ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Fair Game: Quality Movie Review

Updated on March 15, 2016

"Fair Game"

I just returned from watching a second movie in two weeks that left me angry. The first was the documentary Inside Job which detailed the individuals and events that brought the country and the world to its knees with the collapse of the housing bubble and subprime mortgage market in 2008. Fair Game is a quasi documentary of the Valery Plame affair and the lies about Iraq's alleged weapons of mass destruction by the Bush administration leading up to the invasion of Iraq in March 2003.The title of the movie is a remark attributed to Karl Rove who referred to Valerie Plame as "fair game" following the publication of her husband's NY Times op-ed contesting the White House's "yellow cake from Africa claims."

Fair Game was directed by Doug Liman (director of The Bourne Identity) and written by Jez and John-Henry Butterworth using source material from Plame's and Wilson's books about the episode. Naomi Watts and Sean Penn were superb as Valerie Plame and her husband Joe Wilson. David Andrews captured what I imagine to be Scooter Libby's personality and character. Adam LeFevre was suitably porcine and slimy as Karl Rove. Sam Shepard appeared in a cameo as Sam Plame, Valerie's father. Chet Grissom played the cowardly director of CIA operations, who bore a striking resemblance to Bush's CIA director George Tenet. Brian McComish played Steven Hadley and Michael Goodwin, David Addington who, with Libby, at Dick Cheney's behest, ran a shadow CIA operation cherry picking "intelligence" which they used to pressure the CIA to accede to their false claims that Iraq had an active nuclear weapons program, mobile biological laboratories and stocks of poison gas as well as to the dramatic claim by Bush on television before the invasion that Iraq had bought yellow cake uranium from Niger. Bush and Cheney were depicted with television news clips.

The movie interwove two themes--the battle between the Cheney and his henchmen and the CIA over intelligence on WMD and the outing of Valerie Plame as a CIA agent following her husband's op-ed disputing the false yellow cake uranium claim by President Bush and-- the damaging effect Plame's outing and dismissal by the CIA had on her marriage to Wilson. They were separated for a period after Plame's 34-year career at CIA was ended by the Bush administration's revelation that she was employed by the intelligence agency following Wilson's op-ed denying the administration's claim that Iraq had bought yellow cake uranium from Niger. Scooter Libby took the fall for others in the Bush administration (presumably Cheney and Rove) and was indicted and convicted of perjury and obstruction of justice and sentenced for his role in Plame's outing. His sentence was commuted quickly by President Bush, but Bush refused, to Cheney's chagrin, to pardon Libby so that he would be able to resume his career as a lawyer.

The movie ended with an eloquent speech by Sean Penn/Joe Wilson about the meaning of our republic and the duty of all citizens to help preserve and protect it. I hope the speech will be available on YouTube. Everyone should watch it.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Harvey, my wife and I are enjoying "Emerald Eyes," your warm and entertaining family memoir.

    • Harvey Stelman profile image

      Harvey Stelman 

      7 years ago from Illinois

      Ralph, Never saw the movie, so I can't agree or disagree. I'm just worried about my poor book. H

    • Jeff May profile image

      Jeffrey Penn May 

      7 years ago from St. Louis

      To eovery, gee, I didn't realize that President Clinton had captured Bin Laden and just let him go. No doubt, someone will make a movie about that. Why haven't I heard about it. Must be those damn lame stream media types.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks.

    • profile image

      JBunce 

      7 years ago from Minneapolis, Minnesota

      You won't get any disagreement from me on this one. Great review. I'm going to post a link to your review under my review of the film.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      The facts are that the Bush administration, in violation of the law, revealed the identity of a covert CIA agent and then covered it up. This endangered CIA sources of information, led to false conclusions about non-existent WMD, ruined the career of an outstanding CIA agent and nearly ruined her marriage. Bush ignored Wilson's report that the yellow cake from Niger story was phony and made a fool of himself before the world asserting that Iraq was "buying yellow cake uranium from Africa." Bush may not have known that this was not true, but the CIA did and Cheney and his henchmen did. Perhaps you should watch "Inside Job" and "Fair Game" and then make up your mind. But it's clear, as usual, you've already made up your mind. Anyway, thanks for your comment.

      [It's true that the movie did embroider the story a bit, but the basic facts are beyond dispute, except by the likes of Beck, Hannity, Limbaugh and Bachman.)

    • eovery profile image

      eovery 

      7 years ago from MIddle of the Boondocks of Iowa

      Where is the outrage when Clinton let Osama Bin Ladin go. Where is the outrage on the other things that went on before Bush?

      I won't see movies like this because I do not think they are very factual, but are biased and prejudice.

      You can be mad if you want, but check the facts first.

      Where the rage on the fact that Bawney Fwank and other top democrats would not let Bush and congress regulate the banks before this all fell through. It appears it was foreseen, but the dems would not let it happen.

      Keep on hubbing!

    • Jeff May profile image

      Jeffrey Penn May 

      7 years ago from St. Louis

      I want to see both of these movies. Thanks.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)