ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"Hugo" Review

Updated on February 5, 2012
Hugo Cabret/Asa Butterfield
Hugo Cabret/Asa Butterfield
Isabelle/Chloe Grace Moretz
Isabelle/Chloe Grace Moretz
Chief Inspector/Sacha Baron Cohen
Chief Inspector/Sacha Baron Cohen
Hugo and Isabelle with the Mysterious Automaton
Hugo and Isabelle with the Mysterious Automaton

Hugo, Martin Scorsese's Latest Movie

I jusr returned from Martin Scorsese's Hugo which is a magical little fairy tale movie which offers drama, humor, mystery, pathos, romance, and a bit of cinema history.. The sets and special effects are perfect. It's one of those rare movies that has universal appeal. I 'd be skeptical of anyone from 9 to 90 who didn't like the movie. The packed theater audience applauded at the end.

It's the tale of a young orphan boy named Hugo (Asa Butterfield) who lives by himself in the bowels of the huge Montparnasse train station. He feeds himself by stealing from food venders in the station. His father (Jude Law) was a clock maker who had looked after the many huge, old mechanical clocks in the station until he was killed in a tragic fire, leaving his son Hugo to tend the clocks. Hugo is befriended by Isabelle (Chloe Grace Moretz), a beautiful young girl whose elderly and unhappy uncle, Georges Melies, has a toy shop in the Montparnasse station. Melies actually was an early 1900s film maker and illusionist in Paris. (His Wiki bio is linked below.) Sacha Baron Cohen provides many belly laughs in his role as the Chief Inspector at the station in a comic version of Javert from Les Miserables relentlessly pursuing Hugo throughout the movie tryng to catch him and send him away to an orphanage.

Finally, the movie offers a small, special treat for Django Reinhardt fans--a Django Reinhardt look-alike playing his "gypsy jazz" in the Montparnasse train station.


Hugo received 11 Academy Award nominations including Best Director and Best Picture in 2011..

MPAA Rating

PG (for mild thematic material, some action/peril, and smoking)



Ben Kingsley and Asa Butterfield
Ben Kingsley and Asa Butterfield

"Hugo" Trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Larry, thanks for your comment. I did see "The Artist" and I agree with your opinion. (I did a Hub Review on it. I only bother to do reviews on movies that I like.)

    • profile image

      Larry Wall 

      6 years ago

      Ralph:

      I saw the movie a few months ago and agree with you completely. It was an excellent movie that managed to tie in a bit of historical fiction with a fantasy story.

      Hard to find good movies these days.

      Hope you saw "The Artist", it is impossible to give an informative review without revealing the ending, but it is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.

    • Madurai profile image

      Madurai 

      6 years ago from Online

      Congrats for this movie..bagged 11 awards...

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Pretty good review Ralph, as I couldn't agree with you more. I think this was definitely one of the better films of last year, as it's one of those rare fantasy family films that doesn't try to talk down to it's audience, but rather focuses on telling a beautiful character driven story. Anyway, keep up the good work as always.

    • FullOfLoveSites profile image

      FullOfLoveSites 

      6 years ago from United States

      Thanks...fantastic review...!!!

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks. You'll like it.

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 

      6 years ago from Taos, NM

      Ralph: Yours is also a good review. I like all the links you provide of other reviews and about the movie. I hope to see this movie this week. I love Scorcese movies and I am trilled he has made a children's movie that adults can enjoy, too.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks, K. It was an awesome movie. I only write reviews on movies I like, and I liked this one a lot.

    • profile image

      kimberlyslyrics 

      6 years ago

      Thanks Ralph

      awesome review

      voted up

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks Jeff and Robie. I'm sure you'll like it. I saw "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" tonight and didn't like it nearly as well as "Hugo." It was a downer and dragged on too long.

    • robie2 profile image

      Roberta Kyle 

      6 years ago from Central New Jersey

      I think this is a definite "must see" for me

    • Jeff May profile image

      Jeffrey Penn May 

      6 years ago from St. Louis

      Thanks Ralph. I was skeptical for no good reason, but now I will see it. Jeff.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks, Bro.

    • barranca profile image

      barranca 

      6 years ago

      Hi Ralph, Good review. I liked it also. It made me think about the artistic uses of technology. We usually just think about gizmos for their economic value. But gizmos also help in the creation of beauty. It gets my vote as the best movie I've seen this year.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)