ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Forever Strong Movie Review - Not Really A Mormon Story

Updated on September 1, 2011

Forever Strong - A Rugby Movie

THE GREATEST VICTORIES ARE BORN IN THE HEART
THE GREATEST VICTORIES ARE BORN IN THE HEART

Forever Strong, A Rugby Movie - Has a Mormon background...


UPDATE: FOREVER STRONG is now on DVD -- so if you missed it due to its limited release in movie theatres - you can buy your own copy. Forever Strong is the most inspirational sports movies of 2008 - and is one that you will watch over and over again.


"Forever Strong", which boasts an all-star cast , won a "Truly Moving Picture" award, from the Heartland Film Festival. This is an extraordinary movie, that you won't want to miss.

Although not necessarily a "Mormon" movie, it takes its story from the LDS community. This film is based on Utah's Highland Rugby Team, and tells the story of a former seminary teacher, who coaches the local high school rugby team, to win 18 national championships. The important values of family, respect and honor - are the core principles, that Coach Larry Gelwix, instills through the game of rugby; into his team players. Be sure and watch the YouTube video about Larry Gelwix himself, below.

The film Forever Strong itself, never mentions any LDS details. It is a movie made for the masses. A movie of values, commitment and hard work. It is a movie, that as a member of the LDS Church, I join many others, who also desire more uplifting family movies -- and would like to see more of the same. It is critical, that in order for film makers to continue to produce quality family movies, that the public needs to support movies like, "Forever Strong".

"Forever Strong" is a family movie, but not necessarily intended for small children. The movies has been rated PG-13.

"Forever Strong is a drama/sport film directed by Ryan Little and written by David Pliler to be released in the fall of 2008. The film stars Gary Cole, Sean Faris, Neal McDonough, Sean Astin, Penn Badgley and Arielle Kebbel. The film is about a troubled rugby union player who must play against the team his father coaches at the national championships. Forever Strong is based on a true story." Wiki

Plot

"Talented but troubled high school rugby player Rick Penning (Sean Faris) loses his position as the star of an Arizona rugby union team when he is sentenced to a boys' home in Salt Lake City. Rick ends up playing for Salt Lake's famous Highland High School rugby team, coached by Larry Gelwix (Gary Cole), in the national championships - against his old team, which is coached by his father, Neal Penning (Neal McDonough). Emily (Arielle Kebbel) is Rick's love interest, and Marcus (Sean Astin) is his social worker." Wiki

Forever Strong Movie Trailer - Mormon

Forever Strong - Movie Reviews:

The Salt Lake Tribune - Sean P. Means

"Forever Strong" moves briskly, allowing plenty of room for character development and gritty game action. Little makes his micro-budgeted movie look bigger than it is, thanks in part to young talent such as Faris, Penn Badgley ("Gossip Girl") and Arielle Kebbel ("John Tucker Must Die") as a current teammate's sister.

This film was screened at the LDS Film Festival in Orem, Utah earlier this year. Here is one participants review of THE film, Forever Strong.

"I saw this film at the LDS Film Festival earlier this year. It's pretty good. It's along the lines of Saints and Soldiers in that it is not explicitly about Mormons. The story takes place in Utah (Salt Lake). It is based on true stories from the coaching career of Larry Gelwix (the "Getaway Guru" for those of you who listen to KSL), who is perhaps the most successful high school rugby coach in the United States. I believe he is LDS. The film's language is very mild, and there is virtually no skin and no sensuality.

The movie does not include any religious exposition, and the LDS Church is never mentioned. Rather, the film focuses on moral themes that - like we saw in Saints and Soldiers - are understandable by just about anyone.

Is it a film for the ages? No. But it's a solid story with a good message and quite family-friendly. I will support this movie financially as I try to do for most well-made family-friendly films."

