ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Glory: A Movie Review

Updated on June 8, 2012

Glory: The Original Trailer

General Information

Runtime: 122 Minutes



Budget: $18,000,000



Gross: $26, 830, 000



Rating: Rated R for brutal war violence.

"They fought for honor and found glory"

"Glory" was released December 15, 1989 under the production of Edward Zwick. The main actors in this movie are Morgan Freeman, Mathhew Broderick, and Denzel Washington, who portray the 54th regiment in one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.

Before I give my opinion of this movie, I want to start off by sharing with my readers one of the negative aspects that is conveyed by some people out there. And that is that this movie was a potentially racist movie because it was seen mostly through the eyes of the regiment leader, Robert Shaw as opposed to one of the black soldiers in the regiment. This is preposterous, if one has any knowledge of the background of this movie. This movie was based on the letters Robert Shaw was writing and he is the narrator of this movie. So why shouldn't the movie be seen through his eyes? Now granted, I think Washington and Freeman are the better actors. But, that just means that there should of been a better lead actor other than Broderick. I think the director's goal was to show his viewers how a white man reacted to the blacks. Maybe he didn't believe viewers would sympathize with the blacks unless they saw a white man's reaction. Anyways, like I said before, this racism complaint is absurd. This movie has nothing to do with racism, it is the telling of how black men, primarily free but also slaves lead by white men, give their all(their everything) in a seemingly lost battle.

Now that I have hopefully cleared that up let's talk about the movie. I will not be sharing too much about the movie, because it is a must see for those war movie buffs out there. I will say that this movie is the best war movie I have ever seen mainly because of the chemistry between Freeman, Washington, and Broderick. Like I all ready mentioned, I believe there could of been a better lead actor than Broderick, it does not take much away from the movie. I also enjoy the themes brilliantly portrayed in this movie: friendship, devotion, and courage. In one of the most desecrating battles of the civil war, where the 54th regiment was running uphill practically into gunfire, courage and devotion was the only thing that could possibly get them through. Director Zwick did a remarkable job interweaving these ideas together through excellent acting and cinematography. "Glory" won three academy awards in 1989, including best cinematography.

Before, I finish my review I want to leave with you a short dialogue from the movie.

" Lord, we stand before you this evening, to say thank you! And we thank you, father, for your grace, and your many blessings! Now I run off, leaving all my young'uns and my kinfolk, in bondage. So I'm standing here this evening, Heavenly Father, to ask your blessings on all of us. So that if tomorrow is the great getting-up morning, if that tomorrow we have to meet the Judgement Day, O Heavenly Father, we want you to let our folks know that we died facing the enemy! We want 'em to know that we went down standing up! Amongst those that are fighting against our oppression. We want 'em to know, Heavenly Father, that we died for freedom! We ask these blessings in Jesus' name. Amen! "

So, in conclusion, this movie is an excellent portrayal of courage and devotion even in the hardships of war. I would highly recommend it to anyone out there who loves war history. Even if you are not a fan, you will be touched by the compelling acting of the main characters and the themes so brilliantly conveyed in this movie.

What are your thoughts? Concerns? Was this movie a success? Who would you of chosen to play Broderick's role?

Did you enjoy this movie?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Suelynn profile image

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Lovely review, Josh! I agree with your sentiments. I saw this movie a few years ago but it did leave an indelible impression on me - and made me cry! Watching the trailer, and reading your hub made me think of a poem I once stood up and delivered in class when I was 12 years old. If you have never read it, I highly recommend it. "The Charge of the Light Brigade" by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Voted up and awesome!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you very much for your compliments and vote; I really appreciate it!

    • mattdigiulio profile image

      mattdigiulio 5 years ago

      One of my favorite movies. You done good! Denzel is great in this, and I think Broderick is not so bad in this role, because he plays kind of a diminutive guy. The movie shows the courage of the black soldiers and the struggles they had to go through, and so Broderick's character couldn't have been a really strong, charismatic one himself (like Harrison Ford or Mel Gibson) because then he would have just steamrolled the other actors while on screen. I think the movie made a fair choice, and I don't think we're meant to love Broderick here. Just my thought. I don't know. Probably wrong.

      Anyways, great review! Voting up, interesting, useful. Best, Matt

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      I actually agree with you all the way, good analysis! Thank you for the votes Matt!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I loved this movie and your review is right on! In fact, I need to watch this again....this weekend is as good a time as any. Great review!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you for the compliment, that is a great idea, I might watch it too!

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Never seen this movie J. But you really write good reviews!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Aww thanks M!, Have you seen Law Abiding Citizen, that's my other movie review on here! :)

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      not yet.. im kinda into animes..hehehe but since i got a suggestion from you, i will find this movie and watch.

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Great! Sounds good! It is an awesome movie!

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      okay..sounds interesting :)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      If you don't mind a graphic movie, you will be fine :) Have you seen Saving Private Ryan?

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      nope..im not that into soldiers and wars..or battles.. (sounds weird** hehehe

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Then you probably won't like this one too much lol :) But the themes and acting is impeccable, so maybe that will balance things out for you.

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      hehehe! sounds good J!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Ok M, you have to let me know what you think when you watch it; also I should send you a link sometime to my blogger site have about 13 movies that I have reviewed on there.

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      wow, please send. i would like to read first the review before i watch it :)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Ok, the first two are the ones I did here, and then transferred over to the blog, the others would be all new to you...hey I will tweet you the link tomorrow...

      I don't want to get in trouble for promoting other websites in the comments lol

    • unknown spy profile image

      IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Ok sure thing! Great!

      Thanks a lot :)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      You are welcome have a good day M!

    • Alastar Packer profile image

      Alastar Packer 4 years ago from North Carolina

      To start off--anyone who thinks this film is racist because it being seen largely through Shaw's perspective is not only ignorant but adrift in the clueless sea of life big-time. Your absolutely right about the absurdity of that josh. This was a good movie and impressed me at the time 'cause it was the first I'd seen of reenactors for both combatants employed in a major film. Here's some blooper fun josh- in the scene where Denzel is struggling with the Reb in one frame a hat is on and in the next its off. And its no secret that at the time Broaderick was partaking of the white powder some- and even though he gave a good performance overall at one point where the 54th is going by, right before the scene ends he can be seen starting to giggle! Vote this review up!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Alastar,

      Thanks for your awesome feedback on this movie! The blooper was interesting,t hanks for the addition! Have a great day!

    Click to Rate This Article