ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Film Dunkirk Review

Updated on August 14, 2017

Plot

400,000 soldiers waiting to evacuate Dunkirk while the German armed forces have surrounded them. Lives are at stake when the soldiers wait helplessly for rescue boats to take them home while the enemy begins to move in and try to destroy them. Dunkirk is a true story about a battle for survival in the infamous second World War. Christopher Nolan brings this epic and tragic story to the big screen. Starring Harry Styles, Tom Hardy and Cillian Murphy, the story of this event is told in three parts that come together.

Dunkirk tells of the act of survival as many soldiers await their journey back home. While the German forces have surrounded these men from the air as well as the ground, Dunkirk becomes a battlefield and the events unfold which history would later describe as infamous fight of survival. Survival is victory . The British, Belgium and French soldiers who are targeted do what they can in order to survive and try to make it back to their homes.


The true story of Dunkirk is told in three parts. From the ground, from the air and from the sea. These stories will all intertwine and explain the events of history as we watch the events unfold.


Final Thoughts and Rating

One of my favorite time periods in history are the events of World War II. Saving Private Ryan has always been my favorite war film since I first originally saw the movie. What I loved about Spielberg's epic war movie is how realistic the film was. And how he places you right in the middle of the action. I feel Nolan does the same thing with Dunkirk. Using minimal CGI effects, and using real Spitfire planes, boats and real WW2 battle ships, Nolan does a great job with making this film feel real.

During the plane scenes you feel like you are right in the action because you really are. Nolan rode in a few of the planes while filming to give the audience that feel as if you are in the cockpit flying the plane yourself. As soon as the film begins, you are right in Dunkirk. This film does not worry about backstory or character development. The film starts right at the evacuation point and the film unfolds their.

I really enjoyed this film because I feel as if I experienced the events of Dunkirk. Experience this tragic situation that happened to those men on the beaches. Dunkirk does a great job of telling this true story without having to rely on lengthy scripts or creative story telling. It just starts and ends with the events of Dunkirk. You follow three stories that come together with some great war action and battle suspense. The realism of this film is what sets Dunkirk apart from other war films.

I would rate this film an eight out of ten with ten being the highest. Though it did not out perform Saving Private Ryan, Dunkirk does a marvelous job of keeping the effects and story as real as possible. Nolan once again proves why he is one of the best filmmakers in cinema. And Hans Zimmer once again delivers a powerful music score that keeps the films climatic scenes music intense.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Kitty88 profile image

      Kitty88 

      11 months ago

      You do a good review.Very nice writing

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      I hope you like Kitty. Thanks for the comment

    • Kitty88 profile image

      Kitty88 

      11 months ago

      A very useful review.I must see this.There are many films made of WW2 but this sound simportant

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      12 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Its worth a watch Eric. It really isn't hard to follow. It tells three separate stories on the day of that event. Thanks for stopping by.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 

      12 months ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      I just do not like movies without continuity. Jumping back and forth just seems disconcerting. But you have proclaimed it comes together nicely. So I think your 8 means I should see it.

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      12 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Harry did a great job at acting. Nolan said the back lash that Harry got when casted reminded him of the back last Heath Ledger got when he was cast as Joker. I hope you enjoy the film Mary.

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 

      12 months ago from Brazil

      It is one my husband has said we should see. We have heard such good things about it. The fact that few CGI are used is a bonus, all of the films were beginning to look the same.

      My husband was surprised that I knew who Harry Styles was. What can I say, I like pop music.

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      12 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Linda, sorry to hear that. Yeah WW2 and many other wars are not nice subject. And these soldiers at Dunkirk just wanted to go home. And they are being picked off like fish in a barrel. Makes you realize war is stupid unnecessary most times. Thank you for sharing.

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      12 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Violet, let me know what you think. And thank you for the commment

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 

      12 months ago from Washington State, USA

      Ryan, I also have always appreciated the films of WWII. But the story, especially in Europe is always bittersweet. My olderst sister was engaged to a wonderful young man who lost his life on D-Day. My sis never found another love and died a spinster, without spouse or children. I always wonder what her life would have been like if she had married and had a family of her own. Yes, I will probably see this movie. Thanks for the great review.

    • Violets3 profile image

      Violet 

      12 months ago from California

      ohhhh. Totally on my to-watch list! Great review!

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      12 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      It is a bit disjointed because you are following three story lines that are at different parts of time during the day. But it all comes together at the end. It was great.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      12 months ago from USA

      My husband is a big history buff so I have promised to see it with him. My teenaged daughter has already seen it and found it disjointed but maybe that's her teenage attention span.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)