ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Movie Reviews: Let The Right One In

Updated on May 24, 2010

Let The Right One In Movie Review

Let The Right One In - a review of this vampire horror film.
Let The Right One In - a review of this vampire horror film.

Let The Right One In

 Let The Right One In is a foreign film that has subtitles and it really does draw you into the two central characters, one a lonely boy called Oscar who gets bullied at his school and is almost non existent to his family and anyone around him, until he meets his new neighbour a 12 year old girl called Eli who just happens to be a 200 year old vampire and these two characters just seem to strike up a friendship and this I suppose is what makes it appealing and draws you into these two characters and what might happen next, as Eli must kill to survive.

Even though the film is in subtitles, it makes it all the more absorbing to follow and like many foreign films with subtitles you seem to forget about the language that you don't understand and concentrate fully on the captions and the action which relate to the story. There are two scenes which stand out in this film for me, although there are few others, but one scene in particular when Eli asks to come in and Oscar wonders what would happen if he didn't let her and we all know the classic thing about vampires they have to be invited to come in, and because he didn't invite her in at first she starts to shake and bleed out of hers eyes, ears and head and this freaks Oscar out and he suddenly cries "Alright, you can come in!"

The other scene is right at the end and it's the swimming pool scene were the school bullies have set something up were they will get Oscar alone to see if he can hold his breath under water for 3 minutes and if he can't they will gouge out one of his eyes(the meanies!) But then revenge comes quite swift as all the bullies are massacred in off the screen style as we see an underwater camera still fixed on Oscar with one of the bullies hands on Oscars head holding him down, a brilliantly original movie moment!

Although there are some aspects that are not quite clear such as a few deaths that seemed to happen around Oscar and no police intervention which was slightly odd, but then again the focus was more on the two central characters becoming friends and having character building moments throughout the film.

I recommend this one, only to those who like to watch foreign movies that have something unique and interesting to say and don't copy a tired formula of Hollywood horror films too much.

The word is that Hollywood is going to remake this movie, which will result in a dire remake, just like many before, watch this one instead it has all the makings of a classic and isn't an Americanized movie that spouts cliche after cliche.

Watch The Let The Right One In Movie Trailer

Buy Let The Right One In On DVD and Blu-Ray From Amazon

Let The Right One In Film Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      7 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah I've watched the remake and didn't think it was that good, watchable but the first one was way better!

    • myi4u profile image

      myi4u 

      7 years ago from United Kingdom

      I watched both Let the Right One In and Let Me In just a couple of days ago. I must say Let Me In is by far better than Let the Right One In. Have you watched Let Me In?

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      It is a great horror movie!

    • lxxy profile image

      lxxy 

      8 years ago from Beneath, Between, Beyond

      I guess I'll have to get this one from Netflix on Blu Ray. I've heard a lot of great things about it, just wasn't ever on my "really put priority in seeing" list.

      Thanks for your nice lil'review.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Mick and Stu!

      I quite often prefer the original intent of the first films after any remake, although what they've done with the new Nightmare on Elm Street and Friday The 13th was good, but sometimes you know some films aren't supposed to be remade by the Americans or anyone for that matter. because it won't capture the original atmosphere and character building of the original.

      Thanks for the comments guys!

    • stu-smith72 profile image

      stu-smith72 

      8 years ago from UK

      Nice to see someone else whose had the joy of discovering this masterpiece. I totally agree with the swimming pool scene being really something special, one of the best shots of any horror ive ever seen.

      Its so sad that they feel like they have to remake it just to reach a wider audience when this version couldnt have dated in the past 12 months and really cant be improved upon. although the good news is Matt Reeves is at the helm and the leads are played by Hit Girl from Kick-Ass (Chloe Mortez) and the boy from the road. 2 pretty darn good kid actors. i reckon itll be good but it wont be anywhere near as good as the original and should simply have never been made

    • MickS profile image

      MickS 

      8 years ago from March, Cambridgeshire, England

      Watcha Wayne,

      nice write up, I'll give that ago when I can get it for home, no cinema here.

      best

      Mick

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)