ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Film Reviews: Mirrors Starring Kiefer Sutherland

Updated on July 30, 2014

Mirrors

Mirrors a quite good remake of a japanese film into the mirror.
Mirrors a quite good remake of a japanese film into the mirror.

DVD Review Of Mirrors

 Mirrors was one of them films that I was pleasantly surprised by as it was actually quite good and starring Kefer Sutherland in which you don't see him in many films these days as he has been busy with his successful TV series 24 for the last 5 years, Mirrors is a remake of a Japanese film called Into The Mirror and Hollywood is still keen on remaking some of these classic films, constantly pooling them for inspiration it seems.

Mirrors starts off with a security guard running away from something and you don't know what at first, until he sees himself in the mirror and his reflection kills him, by making him slit his own throat, the story then cuts to Kiefer Sutherlands character who we learn was a cop, but lost his job and so he is just starting a job as a nightwatch man at an old department store that was hit by a fire years ago, the story then plays out like a ghost story, with the classic flashbacks to people who must have died in the fire as Kiefers character Ben almost gets bullied into finding the location of something mysterious called esserker, as previous security guards have been cursed by this evil force to do the same.

The film itself was actually quite good and it didn't go down the usual route of having a black haired girl try to scare people which was nice, there are a couple of gory bits though, one quite notable is when Kiefers Character Bens Sister gets into a bath...now that was gross! although she had a nice arse and some brilliant appendages.

What made me enjoy the film is the whole mystery unravelling throughout the film, you knew that something went off for the department store to be set on fire, but when you learned of why, you could understand as the mirrors seem to hold a dark evil force over the people it becomes attached to to find the long lost "Esserker"

And what I also liked about the film is the fact that you think it's a simple ghost story, but then it turns out it isn't a ghost at all and that's what makes it good in my eyes, now obviously to see Kiefer in a film that is good was actually a surpise too and that made me remember his other horror films like Lost Boys and that ghostly one Flatliners, of course the director Alexandre Aja had something to do with this film being great too as he also did the remake of The Hills Have Eyes which was a great horror film too.

I liked the ending of this film, as usual you think everything is ok and then it hits you, it's not.

Mirrors Available On DVD And Blue Ray Disc At Amazon - Buy It Now If You Want To Be Scared!

About Mirrors ~Have You Seen This Film Yet?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      7 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers now Arthur!

      This was a good one, that had all of the hallmarks of a classic, one that I have since bought an added to my dvd collection!

    • arthurchappell profile image

      arthurchappell 

      7 years ago from Manchester, England

      I enjoyed the film though I've not sen the original version yet - this is a decent stab at it and the performances are excellent. The exorcism sequence getsa a little silly at times but otherwise very tense stuff

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I've since bought it on dvd!

    • mythbuster profile image

      mythbuster 

      8 years ago from Utopia, Oz, You Decide

      Ohyeah, this is on my "need to see movies" list now!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah I liked this horror film, it had all the elements that I like in good horror movies, a fair bit of gore and mystery to it, twas good!

    • mythbuster profile image

      mythbuster 

      8 years ago from Utopia, Oz, You Decide

      Hey waynet, great review. I found this through one of your other hubs, thank goodness 'cos I TOTALLY MISSED the fact that K. Sutherland did this film. I can't believe I've never heard of this film lol - Anyway, I'll find it and watch it this weekend 'cos I do find Keifer Sutherland to be interesting - even though he's acted in a few questionable films. Nice hints, here, about what goes on in this story without putting out full spoilers.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yes you should see it K@ri!

      Yeah robert, it was a good film and the story was pretty good too.

      Cheers Adam B and Gaz2k9...yeah there are still some classics of the 80's like evil dead 2 and the hilarious mainiac cop and all the friday the 13ths...great stuff horror films!!!

    • Gaz2k9 profile image

      Gaz2k9 

      9 years ago from United Kingdom

      Great Review.I work as a projectionist at a cinema and was lucky enough to preview this back when it came out.

      I have to say i prefer the older horror movies check my list of horror movies from the 80's.

      https://hubpages.com/entertainment/horrorof80s

    • profile image

      Adam B 

      9 years ago

      Nice review, I think we were thinking the same things when we saw them. I did a review on this as well a while back.

      http://hubpages.com/hub/Mirrors-Review

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      9 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      I loved both of the older horror films you mentioned that Kiefer Sutherland was in, thanks for reviewing this one. I may have to rent it or get the DVD, he's very good and it sounds like they did a good job with an excellent story.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      9 years ago from Ohio

      Sounds like a good film! I was wondering about this one...guess I should see it! Thanks! :D

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)