of her going off to university and eventually going into a career that will help change the world. But as it becomes clear throughout the film, you can't always dictate which path your children are going to take in life.

There is a very touching scene in the film where Jake is sitting by the river deep in thought over the disappointment his daughter has caused, and Baby approaches him and tells him her thoughts on the way she has treated him, and how he has treated her.

There's something about this film I just love to watch again and again. The bad boy image of Johnny we see at the beginning is quickly abolished as we see his romance blossoming with Baby and the frustration he has with his job. And, of course, there's there's the music. You can't beat them old songs from the 60's, can you? There's a lot of classic tracks throughout the film that has me singing along and, quite frankly, wishing I was Baby!

The songs in the film

Song
Performer
Big Girls Don't Cry
Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons
Be My Baby
The Ronettes
Where are you Tonight?
Tom Johnson
Do you Love Me?
The Contours
Stay
Maurice Williams & The Zodiacs
Hey! Baby
Bruce Chanel
Overload
Zappacosta
Do Todo Un Poco
Melon
These Arms of Mine
Otis Reading
Some Kind of Wonderful
The Drifters
Cry to Me
Solomon Burke
Will You Love me Tomorrow
The Shirelles
Love is Strange
Mickey & Sylvia
Yes
Merry Clayton
You Don't Own Me
The Blow Monkeys
In The Still of the Night
The Satins
She's Like the Wind
Patrick Swayze
I've Had the Time of my Life
Bill Medly & Jennifer Warnes

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Linda. Yes, I love this film too. =)

    • liesl5858 profile image

      Linda Bryen 

      6 months ago from United Kingdom

      I love dirty dancing and I love Patrick Swayze. Great review Louise, well done.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh you should watch it Jo, it's a great film!

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      6 months ago from Tennessee

      I've never seen this classic film but your review makes me want to watch it.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Larry. =)

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 

      6 months ago from Oklahoma

      A classic, but honestly I was never that crazy about.

      Always enjoy seeing your take on films.

    • Rhyme Vine Poetry profile image

      Tamara Yancosky Moore 

      6 months ago from Uninhabited Regions

      Great review! I have seen the movie several times, too.

      Hugs,

      Tamara

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes I know. He was a wonderful actor. Thanks Flourish.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      6 months ago from USA

      It’s been ages since I watched this. So sad to know what would become of Patrick Swayze.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Linda. Yes, it is a really good film. I'm sure you'd enjoy it!

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      6 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've heard so much about this film and have often seen excerpts from it, but I've never watched the whole movie. I'm determined to do so now that I've read your review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Dora. =)

    • CaribTales profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      6 months ago from The Caribbean

      "The film takes us on a journey of love, laughter, self-discovery, tears and lots of singing and dancing." Great description. Excellent review.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes I do too, it's great. =)

    • Lisa Jane39 profile image

      Lisa Jane 

      6 months ago from Washington

      Great review. I love this movie and have watched it many times. I really love the ending especially when they dance.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Clive. Yes, I like the dirty dancing too. =)

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Margaret. Yes, it's a great film.

    • revmjm profile image

      Margaret Minnicks 

      6 months ago from Richmond, VA

      WOW! What a great hub about "Dirty Dancing." That is one of my favorite films. Like you, I have watched it many times throughout the years.

      I like the research you did for your article. Thank you for sharing that information that also includes your personal opinion.

    • clivewilliams profile image

      Clive Williams 

      6 months ago from Jamaica

      One of my favorite movies. I just like that dirty dance

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)