ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Home Alone Film Review

Updated on November 25, 2019
Actor
Character
Macaulay Culkin
Kevin McCallister
John Heard
Peter McCallister
Catherine O'Hara
Kate McCallister
Angela Geothals
Linnie McCallister
Devin Ratray
Buzz McCallister
Gerry Bamman
Uncle Frank McCallister
Joe Pesci
Harry Lyme (thief)
Daniel Stern
Marv (thief)

About the film

  • Released: 1990
  • Director: Chris Columbus
  • Producer: John Hughes
  • Running Time: 1 hr 43 mins
  • Genre: Family, Comedy
  • Distributed By: 20th Century Fox
  • Budget: $18,000,000

The Film

Home Alone is one of them classic films which they tend to put on television every Christmas. With Christmas just around the corner now, I think it's the right time to tell you all about this film.

Kevin is an 8 year old boy living with his parents and older siblings. The film starts with the family preparing for their break away to Paris in France for the festive season. A burglar named Harry is dressed up as a Policeman and knocks on their front door getting information about the house. He soon leaves to join his partner in crime, Marv. These two bungling thieves make quite a pair!

Meanwhile, during the night there is a storm which resets the alarm clocks which means the family wake up late. With all the rushing around and confusion, they head off for their holiday, but mistakenly leaves Kevin behind. Kevin and his mother had an argument the previous evening due to Kevin ruining the family dinner, and is sent to the attic as punishment. It's not until the family are on the flight to Paris that they realise that they have forgotten Kevin. Or at least Kate, the mother, does. She keeps saying on the way to the airport and on the plane that she keeps thinking she's forgotten something. Then it suddenly dawns on her when she screeches 'Kevin!' at the top of her voice.

While all this is going on, Kevin is home alone. He is initially pleased with this, knowing his family are out of the way and that he's got the house to himself to do as he pleases. We see Kevin occupying himself around the house and keeping himself amused by eating loads of ice cream and watching movies. But little does he know that Harry and Marv are planning on breaking into the house, initially not realising that Kevin is at home. But as the film goes on, we get to see that Kevin realises what these two are up to and plans on protecting his home from them gaining entry. Cunning Kevin rigs the house with booby traps to stop them burgling his house. The burglars find a series of traps set up in the house like walking into trip wires and stepping on a floor full of baubles, set alight, red hot door handles, walking in tar and feathers - the list goes on.

Of course while Kevin is at home doing all this, Kevin's family, or more so his parents, are worrying themselves silly trying to get back to America to get home. There is, however, some touching moments in the film when Kevin visits a Church and gets talking to an old man in there. He persuades the man to get back in touch with his family. Kevin is starting to miss his family now and wondering when they'll be home.

My Thoughts

I know the film is nearly 30 years old. Can you believe that? But I still enjoy watching this film. As I say, it's generally on over the Christmas period so I don't get to watch it all that often. Macaulay plays a really good part. I love how he sets the house up with traps to defend his castle. There are some comical moments in the film. For instance, with the scene where he tries to shave and he splashes aftershave on himself and starts yelling. Then of course there are the scenes where he defends his home from Harry and Marv and the many accidents that happen with them. It's great comedy. Considering Macaulay was only a child at the time this film was made and he is the main character in the film, I think he does well with his acting ability. His confidence, I think, really shows onscreen.

The late, great John Candy has a small part in the film where he is in a band. He helps Kate on her journey to get back home. Although he didn't have a very big part in the movie, I still enjoyed watching him. I've always liked John Candy, so it was good to see he had a small part in this film. All in all, this is still a great film to watch and still makes me laugh. I'm sure it will be on again sometime over the festive season, and when it is, I will be sure to watch it - again!

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • swalia profile image

      Shaloo Walia 

      3 months ago from India

      It's my all time favorite movie...love the sequels as well.

    • bhattuc profile image

      Umesh Chandra Bhatt 

      5 months ago from Kharghar, Navi Mumbai, India

      This is my one of the favourite movies. Thanks for a good review.

    • Luis G Asuncion profile image

      Luis G Asuncion 

      6 months ago from City of San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan, Philippines

      One of the famous film that we've usually watch every Christmas. Yes, you read it right, every Christmas. Even if we already watched a particular fil, we will repeat that again next year. Almost everyday during Christmas season, we are watching Home Alone.

    • Lorna Lamon profile image

      Lorna Lamon 

      6 months ago

      This is definitely a Christmas favourite for the family and one I never tire of. An excellent and informative review Louise.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      6 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      I watched all the Home Alone movies and still love it!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      6 months ago from USA

      I loved this holiday movie as well and remember it like yesterday.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      6 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I love this movie. I've always found Kevin's efforts to thwart the thieves creative and entertaining. I hope the film is shown at Christmas where I live.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      6 months ago from The Caribbean

      Louise, you obviously love this film, and you did a great job revealing it in your review. I've watched it several times too and wouldn't mind seeing it again. I agree that Macaulay performed extremely well. Thanks for the memories.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      6 months ago from UK

      This was a favourite film in our family. It appealed to me just as much as to the kids. We have watched it several times. It's a seasonal favourite.

    • Cheryl E Preston profile image

      Cheryl E Preston 

      6 months ago from Roanoke

      A classic movie

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      6 months ago from Ohio

      I love Home Alone!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)