ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Freaks (1932) Film Review

Updated on July 28, 2017

The characters of Hans & Cleopatra

Source

The main cast

The Actor
The Character
Olga Baclanova
Cleopatra
Harry Earles
Hans
Daisy Earles
Frieda
Henry Victor
Hercules

Characters from the film

Freaks Synopsis

  • Released: 1932
  • Running time: 64 minutes
  • Genre: Horror, Drama
  • Director: Tod Browning
  • Budget: $610,307 (approx)
  • Label: MGM

When it comes to horror films, this one goes down in history as probably one of the most controversial ones ever made. Director Tod Browning had previously worked for a traveling circus when he ran away from home at the age of 16, so had some prior knowledge of the trade when he directed this film. Right from the very start of the film we see something that will shock most people - a woman that is half woman and have bird. And as the man is talking, he tells the onlooking crowd that these people did not ask to be born, but born into the world they were. Back in those days when they have freak shows, people thought nothing of going to see these people in circuses and to be amused and shocked at what they saw. It was normal back then to call these people with deformities of all kinds freaks. Yes, it is sad when you think about it nowadays, but that was the norm back then.

The basis of the story is Cleopatra is, with want of a better word, a normal human sized human being. When she discovers Hans is to inherit a large amount of money, she plans to marry him. Cleopatra is the trapeze artist in the circus. She plots with Hercules, who is the strongman in the circus, to slowly poison Hans and thus get the money. With Hans being only about 4 foot tall they do, indeed, make an unlikely pair. But poor little Hans has fallen for the beautiful and seductive Cleopatra and is blind to what she is doing. Daisy Earle plays the character of Frieda. Daisy Earle is Harry's sister in real life. Frieda, whom Hans had a previous engagement with, tries to warn Hans of what's going on, we see how really blind love can be.

"She is the most beautiful big woman I have ever seen."

— Hans

The opening scene in the film

The release of the film

Harry and Daisy Earles were not the only people in the film with physical disabilities. Other people who starred in the film were:-

  • Olga Roderick - The Bearded Lady
  • Daisy and Violet Hilton - The Siamese Twins
  • Josephine Joseph - Half Woman Half Man
  • Peter Robinson - Human Skeleton

These are just a few of the actors who were in the film. When it was released, the film was met with shock and horror from people who went to see it, as you can well imagine. Freaks was banned in England for 30 years. I remember watching this one night a few years ago on television. When I first watched it, it did intrigue me at how people were regarded in those days - especially people with disabilities. The film was also banned in some states of the USA. Tod Browning's career after its release had a knock on effect and had trouble finding work. Even after being heavily edited and scenes deleted from the film, people still found this a shocking movie to watch. Tod directed 4 films after Freaks, but this undoubtedly was a turning point in his career.

Even though the film had a largely negative response when it was released back in 1932, and a failure for MGM, it seems to have a cult following with todays film geeks. The ban has since been lifted in England, and the film is available on DVD. How this film affected those that starred in the film, I don't know. But it has certainly gone down in history.

Freaks Official Trailer

My Thoughts

This is a film that bemuses and astounds me. It highlights the fact that these poor people were exploited because of who they looked. But not only that, it shows that they are, after all, people with a heart and feelings. Yes, they can love, hate, cry, and be hurt. As in the character of Hans, we see how Cleopatra takes advantage of him and uses him. I did feel sorry for him.

The film is just over 1 hour long, but I feel it's a strong and emotive one. It's definitely one that will get people talking and debating. It's hard to say whether I would recommend this film or not. It's not the kind of film everyone will want to watch. Personally, I watched it because I was intrigued more than anything. And with these people being used as circus acts at the time, it's sad to know that this was, in fact, reality. Just out of interest, Harry Earles, who played Hans, played one of the characters in The Wizard of Oz as a member of The Lollipop Guild.

The DVD copy I own has a few interesting extras on it which I found useful to watch:-

  1. Documentary by David K Skaal
  2. Freaks: Sideshow Cinema
  3. Special Message Prologue
  4. Alternative Endings

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      12 months ago from Ohio

      Sounds like it would be an interesting movie. I may like because "they are people with a heart and feelings".

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      12 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      I've always meant to see this movie, and hope to make time for it at some point.

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 

      13 months ago from England

      Hi, I had heard about this before but hadn't seen any clips for years. I remember I had a book called 'Freaks' which to be honest wouldn't be allowed these days. I do remember reading somewhere that the people in those type of films actually loved doing it as it gave them money. fascinating and disturbing.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      15 months ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      I couldn't help but reflect on the movie "The Elephant Man" as I read through this review. I felt so sorry for the way people treated and abused him. Thank goodness times have changed for the better and society has matured for the most part.

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      16 months ago from Bangalore

      Great read.

      I remember when I was a kid and visited circus, I always felt bad for the jokers who usually were short people, I could not understand, how could people laugh at them and not see the pain behind the person being exploited.

      I admire Peter Dinklage as I feel he has shown a new perspective to us.

      - hari

    • MFB III profile image

      MFB III 

      17 months ago from United States

      I thoroughly enjoyed your review and will have to see the movie.

      As A young man i spent quite a handfull of change checking out what was freaky at the carnivals that camm around and offered up strange delights to ponder.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      17 months ago from USA

      It's sad that we once exploited people like this. Your review was well done and sensitive to the issue.

    • KayleeMayy profile image

      KayleeMayy 

      18 months ago

      I really enjoyed this!!! Very informative and well made!!

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      18 months ago from Southern Illinois

      I enjoyed your review, and I watched the trailer. It is sad that these people were exploited for their birth defects. I'm glad we no longer want to see this, but I must admit there's something about their looks that intrigues me.

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      18 months ago from Queensland Australia

      This was an interesting review. I have heard about this movie but only watched a few clips. Yes it would have been shocking at the time. I wrote a hub called "Trapped in a Freak Show" about the same subject.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)