ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

FOX (WEB SERIES) Review

Updated on March 30, 2016

Monroe Hayden as Fox

Monroe Hayden as Fox in Fox (Web Series) Courtesy of SkySoft Entertainment LLC.
Monroe Hayden as Fox in Fox (Web Series) Courtesy of SkySoft Entertainment LLC. | Source

FOX: An Engaging Web Show

Unlike most reviewers, I watched the entire first half of the season (the show is currently on break and returns 12 May, 2016) before submitting a review. The show centers around Fox, played by Monroe Hayden, and her secrets regarding dreams. Don't worry, this isn't a Gossip Girl type of show. I would say, in the most highest respects that Fox is a hybrid of Pretty Little Liars, 11.22.63 and American Horror Story. Its characters are teenagers, Mina Abrams, played by Allyson Moyer, is still in high school, and it's a spin off of a teen drama digital novel series, Daisy written by Xavier Haven. Their demographic is going to be teenagers no matter how they cut the cookie. But the psychological aspect of what dreams are and what they mean calls for a more mature audience as well. Call this the teen version of Inception, if you will, yet- the show's focus on dreams also shed light on nightmares which invites a horror aspect to the show that I'm more interested in.

I want to start off from the beginning; the Pilot. When I first saw it, I had a few problems with it- mainly that it was too short and there weren't a lot of characters besides Fox in it to connect with, however, it was always moving. That's the key, isn't it? You can watch any show with a large funding and ultra celebrity status support but if it's not moving or moving slow, it doesn't really matter. Fox's Pilot moved and it moved quickly without feeling too rushed. That's when I realized that I was upset that it was short. I wanted more! Which leads me to the rest of the first half of the season or what television (I guess web series call it too) 1A.

Side Note: For those who are confused what 1A means, basically- a season is split in two parts; 1A and 1B. This makes it easier to shoot in retrospect. The production shoots a certain amount of episodes for the first half (i.e. 1A), takes a break then returns to film the last half. Usually while on break, the show premieres on their platform for viewership. When the cast and crew return to work, the show is usually towards its last episodes of the first half then it goes on break and we, the audience, are given a series of reruns or binge watch the episodes. When the show returns on air, the cast and crew have already finished or are about to.

The entire first half of the season moved fast in the most engaging way. It's not your typical slow paced, suspenseful show we get on prime time television. I do believe it's mostly due to the fact that episodes are short so naturally, it would move fast. This is a crackling, fast paced series which needs to be watched episode by episode. I wouldn't call this high art but it's definitely artistic with respects in the right place and I believe that's the point. The show doesn't take itself seriously in the most fun way. Note how I said "fun way not funny way". It's not making a complete fool of itself but it definitely knows what genre it fits under, the demographic of their audience and how they'll most likely be perceived by society.

The performances are flawed at times but it's normal for a first season cast to have that. They're humans after all portraying fictional characters. The directing is awkward at times too but the fast pacing of each episode doesn't let you think it over and sometimes, you forget to breathe. This is a true definition of a thrill ride!

For filmmakers, when you watch this, you'll get the feeling that the show is very experimental. I think it is. It executes a lot of things in not so traditional ways and it surprisingly works most of the time. Sure, there are times where it just didn't hit it for me but I appreciated the effort the creators made to show me something familiar in a different way. Most TV shows won't ever takes chances to experiment because they're making it with someone else's money. This show, from what I understand, was funded and completely paid for by the makers. So they absolutely have the right to experiment and have the freedom to do so.

Your friends may call shows like Pretty Little Liars the better teen suspenseful show, but I disagree (and yes, I watch Pretty Little Liars.). As far as Pilot's go, Pretty Little Liars will always be better as it had more characters to engage with and a much bigger budget to play with. However, since then it's merely good, sometimes it's great yet it takes itself too seriously and moves at a slower pace but my problem with PLL is that the writing, most of the time and especially in it's newer seasons, feels stale, recycled and boring. There really isn't a reason why it should be that weak but it is. PLL had all the tools to pull off a new kind of teenage drama that was respectful in the adult world but it failed for me. This is why Fox is better, in my opinion. Even in it's first season, the show's writing is engaging, important and clever in ways PLL has yet to do in all its 6 (going on 7). Despite having to watch episode by episode, each is exciting and mysterious (sometimes scary) on its own. It seems like the creators know when something is dull or lagging but instead of slowing down to make their flaws more apparent, they speed up and overdoes things on purpose.

Yes, it is messy at times even silly (when it makes fun of itself) but overall, more intriguing, exciting and just more fun! I hope they make a second season to this. I loved everything about it!

FOX Returns May 12, 2016 on Vimeo

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Theo 

      2 years ago

      Good show. Great article with no spoilers. Monroe hayden is a good actress and an even better creator. A true visionary.

    • profile image

      Kevin G. 

      2 years ago

      Just finished watching. This is an amazing show! I thought it was going to be a total lezzie fest but it wasn't. It's actually really cool. The idea of a separate world where dreams are held and the ability to hear other people's dreams and collide with theirs is whoa! And the love story between the two girls is very important but not in your face. It's actually bittersweet considering the fact it's one sided. It can get messy but it makes up for it and like you said, instead of focusing on the mess it just speeds up and takes you on a ride. I really like this show and wish it were longer and on TV but I like that I can watch it during commercials or during a 15 minute break from work.

    • profile image

      LISA 

      2 years ago

      I love this show! Monroe Hayden is so good and beautiful! Everyone should watch this!

    • profile image

      Greg 

      2 years ago

      Great article! I'm starting the show now!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)