-Smac

FOREVER STRONG MOVIE - FAMILY, RESPECT AND HONOR

Sean Bagley in "Forever Strong".
Sean Bagley in "Forever Strong".
A RUGBY MOVIE
A RUGBY MOVIE

Forever Strong - Coach Larry Gelwix's Story is EXTRAORDINARY!

LdsNana-Acknowledgements and Requests -


Thank you for reading this hub about FOREVER STRONG, a movie for those who value quality entertainment. If you have enjoyed this article, please give it a BIG THUMBS-UP!

As always, I am appreciative of the many online sources for pictures, reviews, references and video - that enhance a story. If you are aware of credit for pictures, etc... for anything on this hub, please let me know so that I can make sure that due credit is given.

tDMg

Please leave your thoughts and opinions about the movie - FOREVER STRONG

Submit a Comment

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    7 years ago from Southern California

    My pleasure. Enjoy the film!

  • Barbsbitsnpieces profile image

    Barbara Anne Helberg 

    7 years ago from Napoleon, Henry County, Ohio, USA

    @LdsNana-AskMormon...As a lover of sports and their inspirational impact, I found this Hub about Utah's Highland Rugby team very intriquing and plan to see the film. Thanks for sharing this!

  • profile image

    Jetem 

    7 years ago

    This movie has just changed my life... It motivated me to be better in the church, get physically fit, and become a better man... Thank you...

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    9 years ago from Southern California

    Maoriboy -

    I had no idea. Thanks for the information.

    tDMg

    LdsNana-AskMormon

  • profile image

    Maoriboy 

    9 years ago

    I thought the movie was pretty good;good story and very good acting im going to send a copy to my mates back in New Zealand so they can have a laugh.Its a good movie for the U.S but not for anyone else.I was very offended when they performed the Ka Mate(Haka) and his Ta Moko(Tatu) Its a gift from Ngati Toa to the All Blacks and is not to be performed without permission from either the NZRFU or Ngati Toa.Its Exclusive and ive seen american teams do it for football and its a joke ,leave the Indigenous hawaiians to do their Ha'a.

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    9 years ago from Southern California

    Mormon Soprano -

    I too, enjoyed the video about Coach Larry Gelwix, and his Highland rugby soccer team. It was apparent to me, that this man has grit! This is a movie that should be seen, and if possible - a great movie to actually see in a theater.

    Forever Strong is an inspiring movie, that teaches the prinicples that good people value most.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment.

    tDMg

    LdsNana-AskMormon

  • profile image

    Sassy7 

    9 years ago

    As a polynesian and and a dancer of hula...this movie surely showed what hula and the haka are all about...we dance to represent our ancestors, to share the language of our people, to help others understand the true essense of our culture and who we come from....Whether we sing, dance, play or do anything in our lives, who we are and who we represent should be upfront in our lives always...I always tell my dancers before a show, that they perform to represent their family, their makua's (parents), their kupuna (grandparents) and that if they dance with their hearts the beauty of the dance will be felt and understood.

    When I first moved here from Hawaii 2 years ago..I was very offended by the lack of knowledge people had in the value of the Haka being performed at games here in Utah...the newspaper's cited...the "Taunting" of other teams and so forth, and so I sent off emails to various new's teams to correct the meaning of the "Haka". I am so pleased and was very moved to tears when "FINALLY" some body got it RIGHT!!!! in this movie.

    To the director, actors and everyone involved...I say MAHALO! FAA FE TAI! for a movie that finally dipeicted my polynesian culture right...We are raised that way...Know who you are, remember whom you came from, and remember that your kupuna's (ancestor's) are always with you. They are the reason we are here to continue to "Kia Mau" their values and represent them well.

    I'm buying this DVD...hope it comes out before Christmas!!!!!

    Again......Awesome movie!!!! Awesome Mana!!!!! Ku'e!!!!! Kia Mau!!!!!!

  • The How To Hub profile image

    The How To Hub 

    9 years ago from Australia

    This movie isn't out here yet, but it would be good to see.

