ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Glory: A Movie Review

Updated on June 8, 2012

Glory: The Original Trailer

General Information

Runtime: 122 Minutes



Budget: $18,000,000



Gross: $26, 830, 000



Rating: Rated R for brutal war violence.

"They fought for honor and found glory"

"Glory" was released December 15, 1989 under the production of Edward Zwick. The main actors in this movie are Morgan Freeman, Mathhew Broderick, and Denzel Washington, who portray the 54th regiment in one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.

Before I give my opinion of this movie, I want to start off by sharing with my readers one of the negative aspects that is conveyed by some people out there. And that is that this movie was a potentially racist movie because it was seen mostly through the eyes of the regiment leader, Robert Shaw as opposed to one of the black soldiers in the regiment. This is preposterous, if one has any knowledge of the background of this movie. This movie was based on the letters Robert Shaw was writing and he is the narrator of this movie. So why shouldn't the movie be seen through his eyes? Now granted, I think Washington and Freeman are the better actors. But, that just means that there should of been a better lead actor other than Broderick. I think the director's goal was to show his viewers how a white man reacted to the blacks. Maybe he didn't believe viewers would sympathize with the blacks unless they saw a white man's reaction. Anyways, like I said before, this racism complaint is absurd. This movie has nothing to do with racism, it is the telling of how black men, primarily free but also slaves lead by white men, give their all(their everything) in a seemingly lost battle.

Now that I have hopefully cleared that up let's talk about the movie. I will not be sharing too much about the movie, because it is a must see for those war movie buffs out there. I will say that this movie is the best war movie I have ever seen mainly because of the chemistry between Freeman, Washington, and Broderick. Like I all ready mentioned, I believe there could of been a better lead actor than Broderick, it does not take much away from the movie. I also enjoy the themes brilliantly portrayed in this movie: friendship, devotion, and courage. In one of the most desecrating battles of the civil war, where the 54th regiment was running uphill practically into gunfire, courage and devotion was the only thing that could possibly get them through. Director Zwick did a remarkable job interweaving these ideas together through excellent acting and cinematography. "Glory" won three academy awards in 1989, including best cinematography.

Before, I finish my review I want to leave with you a short dialogue from the movie.

" Lord, we stand before you this evening, to say thank you! And we thank you, father, for your grace, and your many blessings! Now I run off, leaving all my young'uns and my kinfolk, in bondage. So I'm standing here this evening, Heavenly Father, to ask your blessings on all of us. So that if tomorrow is the great getting-up morning, if that tomorrow we have to meet the Judgement Day, O Heavenly Father, we want you to let our folks know that we died facing the enemy! We want 'em to know that we went down standing up! Amongst those that are fighting against our oppression. We want 'em to know, Heavenly Father, that we died for freedom! We ask these blessings in Jesus' name. Amen! "

So, in conclusion, this movie is an excellent portrayal of courage and devotion even in the hardships of war. I would highly recommend it to anyone out there who loves war history. Even if you are not a fan, you will be touched by the compelling acting of the main characters and the themes so brilliantly conveyed in this movie.

What are your thoughts? Concerns? Was this movie a success? Who would you of chosen to play Broderick's role?

Did you enjoy this movie?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Alastar,

      Thanks for your awesome feedback on this movie! The blooper was interesting,t hanks for the addition! Have a great day!

    • Alastar Packer profile image

      Alastar Packer 

      5 years ago from North Carolina

      To start off--anyone who thinks this film is racist because it being seen largely through Shaw's perspective is not only ignorant but adrift in the clueless sea of life big-time. Your absolutely right about the absurdity of that josh. This was a good movie and impressed me at the time 'cause it was the first I'd seen of reenactors for both combatants employed in a major film. Here's some blooper fun josh- in the scene where Denzel is struggling with the Reb in one frame a hat is on and in the next its off. And its no secret that at the time Broaderick was partaking of the white powder some- and even though he gave a good performance overall at one point where the 54th is going by, right before the scene ends he can be seen starting to giggle! Vote this review up!

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      You are welcome have a good day M!

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Ok sure thing! Great!

      Thanks a lot :)

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Ok, the first two are the ones I did here, and then transferred over to the blog, the others would be all new to you...hey I will tweet you the link tomorrow...

      I don't want to get in trouble for promoting other websites in the comments lol

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      wow, please send. i would like to read first the review before i watch it :)

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Ok M, you have to let me know what you think when you watch it; also I should send you a link sometime to my blogger site have about 13 movies that I have reviewed on there.

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      hehehe! sounds good J!

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Then you probably won't like this one too much lol :) But the themes and acting is impeccable, so maybe that will balance things out for you.

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      nope..im not that into soldiers and wars..or battles.. (sounds weird** hehehe

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      If you don't mind a graphic movie, you will be fine :) Have you seen Saving Private Ryan?

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      okay..sounds interesting :)

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Great! Sounds good! It is an awesome movie!

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      not yet.. im kinda into animes..hehehe but since i got a suggestion from you, i will find this movie and watch.

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Aww thanks M!, Have you seen Law Abiding Citizen, that's my other movie review on here! :)

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 

      6 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Never seen this movie J. But you really write good reviews!

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you for the compliment, that is a great idea, I might watch it too!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      6 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I loved this movie and your review is right on! In fact, I need to watch this again....this weekend is as good a time as any. Great review!

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      I actually agree with you all the way, good analysis! Thank you for the votes Matt!

    • mattdigiulio profile image

      mattdigiulio 

      6 years ago

      One of my favorite movies. You done good! Denzel is great in this, and I think Broderick is not so bad in this role, because he plays kind of a diminutive guy. The movie shows the courage of the black soldiers and the struggles they had to go through, and so Broderick's character couldn't have been a really strong, charismatic one himself (like Harrison Ford or Mel Gibson) because then he would have just steamrolled the other actors while on screen. I think the movie made a fair choice, and I don't think we're meant to love Broderick here. Just my thought. I don't know. Probably wrong.

      Anyways, great review! Voting up, interesting, useful. Best, Matt

    • josh3418 profile imageAUTHOR

      Joshua Zerbini 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you very much for your compliments and vote; I really appreciate it!

    • Suelynn profile image

      Suelynn 

      6 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Lovely review, Josh! I agree with your sentiments. I saw this movie a few years ago but it did leave an indelible impression on me - and made me cry! Watching the trailer, and reading your hub made me think of a poem I once stood up and delivered in class when I was 12 years old. If you have never read it, I highly recommend it. "The Charge of the Light Brigade" by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Voted up and awesome!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)