ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

For Colored Girls: Movie Review

Updated on November 19, 2010
Now playing in theaters everywhere!
Now playing in theaters everywhere!

4.0

Based on the Obie Award winning play in 1975 by Ntozake Shange, which is originally titled, 'For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf' , For Colored Girls film adaptation comes to the big screen by writer, producer and director, Tyler Perry under new company, 34th Street Films and distributed by Lion Gates Entertainment. Tyler Perry rewrites the script fitting quite well the intensity of the poems and monologues from the play into the film. For Colored Girls doesn't slow down a bit as there was one scenario after another. The lives of nine women were passing each other by daily, almost without notice. Somehow, they all come together.

When For Colored Girls was first released, many viewers immediately felt the film is about Black women or colored girls male bashing especially Black men, but not quite. Although there were issues in the film, the women were experiencing by the hands of some men negatively, there were negative traits about the women as well. The character, Jo portrayed by mega singer and actress, Janet Jackson who's color is red appeared to be very controlling, but vulnerable at the same time. It shows that Black independent women can still be looked at as intimidating to a certain degree. Thandie Newton's Tangie (orange) is a loud talking whore with jealousy of her young sister, Nyla, Tessa Thompson (purple) who is a school girl close to following the path of Tangie and lies about the use of money she needs. Academy award winner, Whoopi Goldberg and her character who's color is white is the mother of Tangie and Nyla and has a gloomy, twisted fate of religion. For Colored Girls has an all-star female cast of AA actresses including Kerry Washington (blue), Loretta Divine (green), Anika Noni Rose (yellow) Kimberly Elise and Phylicia Rashad as brown to black along with Macy Gray.

For Colored Girls seems to focus on a variety of social ills. These social ills will live on in the world as long as life exists. It could be anything from relationships, abuse, domestic violence, murder, rape, which can turn desert for disaster, abortion, envy, promiscuity, sexuality, safe sex to STD awareness. There were even those sad, depressing moments of the film about trying to save children with the inability to produce own. It affects both women and men.

Among the women, there is a pretty good cast of actors in For Colored Girls such as Hill Harper (The Nephew, He Got Game), Khalil Kain (Juice, Love Jones) Richard Lawson (Bluehill Avenue), Michael Ealy (Barbershop, Miracle at St. Anna) and Omari Hardwick. They played intricate roles in the women's lives. Its an array of possible good versus evil. The men even had their own problems from alcoholism to staying monogamous with one person. More than likely, Hill Harper's detective role seems to be the nicest on purpose.

Right now, For Colored Girls is the most discussed movie today and arguably Tyler Perry's best, controversial film yet. It will change the culture of both Black women and men. For Tyler Perry fans and for those who remember The Women of Brewster Place, For Colored Girls is a film to see. All right! Besides Turkey Day, this month seems to really be about celebrating Black Women. With the recent airing on November 7 of Black Girls Rock on BET, its definitely their moment. This month should be called Womenber. Well, Black Fridays won't be the only focus anymore....

© 2010, Alphonso Taylor. All rights reserved. No republication of this material, in any form or medium, is permitted without express permission of the author.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Alphonso Taylor profile imageAUTHOR

      Alphonso Taylor 

      7 years ago from Washington, DC

      Thanks, Tinisha! I really appreciate your feedback. Yes, I had to go see 'For Colored Girls' to know what the hype is all about because there were a lot of heated discussions about plain and simple, Black men and women. It almost felt as if, there were a lot of male bashing and that's what I thought the movie was really about before even going to see it. It was like, Black men were the blame and we aren't nothing when it comes to Black women and relationships. Yes, I went to go see the movie by myself as well. I've been going to the movies lately on my own because of the simple fact, I'm single and my friends and family are pretty much doing their thing. So, I'm used to it. Seeing 'For Colored Girls' alone anyway had given me a better understanding of the film and there were even parts, when I cried as well. So overall, its really a touchy and heavy movie. Well, once again Tunisha, thank you! I'll be in touch.

    • tinisha12 profile image

      tinisha12 

      7 years ago from Denver, Colorado

      I know I'm super late but...I really liked this movie. It wasn't publicized a lot. At least not in the state I live in (Denver, Colorado) I saw this movie I think about 3 weeks ago, or something like that. I wanted to see it so bad because I heard so much about it online, that I went by myself. That was the first time I'd every went to the movies by myself. But I went in the morning, and there were only like 5 people in the movie theater.

      Anyway...great movie. I loved how every woman's life was different. You could somehow relate to at least one woman in the movie. I agree with your post that the movie dealt with a variety of social issues.

      Lastly I want to say the following...you brought up an extremely good point breaking down the colors and what they represented for each women. I didn't even think about that...until Now. Very good analysis. Great Post!!

    • Alphonso Taylor profile imageAUTHOR

      Alphonso Taylor 

      7 years ago from Washington, DC

      I hope you do see it this weekend, Shani. Its really good.

    • profile image

      Shani D.  

      7 years ago

      Womember, that has a nice ring to it :) Interesting review. I hope I get to see the movie this weekend.

      Peace!

    • Alphonso Taylor profile imageAUTHOR

      Alphonso Taylor 

      7 years ago from Washington, DC

      Yes, Cheri! You should really go see it. Its a heavy movie. I hope you enjoy it.

    • Heart Felt Book profile image

      Cheri Taylor 

      7 years ago from New York, NY

      great review! now I really need to go see this.. I am waiting on my sister lol... and your right about how people thought of it being stereo typed... Great hub thanks

    • Alphonso Taylor profile imageAUTHOR

      Alphonso Taylor 

      7 years ago from Washington, DC

      Yep, it sure is White. Whoopi Goldberg basically wore the same thing throughout the movie.

    • pointblank009 profile image

      pointblank009 

      7 years ago from Buffalo

      Interesting how Whoopie's color is white: https://hubpages.com/politics/BelovedPreciouscantE...

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)