ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Elling: A DVD Review

Updated on June 19, 2010

An All-Time Favorite

Elling is one of my all time favorite movies, called a "gem" by most reviewers. Elling is the story of two men who are thrown together as unlikely roommates in a mental institution.  When the state deems them ready to face the world, they are given their own apartment and an extremely cool social worker (Jorgen Langhelle) and instructed to make a life for themselves. Elling and Kjell Bjarne bravely go forth into the world and transform themselves from inmates at a mental institution to productive, garden-variety eccentrics. 

Hilarious & Touching

Tremendous Performances!

The title role, Elling, is played by Norwegian actor Per Christian Ellefsen. Kjell Bjarne, his bear of a roommate, and best friend is played by Sven Nordin. Elling is small, fussy, and fastidious. Giant Kjell Bjarne is just downright rambunctious!

Elling: The Movie

Dear Frankie

Jackie Chan: The Myth

Add It To Your Personal Library!

Elling effectively addresses the subject of the validity of encouraging and supporting people with emotional disabilities to be independent and build a place in the world. The relationship the two men are able to build is complex, interesting, heart-warming and hilarious.

The story is absolutely unique and original. Even though some reviewers choose to call it a Norwegian Odd Couple, I would not say that this characterizes it at all. The characters are complex, interesting and complete. The plot is unusual, touching and fun. The entire movie is surprising, but there are definitely some remarkably delightful little surprises along the way. Kjell Bjarne's Christmas present for Elling is a big one. I have felt entertained every single one of the dozen or more times I have watched this movie! If you enjoy foreign films, this is a must have for your personal library.

I absolutely recommend this movie to others. On a scale of 1 - 10, it is an 11. When I first rented it from Blockbuster years ago, I watched it several times, shared it with several friends and ordered my own copy from Amazon right away. I watch Elling happily every couple of months. It is an engaging, creative, enjoyable story peopled with characters I love to visit. I have heard that there are sequels in Norwegian, and I hope they will someday be made available to us here in the U.S.

Elling was nominated for an Academy Award in the Foreign Language Film category in 2001.


Kevin Spacey's production company has bought the rights to Elling. While I hate to see it remade at all, I am glad that it is Kevin Spacey who is doing it. I'm sure he will do a fine job.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • justmesuzanne profile imageAUTHOR

    justmesuzanne 

    6 years ago from Texas

    Many thanks, Happy! I will check out the movies you have recommended. I recently ran across a copy of Elling on VHS at my local Recycled Book Store and snatched it up so that I can also watch it on my bedroom TV (which doesn't have a DVD player)! :D

  • A Happy Man profile image

    A Happy Man 

    6 years ago from Washington State

    I love Norwegian cinema. I have found the country's films to be consistently compelling, original and, well, odd. In a good way. In no small measure because I am the son of a native Norwegian. I grew up in Texas, where you reside, "justmesuzanne". May I suggest "Kitchen Stories", which is a similar but a little different tale also ultimately about male bonding. "The Bothersome Man" and "Trollhunter" are a couple more movies from Norway exploring a bit darker territory but abundantly entertaining just the same. I have not seen "Elling" yet. But your rave review has certainly inspired me to do so now. Voted up on this fun piece here. Happy Viewing and Tasty Popcorn to all!

  • Sammin profile image

    Sammin 

    9 years ago

    It seems that is a great film. I will try to find it. Another good movie I like very much is pursuit of happness.

    Thanks for sharing!

  • justmesuzanne profile imageAUTHOR

    justmesuzanne 

    9 years ago from Texas

    Thanks, Tatjana! :)

  • Tatjana-Mihaela profile image

    Tatjana-Mihaela 

    9 years ago from Zadar, CROATIA

    Seems very interesting movie. And your review is - just excellent and so inspiring.

    Thumbs up!

  • justmesuzanne profile imageAUTHOR

    justmesuzanne 

    9 years ago from Texas

    Thanks! I know you will love this film! What's not to love? :)

  • BkCreative profile image

    BkCreative 

    9 years ago from Brooklyn, New York City

    I so love foreign films! Even better, I love foreign films when they come reviewed and recommended.

    Thanks justmesuzanne! I will look for this one!

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)