  • profile image

    Mormon Soprano 

    9 years ago

    Great Page, Nana!

    I especially enjoyed watvhing the KUTV special on Coach Gelwix. What an awesome leader he is!

    I have lived in Utah all of my life and never knew about the Highland Rugby team success. I look forward to watching this movie. Once in awhile a movie comes along that is worth investing to watch in the theatre instead of waiting for RedBox. It looks like this may be one of them.

    _____

    BTW, regarding the mission thread running here: I served a mission in Wisconsin. It may not have been a "foreign country" for me, but it still managed to feel that way sometimes! I have several hair-raising survival stories involving; severe weather, a car crash, a morgue, mice, cockroaches, bedbugs, ghosts and a companion from Hells Kitchen. :) Latter-day Saint missions offer a lot of unexpected faith building experiences, no matter where one serves! (however, I'm very glad that rats never chewed on my feet)

  • profile image

    Claudia Goldstein 

    9 years ago

    I haven't seen this movie yet, I would go see it if it gets to a theatre. I did enjoy The other side of Heaven a few years ago I found it in a video store.

  • Onusonus profile image

    Onusonus 

    9 years ago from washington

    My wife showed me "The other side of heaven," she lived in Kiribati for a few years and got reactivated into the church in Samoa.

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    9 years ago from Southern California

    Cheff Jeff -

    Was your wife ever active in the LDS Church? Just curious.

    Regardless of where any LDS missionary serves, every single one of them - have amazing stories to tell. It is a unique experience to serve a mission for the Mormon Church. They never know what they are going to encounter. LOL

    tDMg

    LdsNana-AskMormon

  • Chef Jeff profile image

    Chef Jeff 

    9 years ago from Universe, Milky Way, Outer Arm, Sol, Earth, Western Hemisphere, North America, Illinois, Chicago.

    My wife's nephew did his LDS missionary work here in the U.S. and now lives here with his American wife. He had a lot of stories to tell!

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    9 years ago from Southern California

    Willis -

    I'm with you:-) I too, loved the movie "Saints and Soldiers". I have seen it a few times, and I am always so inspired. It is a favorite movie, of the LDS "background" types. I do so hope, that "Forever Strong", has a similar power to it.

    tDMg

    LdsNana-AskMormon

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    9 years ago from Southern California

    Chef Jeff -

    Why yes I do!  That was the LDS movie "The Other Side of Heaven", a wonderful film.  Like "Forever Strong", it too, was a true story.  I remember the same creepy scene.  LOL 

    But seriously, many Mormon missionaries have some really amazing stories, that are similar - that they tell when returning home from their missions.  Of course, these stories come from those who have served in more remote countries.

    tDMg

    LdsNana-AskMormon

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Other_Side_of_Hea...

  • Chef Jeff profile image

    Chef Jeff 

    9 years ago from Universe, Milky Way, Outer Arm, Sol, Earth, Western Hemisphere, North America, Illinois, Chicago.

    Do you remember a movie about an LDS missionary who went to a Pacific Ocean island? One scene I remember is that he didn't cover his feet at night and the rats chewed on the bottoms. Can't remember much else, other than he had to prove himself and finally did.

  • profile image

    Willis Whitlock 

    9 years ago

    I look forward to seeing it. Hasn't shown up around these parts yet. I may have to go to it.

    I very much like the stories with LDS characters that don't depend on the Mormon inside jokes to get by. My favorite is "Saints and Soldiers." But like I said, I haven't seen Forever Strong yet

  • LdsNana-AskMormon profile imageAUTHOR

    Kathryn Skaggs 

    9 years ago from Southern California

    Is This Mike On?

    That's great! I love inspirational movies, with family values. It is my understanding, that FOREVER STRONG - is exactly that!

    tDMg

    LdsNana-AskMormon

  • profile image

    Is This Mike On 

    9 years ago

    I loved this movie. Very moving and inspirational. I hope to see it again.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)