ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows: Part Two--My film review

Updated on July 19, 2011

After ten years and eight films, the mega-popular Harry Potter franchise takes it's final bow, as the story of everyone's favorite young wizard comes to its exciting conclusion. Potter fans who've been waiting eagerly for the pay-off to the saga will not be disappointed. Director David Yates' Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Part 2 manages to be both epic and touching at the same time; a feat many films shoot for and fail to accomplish.

First, here's a note of warning for people unfamiliar with the complicated Harry Potter mythos: This movie is not for you! Unless you are well-versed in Potter-lore, this movie will be incomprehensible to you. Everything you need to know in Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Part 2 was explained in previous films. This installment drops us off at the climax of the story, and if you're a new watcher, you won't know the who or the why or what the heck is going on. But if you're up-to-snuff regarding the Potter-verse, you're in for a rousing good time.

The film picks up immediately after the conclusion of Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Part One. Our eponymous hero Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) and his two ever-loyal pals Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) are still on the run from the forces of evil Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes),and trying to destroy the seven Horcruxes (magical totems which contain pieces of Voldemort's shattered soul, and make him immortal) so that their enemy can be defeated. After a kinetic action sequence with dwarfs and a dragon, the story returns to where it belongs--inside the walls of Hogwarts school. Harry is greeted as a returning hero and soon finds himself organizing the defense of Hogwarts against the imminant assault by Voltemort's army. Harry leads both the students and faculty as they batten-down-the-hatches to keep the minions of evil at bay. A big chunk of the film is like a mystic version of The Alamo, with the heroes trying to defend their sanctuary from invaders, as the casualties begin to mount on both sides.

Harry thinks he can save the day by destroying the last of the Horcruxes, one of which is inside Hogwarts, but Harry is in for a surprise. There's an eighth Horcrux, which no one knew about and may spell doom for Harry if it is destroyed.

The film makes up for any lack of action in the first half of the story. (Part one was criticized for having too much exposition and not enough excitement.) Yates fires all barrels here and the action hardly lets up from beginning to end. The special effects are excellent, as well.

Many characters from previous 'Potter' films pop up--many only briefly--for this cinematic swan-song to the franchise. Some actually contribute to the plot, such as Minerva McGonagall (Played by Maggie Smith, who finally gets to kick some mystic keister here), Professor Lupin (David Thewlis) and Ollivander (John Hurt), but most are glorified cameos. Jim Broadbent (Slughorn), Robbie Coltraine (Hagrid), Jason Isaacs (Lucious Malfoy), Mark Williams (Arthur Weasley), Julie Walters (Molly Weasley), and Sirius Black (Gary Oldman) barely have a chance to register. Returning students include Luna Lovegood (Evanna Lynch), Fleur (Clemence Poesy), Seamus (Devon Murray), and Harry's love, Ginny Weasley (Bonnie Wright). James and Oliver Phelps reprise their roles as Fred and George Weasley. Matthew Lewis nearly steals the show as Neville Longbottom, who steps up as an action hero in his own rite, and his bravery rivals Harry's.

Helena Bonham Carter is back as the derranged Bellatrix LeStrange (Her best scene is when she's playing Hermione masquerading as Bellatrix) and Tom Felton gets some closure as bad -boy Drago Malfoy. Michael Gambon has limited screen time as the wise Professor Dumbledore, which is really not a surprise since Dumbledore died two films ago. Finnes is very hateable as the sinister Voldemort. And, for course, the wonderful Alan Rickman is as captivating as ever, reprising his role as the enigmatic Severus Snape, whose mysterious motivations are finally made clear here.

The star trio of Radcliffe, Grint and Watson have grown up on screen and became adults before our eyes. Radcliffe gives his most confident and polished performance ever as Harry, and Watson continues to find the "it's-hip-to-be-square" sense of fun inside the brainy Hermione. Grint has advanced the least as an actor but he's adequate for what the script calls upon him to do here. At least Ron has moved beyond being mere comedy relief.

Lovers of the Potter franchise may feel teary-eyed during this film. Some beloved characters meet their maker, and the book's touching epilogue remains intact. Fans of the series will be sad that the ride is over but they'll be heartened to know that it goes out on a high note.

BONUS...

I'm also including a link to my review of the first half of this story, "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One."


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 6 years ago from Virginia

      She loved it and wants to see it again, I had to stay home and miss the midnight show....I am not cool enough to hang around the 17 year old...lol....I will probably have to wait until midnight DVD release party before I will get a chance to see it.

    • Robwrite profile image
      Author

      Rob 6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Thanks Cogerson; Its nice that you have those memories of sharing Harry Potter with your daughter. I hope you and she enjoyed the movie.

      Rob

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 6 years ago from Virginia

      Nice review, my daughter is a huge fan of Harry Potter books and movies. I have watched her grow up from a 7 year old to a 17 year old woman in the last ten years.....one of the Harry Potter movies started her midnight movie career...the first two or three dear old dad took her to the midnight show and she would gladly get up for school with three or four hours of sleep....the last two Harry Potter movies she has gone to the midnight shows with friends....leaving dad at home.....the reason for sharing this information? I think it parallels the Harry Potter story....they have all grown up in front of us....and the time for them to go about their life is here....it is kinda sad but it was a fun ride. Great review as always ...voted up and useful.

    • Robwrite profile image
      Author

      Rob 6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi ruffridyer; There will be a lot of Potter fans going through withdrawal now that it's over. I'm also wondering what the next big phenomenon will be. It may be a while before we have another Potter-esque craze.

    • profile image

      ruffridyer 6 years ago from Dayton, ohio

      I am gonna miss harry and the gang. I wonder what is coming next?

    • Robwrite profile image
      Author

      Rob 6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Lady E; I'm sure it'll make a lot of money. I'll be curious to see what the final tally is. I'd rather see "Harry Potter" as the big hit of the year, instead of "Transformers 3".

      Rob

    • Lady_E profile image

      Elena 6 years ago from London, UK

      Thanks for review Rob. Seems to be a very nice movie and might break box office records.

    • Robwrite profile image
      Author

      Rob 6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi; It definitely does pay homage to everything from Potter past, but its a nice ending. Thanks for reading.

      Rob

    • robie2 profile image

      Roberta Kyle 6 years ago from Central New Jersey

      This muggles has been a fan since the very beginning-- definitely want to see Deathly Hallows Part Two. Sounds like itis, in effect, a curtain call for the entire series cast. I like that:-)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)