ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Groundhog Day Film Review

Updated on November 4, 2019
Actor
Character
Bill Murray
Phil Connors
Andie MacDowell
Rita Hanson
Stephen Tobolowsky
Ned Ryerson
Chris Elliott
Larry
Marita Geraghty
Nancy
Harold Ramis
Neurologist
Rick Overton
Ralph

About the film

Released: 1993

Director: Harold Ramis

Producers: Trevor Albert, Harold Ramis

Running time: 1 hr 41 mins

Genre: Fantasy, Comedy, Romance

Distributed by: Columbia Pictures

Budget: $14,600,000


The Film

Phil Connors is a weatherman and is sent to Punxsutawney in Pennsylvania to cover the Groundhog Day events. He is accompanied by Rita, the News producer and Larry, the cameraman. Phil doesn't hide the fact that he doesn't enjoy this event, which he has been covering each year for a few years now.

The first morning he wakes up in a Bed and Breakfast to the song 'I've got you Babe' sung by Sony & Cher and the radio presenter talking. He goes to work to forecast the weather and tell people about the events. He explains about the snow and blizzard that has covered the town. The next day, he is woken up with the same song and talking on the radio. As the day progresses, he soon begins to realise that the exact same things are happening as the previous day. With each new day that dawns, he finds himself reliving the same events as the previous days. Phil realises that he can use this to his own advantage. With each day that passes, he soon learns the movements of people and even what they are going to say.

As an example, there is a funny scene in the film. He spots a security van loading sacks of cash into the back of the van. Each day he watches them and he knows every move the security guards make and what the people around them do. They turn their backs for 1 second, and in this split second Phil is able to grab a sack of cash and walk off. Of course, they turn back round bemused. As with everything that Phil does in this film, whatever he does has little consequence as the next day is exactly the same. As another sub-plot in the story, he also uses these days to try and win the love of his work colleague, Rita. As each day passes, he quickly learns her likes and dislikes and remembers all this so she grows to like him more.

Throughout the film we see how Phil deals with living through the same day over and over again. It would drive anyone to insanity, and there are parts in the film where it does! But there are also aspects of the film where he uses these days for his benefit.

My thoughts

I've not seen this film in a few years, so had forgotten how funny it is. I've always been a big fan of Bill Murray. He's an excellent actor and is very funny too. And he certainly doesn't disappoint in this film. Although Harold Ramis directs and produces this film, he has a somewhat small part in the film playing the neurologist. It's good to see him in the film though as both him and Bill Murray have been in a few films together over the years.

There are some funny moments in this film that made me laugh. I mentioned the security van scene. Another funny scene is when he tells everyone in the cafe who they are and what they like or dislike. They are all aghast at how he knows this, but to Phil this is what he sees every day. There is also the love story between him and Rita which I found nice to watch.

All in all, I do enjoy watching this. Some scenes, however, may not be suitable for children. There are scenes during the film where Phil takes his own life a couple of times. I know, sounds strange doesn't it? But, that's Groundhog Day for you! But, this is an enjoyable and amusing film to watch.

How do you rate this film?

4.5 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of Groundhog Day.

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • wpcooper profile image

      Fin 

      4 months ago from Barstow

      Yes nice film. I saw the clip recently about the cafe scene. I wonder now, if I am older, if I would see it differently. I don't remember much of it really and wonder if there is some deeper element to the film, such as, many of us really tend to live every day the same.....

    • rebeccamealey profile image

      Rebecca Mealey 

      15 months ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

      Great movie review! This is one of my favorite movies. I watch it every time I see it on!

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      16 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Bill Murray a great actor and when I first watched the movie in the early nineties it was funny. I am a fan of Bill Murray. An review that reminded me again me of the movie

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      16 months ago from USA

      I enjoyed this film. Thanks for reminding me about it. I am a Bill Murray fan.

    • pstraubie48 profile image

      Patricia Scott 

      17 months ago from North Central Florida

      O yes....I admit it. I must have watched it about a million times....I am usually doing something else at the same time now that I have seen it so often I can repeat much of the dialogue. But there is just something about. Thanks for sharing Angels are headed your way this morning ps

    • profile image

      Jacqueline G Rozell 

      17 months ago

      Linda, even if you are not a big Bill Murray fan, give this movie a chance. It's a classic. The comedy is not slapstick. It's understated at times, but the movie is one of quality which is why it has such a big following of people who view it more than once.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      17 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've heard the title of this film before, but I knew nothing about it. I'm glad I've read your review. It sounds like an interesting film to watch..

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      17 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      Bill Murray has given viewers quite a few laughs over the years. This film is one of his best.

    • profile image

      Jacqueline G Rozell 

      17 months ago

      I'm not usually a fan of comedy when I can predict the next move. Movies such as Beetlejuice are the exception because they are unique and out of the box and I can't guess everything in advance. But I like Bill Murray and I like that this movie has turned into a part of America's special lexicon of expressions used to describe a mood or a series of drool or bad experiences.... "I think I'm having a Groundhog Day." It's another of those fun movies I always stop what I am doing around the house and sit down to watch if I happen to walk through the room when it is playing Can't just pass it by. Super review, Louise!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)